The Book Blogger Confessions Tag

 file_007-1

And I have arrived with another book tag!   I saw this first on Books Amino, and I thought it looked like fun, so I decided, “Why not?”

img_2014

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?  

img_0024

My Sister Rosa was my only DNF of this month. I love thrillers in general, but prefer adult ones to YA, and I thought this one would be a good one, but, it wasn’t. This was more contemporary than thriller, and even though there was supposed to be a jaw-dropping ending, I didn’t care to make it through pages of a romance I didn’t care about. Why do YA books ruin themselves with romance (this shall be a topic for discussion)?

Which book is your guilty pleasure?  

everneath-series

Definitely the Everneath trilogy. These are just really fun, fluffy books with pretty good plot twists. I wouldn’t say it’s the best series out there, but it’s a really fun ride!

Which book do you love to hate?

51ibodkbpcl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

 Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. I actually read this book twice – once when I was twelve, and again earlier this year – and twelve-year-old me and sixteen-year-old me have very different opinions. I enjoyed it back in middle school, but as a high schooler, I just noticed how insta-love-y it was, and how poor the world-building is. I actually ended up rage-quitting. Not a good reading experience.

Which book would you throw into the sea?  

frankenstein_signet.jpg

[Insert Any Classic Here]. I honestly can’t even begin to choose just one, but I’ve only liked one or two school-assigned books, and have been completely unimpressed with the many others I’ve been forced to read (this calls for another future discussion topic).

Which book have you read the most?  

unwind

Unwind, most definitely! I re-read it with joy this past year because I had finally acquired the sequels, and I’m pretty sure I loved it even more than I did reading it the first time. Just know that I will promote this book with my life, and you’ll probably see it mentioned about 2841849149 times on this blog.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?  

Does “Any book that I already own” count as an answer? I think yes.

Which book can you not live without?

harry-potter

Because I’m horrible at making choices, I’m going to horribly cheat on this question and say that I can’t live without any of Sarah J. Maas’s books, the Harry Potter series, the Percy Jackson series, and the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. These series and authors always make me so happy, and when I’m feeling down, or just need a little pick-me-up, these are my immediate go-to’s.

 Which book made you the angriest?  

dangerous-girls

Hm, again, multiple answers for this. For Dangerous Girls, I was angry for the main character, who was treated horribly by the media and painted as this horrible human being, who also had to deal with the death of her best friend and her cheater of a boyfriend. For The Couple Next Door and The Game You Played, I was angry because the main men were total douchebags.

Which book made you cry the most?  

monster-calls

I’ve actually never cried while reading a book; I’ve only teared up, at most. But, A Monster Calls drained all my emotions and I did tear up a lot reading those final pages AND during the movie trailer, so that’s who the award goes to!

Which book cover do you hate the most? 

It’s a tie between the original Shatter Me cover, the original Throne of Glass cover, and the new Winner’s trilogy covers. All three of these covers just don’t seem to understand the theme of their own books – Juliette and Celaena, who are both badass, look like they’re going to prom, and Kestrel, who can’t fight, is holding a sword – and they just look horrible in general.

img_2014

And that’s it for this book tag! Only two more posts left until the new year rings in: my Year in Review for 2016 and my December Wrap-Up!

file_009

What are some of the ugliest book covers you’ve ever seen?

6 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Confessions Tag

  1. Oh I LOVED My Sister Rosa, but then I love contemporary so it was perfect for me 😉 I do agree, though, that romance can absolutely spoil YA books. So unnecessary sometimes. And lol there are so many classics that I hate, but then a few (like Fahrenheit 451) that I love to pieces. So there you go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know; I really want to have an entire discussion post about it because I know some books that did it right, but some that just made the book “meh.” I really want to read Fahrenheit 451! I think the only classic I really loved was The Giver, which is still one of my favorites. 😄

      Like

  2. I agree about the book covers not capturing the essence of the characters – its frustrating when you know the story, and misleading to new readers. But I really like your go to books – I couldn’t live without throne of glass and I adore her new series “A court of thorns and roses” too. I really need to give the Percy Jackson books a try though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, exactly! I’m glad Shatter Me and Throne of Glass got upgrades, because their covers are definitely more eye-catching and fitting, but I hate that anyone thought it was necessary for the Winner’s trilogy to have a cover change. The original covers are stunning.

      Oh, yes, I love the ACOTAR trilogy. ACOMAF is one of my favorite books ever! And, yes, you MUST read Percy Jackson! All of Riordan’s books are fantastic and hilarious! 🙂

      Like

  3. Ugh I 100% agree with you on all those covers. Like why WHY did they want to ruin The Winner’s Curse series covers?!?? THEY WERE BEAUTIFUL. I’m glad the UK stayed sane.😂 And I couldn’t live without The Raven Cycle either. ❤ AND I don't like classics and I teared up big time with A Monster Calls…I so did not expect it to be that emotional?!?! I seriously want to see the movie some time. Just to, you know, BE MORE SAD.😂 #bookwormlogic

    Liked by 1 person

    • I DON’T KNOW TO BE HONEST. There’s really nothing wrong with them; they look so good! I could never live without The Raven Cycle; it makes me so happy. ❤️ Classics are just the worst. And, yes, I actually teared up watching the trailer before I read the book, and, for some reason, that really pushed me to read the book. 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

