Christmas Book Haul

file_000-19

Okay, so Christmas was a couple weeks ago, and, really, I should’ve posted this earlier, but I already had pre-planned posts, and I didn’t want to move any of them because then it wouldn’t have worked, so here it is now! I received over $200 worth of gift cards and ended up buying eleven physical books, pre-ordering 10 December/January releases, and a planner (for all the blogging things). 

img_2014

Scythe

scythe

I’m sure you know at this point that I’m one of Neal Shusterman’s biggest fans, and as soon as I heard the concept of this novel, I wanted it. I’ve already read it (because, clearly, I was excited for this one), and I gave it 3.5 stars since it was good, but I expected a bit more. I’ll be talking more about it in my Mini-Review Wrap-Up on the fifteenth!

The Diabolic

the-diabolic

First off, this one sounds super badass just from the synopsis alone, not to mention I’ve heard fantastic things about this one, and it’s a stand-alone, which is a bonus for “I can’t finish series for my life” me. I started it today, and so far, so good, even though I’m only four chapters in, and I hope it’s just as good at the end!

Heartless

heartless

I’ve heard both good and bad things about this one, but I absolutely love Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series, and I absolutely love the cover, I have to admit, so I’m really excited to see how I myself feel about this one!

Three Dark Crowns

three-dark-crowns

Again, I’ve heard both good and bad things about this one, mostly with the pacing and how some people are saying it’s boring, but I’m always one to try out books for myself no matter what others say, so I’m super pumped for this one! I have yet to read Kendare Blake’s other series, though I own the Anna Dressed in Blood duology, so this will be my first run with her!

The Female of the Species

the-female-of-the-species

Originally, I wasn’t even interested in this one, but after seeing all the positive reviews for it and learning that it’s quite feminist and discusses rape culture and vengeance, I WANTED. I haven’t read a contemporary in a long while, but this seems to be a good mix with mystery/thriller as well, so hopefully, that’ll make it a bit more entertaining.

Gemina

gemina

I read Illuminae early last year (probably just around this time, actually) and absolutely devoured it, so, of course, I bought the sequel! I can’t wait to dive back into this unique reading experience and wonderful universe!

Crooked Kingdom

crooked-kingdom

I don’t think I need to explain myself with this one! I was actually spoiled about a character death in this one (thanks Goodreads), which sucks, but I’ve heard pretty positive things about this finale, and I need me some Jesper and Wylan, so I can’t wait to finally read this one!

The Midnight Star

the-midnight-star

I’ve pretty much loved every single book that Marie Lu has put out ever since Legend was first published, and I have zero doubts about how much I’ll love this. I heard the ending was depressing and soul-crushing, so, obviously, I’m in for some fun!

Replica

replica

Lauren Oliver’s books and I have a bit of an up and down history. I’ve only loved Before I Fall, her debut novel. Panic and Delirium were boring flops for me, and I’ve yet to read Vanishing Girls. Unfortunately, this joined the “boring flops” category, and I DNF’d it earlier today. I’ll also be talking about this more in my Mini Reviews post.

Frost

frost

This was described as Cinder meets The Walking Dead??? I’ve already finished it and my review can be found here!

Boy Robot

boy-robot

Okay, so, I learned by accident that this just happened to have LGBTQ+ representation, which I always love to have in genres other than contemporary, and, apparently, I’m going with a theme of robots because so many books I hauled involve them. So, I’m really excited to read this!

*

file_000

*

(I’ll be talking about the books in order of their appearance from left to right, so I’m not including pictures for each cover!)

The Twilight Wife

I’ve actually never read A.J. Banner’s books before, even though I own The Good Neighbor, and I’ve heard just okay things about this one, but I’m way too interested in this one that I just had to buy it!

The Marriage Lie

While writing this post (I’m actually writing this right now on December 28, FYI), I started reading this because I was bored, and I really enjoyed the 100 or so pages I read! Now it’s January 3, and I’ve completed it, and, unfortunately, I thought it was meh, and, again, more on that in Mini Review Wrap-Up!

My Husband’s Wife

I actually had zero interest reading this after checking out the blurb, but Goodreads reviews managed to make me a little bit interested in it, and I ended up caving.

Little Heaven

Nick Cutter wrote it. That’s all I needed to know.

Sister Sister

Okay, so Goodreads is lying about the release date – it says May 23, but the book is releasing January 6, for those who are curious – but I’m super excited about this one because creepy siblings! Again, I own Sue Fortin’s other thrillers and haven’t yet read them, but I’m really excited to read it!

Everything You Want Me to Be

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this one, and I really enjoy contemporary/literary thrillers, and this one sounds absolutely fantastic! I’m hoping to get to read this one really soon!

Behind Her Eyes

I NEED TO KNOW THE ENDING! (#wtfthatending)

History Is All You Left Me

I absolutely love Adam Silvera and his debut novel More Happy Than Not, so I’m super excited for more depressing gay romance (?). I’m ready for all the feels and emotions.

Caraval

First off, the cover is absolutely stunning. Second, the premise sounds gloriously unique and wonderful. Third, literally every single review I’ve seen has said nothing but praises, so gimme! It sucks that I have to wait the whole month to actually get this book, but I just know it’ll be worth it.

The River at Night

This book sounds really interesting, especially with the survival story aspect, so I’m really excited to see where this goes! Abby over at Crime By the Book gave this a positive review, and I trust her taste in thrillers, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to love this one.

img_2014

And that’s it for this post about my Christmas Book Haul! I’m pretty much satisfied about all the things I bought, and I can’t wait to read them all. Also, I’m extremely shallow and vain, and my hardcovers are perfect photography material, so there’s that.

file_009

What are some books you purchased for Christmas?

6 thoughts on “Christmas Book Haul

  1. Oh, I just loved Heartless! It was such an enchanting and wonderful story (see what I did there?). I wish I could go back and read that one with fresh eyes again. Same with Crooked Kingdom! Both those books were amazing ❤ I loved Caraval! I can't wait to buy a physical copy because of that cover!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m glad you did! 😄 I think I’ll probably be on the “like” side (and I can’t stop staring at the cover; it’s so pretty!). And I absolutely loved SoC, so I just know I’m going to love Crooked Kingdom, but I’m not ready for it to end! 😭

      Like

  2. You’ve got so many good books in Christmas! Glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed Scythe and are currently enjoying The Diabolic – I liked those two books, which a preference for Scythe because the world was just so interesting!

    And I hope you like Three Dark Crowns, Replica, and Heartless. Out of those three my favourite is probably Replica, but TDC and Heartless are 3.5-star reads as well so they’re not that bad. Especially with TDC, if you go in expecting it to be slow-paced and not action-packed, I think you might end up enjoying it a bit more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes; all the 2016 releases! And, yes, I love Neal Shusterman’s dystopian series, so I thought I’d like Scythe!

      Yeah, I’ve heard Three Dark Crowns was slow-paced, which actually doesn’t bother me that much, so I think I’ll enjoy it! Same with Heartless! Replica I DNF’d, but I’ll probably revisit a bit later b/c I don’t think I read it at a good time. 😄

      Like

  3. Pingback: Mini Reviews // 1•15•17 | the well-thumbed reader

  4. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | the well-thumbed reader

Leave a Reply

