[MONTHLY WRAP-UP] January Wrap-Up

file_006-2

Yep, the first month of 2017 has passed! I swear to God, this year is going to go by super quick; we won’t ever see it coming. 

img_2014

file_001-1

I ended up reading 14 books this month, and going through 2 DNFs. 

(1) The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle (2/5) I was really excited about this one, but it ended up falling flat on its face for me. You can see more on my thoughts on this one here.

(2) Scythe by Neal Shusterman (3.5/5) Don’t be fooled by the rating for this one, I actually enjoyed this one! I could easily give it a four stars, but I settled on taking away .5 because I wasn’t emotionally invested in it. More on my thoughts here.

(3) Frost by M.P. Kozlowksy (4/5) Nothing is better than enjoying a stand-alone surprise! A surprisingly dark sci-fi story. My full review can be found here!

(4) Replica by Lauren Oliver (DNF) I was really excited for this one because of the different flip format, but I was pretty much bored with this one, unfortunately. More thoughts about this one here.

(5) Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (5/5) Yep, it’s just as good as I thought it’d be. Yep, I actually thought it was better than Illuminae. My full review for this brilliant sequel here!

(6) Boy Robot by Simon Curtis (4/5) Again, another debut I didn’t think I’d love so much, but I absolutely fell in love. Please gimme the sequel right now. My review for this underrated debut is here!

(7) Crossroads by Riley Hart (3/5) I was in a slump-y mood, so I decided to read a M/M romance (they’re my guilty pleasure; don’t judge me!), because I had read a really good Stucky fanfiction. Anyway, this was just average, not great, but not the worst thing ever. More on my thoughts here!

(8) The Many by Nathan Fields (4/5) Ah, such a tense, thrilling read that finally got me back into the reading groove! Thank you, Nathan Fields! For more of my thoughts on this series starter, here they are!

(9) Frostblood by Elly Blake (1/5) I was super excited for this one because the premise intrigued me and the cover is gorgeous, but this was just another cliche fantasy novel, from the characters to what happened. Such a disappointment, and I don’t think I’m going to continue on with the series, unfortunately.

(10) History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (5/5) Predictably, I freaking loved this book to absolute pieces. Damn you, Adam Silvera, for continuously breaking my heart. My full rambling review can be found here.

(11) The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda (4/5) I was super excited to read this, and my expectations were definitely met. Megan Miranda is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. More on my thoughts here!

(12) Final Girls by Riley Sager (5/5) I still can’t believe I got to read this early (like, what?) because this is one of my most anticipated releases, but I did, and it was amazing! It sucks that I can’t post my full review until closer to publication, but I highly recommend you all go out and pre-order it! So good!

(13) Blink by K.L. Slater (3/5) This was my first book by this author and it was honestly sort of meh, and you can read more on my thoughts on this one here!

(14) Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick (DNF) I was sort of meh about this one based off of the description, and it didn’t work out, unfortunately. I tried reading 10 chapters of this one, and was quickly bored by the entire thing. There wasn’t anything thriller-y about it, and I had too many ARCs to read, so I quit.

(15) Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger (1/5) I feel SO bad giving an ARC one star, but I just didn’t like this one at all. It didn’t feel like a thriller, I hated the main male character, the insta-love was terrible, and the ending made no sense. I’m not going to post my full review until after the publication date (which is in June), but, unfortunately, I didn’t like this one.

(16) The Last to Die by Kelly Garrett (3.5/5) Another YA mystery/thriller that was so much better than the previous one! I found this one very entertaining and addicting, and though it wasn’t the best YA thriller ever, I thought it was a lot of fun and it surprised me!

img_2014

file_002

Here are links to all the posts I posted this month that weren’t reviews, if you missed any of them:

Bookish Goals for 2017

WWW Wednesdays // 1•4•17

Christmas Book Haul

Why Have I Not Read You Yet?

WWW Wednesday // 1•11•17

The Book Blogger Test Tag

Mini Reviews // 1•15•17

WWW Wednesday // 1•18•17

The Rapid Fire Book Tag

[DISCUSSION] Is It Really Too Much?

The Emoji Book Tag

WWW Wednesday // 1•25•17

[ARC REVIEW] Blink by K.L. Slater

[MOVIE REVIEW] The Girl on the Train

The Book Quotes Tag

img_2014

file_000-4

This was also my first full month of blogging, and it worked out super well, and, dare I jinx myself for the future, better than I thought it would!

