The Book Quotes Tag

file_005-2

And I’m coming here with yet another tag (have I done too many tags for this month? Who cares?)! This tag was actually created by a Books Amino user by the name Wendibro, and it definitely looked like fun! Basically, what I did was take five quotes (okay, I added two more, but I couldn’t choose!) and explain why I loved each one of them. Simple as that! Feel free to do this tag if you want to!

img_2014

divergent

“Human reason can excuse any evil; that is why it’s so important that we don’t rely on it.”

I was actually looking for a completely different quote, but I stumbled upon this one, and found it to be super important, especially in the wake of everything that happened in 2016. Not always can we rely on human beings to be trustworthy, and I think this quote explains exactly why.

monster-calls

“You be as angry as you need to be,” she said. “Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Not your grandma, not your dad, no one. And if you need to break things, then by God, you break them good and hard.”

Well, of course I’m going to have a quote from one of my favorite books ever. This was the quote that I heard in the movie trailer that made me tear up, and it was no different an experience while reading the actual book. THIS IS JUST SUCH AN EMOTIONAL BOOK.

harry_potter_and_the_sorcerers_stone

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

There are obviously so many great Harry Potter quotes, so, really, it’s hard to choose just one, but this one is the most important for me because I’m a naturally shy person who has pretty different views on the world than my friends, and I feel like I need to stand up and say what I want to say more instead of feeling scared to do so.

blue-lily-lily-blue

“In the hall stood Richard Campbell Gansey III in his school uniform and overcoat and scarf and gloves, looking like someone from another world. Behind him was Ronan Lynch, his damn tie knotted right for once and his shirt tucked in.

Humiliation and joy warred furiously inside Adam.

Gansey strode between the pews as Adam’s father stared at him. He went directly to the bench, straight up to the judge. Now that he stood directly beside Adam, not looking at him, Adam could see that he was a little out of breath. Ronan, behind him, was as well. They had run.

For him.”

Well, I totally was tearing up during this scene and filled with so much joy because if you know me, you must know that I love the relationship the Raven Boys have and their never-ending support for one another no matter what, and I think this quote explains it best.

“It should have been impossible. No one should have been able to dream any of these thing, much less all of them. But Adam had seen what Ronan could do. He’d read the dreamt will and ridden in the dreamt Camaro and been terrified by the dreamt night terror.

It was possible that there were two gods in this church.”

That last line is probably my number one favorite lines of all time. It’s just so wonderfully haunting and intense.

“You can be just friends with people, you know,” Orla said. “I think it’s crazy how you’re in love with all those raven boys.”

Orla wasn’t wrong, of course. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.”

I LOVE THE GANGSEY; CAN YOU TELL?

(Also, I don’t care if I’m only supposed to do five quotes. I couldn’t choose, so I cheated. No one can stop me when Stiefvater’s involved.)

cassandra_clare_city_of_heavenly_fire_book_cover

“Heroes aren’t always the ones who win,” she [Clary] said. “They’re the ones who lose, sometimes. But they keep fighting, they keep coming back. They don’t give up. That’s what makes them heroes.”

But of course I had to include this one, again, because 2016 was sort of a crappy year for a large majority of us, and I think this is a quote that everybody needs to hear right now. And, I wanted to include that quote from Civil War, but it’s not a book, so this is close enough!

img_2014

And that’s it for this book tag! This was actually a lot of fun, and, for sure, I’m going to make a fully-fledged blog post just centering around my favorite quotes, because I certainly have a lot of them, and I couldn’t really include them all here.

file_009

What are some of your favorite book quotes! Tell me in the comments!

14 thoughts on “The Book Quotes Tag

  1. I love book quotes! I think ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ is one of he most quotable books of all time, my fav quote being “Time is jealous of you, and wars against your lilies and your roses.”
    ‘V for Vendetta’ is equally quotable – “Behind this mask there is more than just flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea… and ideas are bulletproof.”
    Ooo, also from ‘Journey Under the Midnight Sun’, I like: “Some people walk forever in the sunlight, and some people have to walk through the darkest night their whole lives.”
    There’s so many, I could go on and on 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I’m so bad at quoting! Like sometimes I find some really good ones, take pictures of them to use on my reviews, but then I just… forget hahaha 😛 alsooo I love your second quote from Blue Lily! I am too a little (or a lot?) in love with all the raven boys hahaha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, same! Most of the time I collect my quotes via Goodreads, but I deleted my Goodreads a while ago, so, there’s that! 😂 I use one quote in my reviews, and that’s the first couple of sentences! And yes, same! I love the Raven boys so much. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh, yes; I was going to say it was my favorite book in the series, but now that I’m thinking about it, I literally can’t choose any book above the others (except maybe The Dream Thieves because RONAN! 😍). And, yes, you should; I hope you love it! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | the well-thumbed reader

Leave a Reply

