Book Blog Newbie Tag

file_004

What better way to start off my new blog than to do a Book Blog Newbie Tag? This probably won’t get much attention, but a year from now, maybe I can look back and cringe a little at how boring and plain my blog used to be.

(Or maybe admire how I was a born natural at blogging. Who knows?)

img_2014

Why did you start this blog?

books amino.png

After quickly becoming frustrated with Goodreads and the general upkeep of creating reviews, and having such a fun experience on this app called Books Amino – which I highly recommend – I realized that blogging may be a better way to organize my thoughts and experiences with books. Also, I’m trying to get into college in a couple of years, so this doesn’t exactly hurt, right?

What are some fun and unique things you can bring to book blogging?

As someone who reads both YA and Adult, I think it’d be really great to bridge a gap between the two genres. From the outside, especially if you’re mainly YA reader, Adult fiction seems scary, but as someone who reads both, it’s really not. Hopefully, if anyone actually reads this blog, it might provide something interesting.

What are you most excited for about this new blog?

bookcon

Hopefully, being able to join a new bookish community. And, you know, maybe being able to attend BEA. That’d be pretty cool.

Why do you love reading?

Why do we love anything? But, seriously, it just always makes me happy. If I’m having an awful time at school, or I’m bored, or I want to remind myself that there’s worse things that could be  happening in the world, I just open the iBooks app or crack the spine and enjoy myself.

What book or series got you into reading?

the-hunger-games

In general, probably the Disney comic books I always borrowed from my local library. I soon upgraded to chapter books after that. For YA, it was The Hunger Games, which was given to me as a gift on my tenth birthday. For adult, it would be The Night Circus, which I had previously DNF’d when I was twelve because I found it hard to read and boring. Now, it’s one of my favorites.

What questions would you ask your favorite authors?

Probably, “How did you come up with the idea of your first published novel?” Also, “What was the first thing you did when you were published?” and “What was the first book idea you had?” and “How in the world do you write around two to three books per year; are you selling your soul to the devil?”

What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome?

Most likely actually keeping up with it during the school year. And not quitting. I am a born quitter, and I’m trying to avoid it. Fingers crossed I won’t become a lazy pig!

When did you start reading?

Mm, no clue. Probably when I was super young. I do vividly remember reading around the age of six and seven.

Where do you read?

Most of the time, I usually read in my bedroom, but now that I mostly read ebooks, I can pretty much read anywhere. I do tend to do really bad reading while the TV is on, because noise is my #1 distraction, but I try.

What kind of books do you like to read?

the-stranger-game

I enjoy fantasy, fiction, horror, LGBT+ contemporary romance, sci-fi, and dystopian, but I especially love thrillers, crime, and mystery. There’s nothing more I enjoy than curling up with a nice psychological thriller.

img_2014

And that’s it for today’s blog post! I’ll definitely have more time for making fleshed-out posts as the year closes down, since I really want to do the 2016 Year in Review Survey, Most Anticipated 2017 Releases, Wrap-Ups, Reviews, Recommendations, and the Best and Worst 2016 Boxes. Thanks for those who stopped by! Feel free to like and comment, as you wish!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

14 thoughts on “Book Blog Newbie Tag

  1. Hello! I’m so excited to see someone seemingly around my age in the bookish community who reads adult books in addition to YA. I hope to read more adult books in 2017, do you have any recommendations?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Celebrating My 6 Month Blogiversary! | The Well-Thumbed Reader

Leave a Reply