I decided to start a schedule – Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday. All other days of the week are open for unplanned posts or reviews, and I honestly think it worked out well, and I’m definitely going to keep it.

more-excitement

I also achieved so many accomplishments in such a short time! I reached 50 followers, which is still crazy to me, especially since I had about, what ten or eleven or less in December? Again, thank you to all the people that follow me and all those who have joined since I reached that achievement (especially all the big blogs. How in the world did you find me?). It means so much to me. Not to mention that I reached 100 likes (what?) and I received my first ever e-ARC (WHAT???) and the author of Boy Robot wanted to thank me for my review of his book (WHAAAAT???) and I won my first blogger award (which is coming up sometime soon!). This has been such a crazy rollercoaster, and I can’t wait until it’s been a year to see what it brings me.

books-amino

Also, I thought it’d be hard to get traction to my blog because I’m just not a social media person. I’m not good at taking pictures for bookstagram, I am in zero mood to join the drama of Twitter (and I’m talking about Twitter as a whole since it’s about 90% drama from an outsider’s perspective), and I don’t like Tumblr enough to want to make a booklr (or whatever it’s called). You’d think that because I’m a millenial teenager, I would be able to handle it, but I’m an anti-social freak at heart. But, I think I’m doing well without it. My main platform is Books Amino, this app which is basically blogging except without the huge commitment and much easier to do on your phone. I’ve been using it for almost a year now, and there are a couple of bloggers I’ve met via the app and it’s a get way to get traffic, in my opinion.

I’m also going to be changing up the content! I realized I did a lot of tags, and I wanted to do some more original content, and I actually had this huge blogging brainstorm where I came up with a lot of ideas that weren’t tags. My “Why Have I Not Read You Yet?” and “Is It Really Too Much” were really fun posts to write (and also pretty popular posts), and I want to do more of that, so come February, I’m going to have more original content that I’m SO excited to share with you guys, and I’m hoping it goes well. 

Also, I’ve mentioned before that I’m a naturally born quitter (and I’m probably going to mention that about a million more times, so apologies beforehand), and I’m happy to say that I’m loving it right now. Hopefully, I won’t get bored a year from now, but I absolutely love the community, and I’m also super ahead on my blog posts. Like, “right now, I’m typing up blog posts for March and I’ve already completed February” super ahead. This is extremely unhealthy and I should really stop.

Also, guess who was notified that they’ve been inducted into the National Honor Society at school?

me

MEEEEEE!

file_009

And that’s it for this super crazy month! How was your month? What was your favorite January read? Any accomplishments?

30 thoughts on “[MONTHLY WRAP-UP] January Wrap-Up

    • Yes, I have! It was absolutely fantastic! Funnily enough, I also read it in one day, same with History Is All You Left Me. I highly recommend his books; he creates such great characters that draw out such intense emotions. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great recap for this month, and wow I am completely in awe of how many book you managed to get through as well. I don’t think I’ve ever managed to read 16 books in one month, even before I started blogging! How do you do it?
    I have Scythe and History is All You Left Me on my to-read list, I hope I manage to get around to them soon and I hope I enjoy them as much as you did, maybe with a bit more investment in Scythe. 🙂
    Also congrats on your first full month blogging. It seems you passed some major milestones in January, and don’t worry I’m not a social media-ish person and I’m doing just fine so far! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh, I actually consider this lower than what I usually read (even though it really isn’t lol). I think my highest was 20+ during a school month. Honestly, I don’t know how I do it; my homework is usually sacrificed in the name of reading a book. 😂

      And, yes, I hope you enjoy them as well! Both were such good reads, especially History Is All You Left Me. 😍

      Thank you! And, yes, I’m still shocked that I have over 60 followers in such a short amount of time. And, yeah, glad to see they’re others! I always feel like bloggers do so well with juggling all these social medias, and I’m over here like, “What?”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow that’s a lot of books. I can’t really say how many is the most I’ve read in one month, I know January is the most books I’ve reviewed in a while but I guess works been getting in the way recently, it definitely feels that way this week!
        I want to try and get around to History is All You Left Me soon because I’ve heard such amazing things about it.
        Pretty soon you’ll be at 100 followers then, that’s a pretty amazing milestone to reach when you’re first starting out. Don’t worry I feel the same, it’s a miracle I can update WordPress as much as I do! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, school always gets in the way of my recreational reading. Nothing sucks more than having to give up time to read a book I’m loving to read a school book. 😝

        Yeah, I hope you enjoy it when you do! ❤

        And, aw, thank you! 100 followers is crazy to me; I’m still surprised I’m at 70 at the moment. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s great to read you had such a great month! I had a really good one but I have to finish my wrap up (since I just finished my last book of January) Hope you have an amazing February too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you! I’m glad you had a good one! I’m also one of those people who waits until the last day of January to read, but this time, I knew it wasn’t going to happen. 😂 I hope you have a great February!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on all your amazing blogging accomplishments!! I’m completely in-awe of how you manage to post so often (I’m just barely making it once a week), and it seems like you’re off to a fantastic start! 😅 Also, I’m glad to hear you liked Frost, I had my eye on that book in the bookstore a few days ago, so I think I might pick it up next time! 🙌 But I’m sad to hear you didn’t like Frostblood, that was one of my anticipated reads for this year! 😕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!

      Lol, me neither! I had a lot of time off during Christmas break, so I basically did all of my January posts during that month, and then I fill in that space with reviews and unplanned posts. I’ve finished with my planned March posts, and might move onto April soon enough (even though I should just chill out and take a break). 😂

      And, yeah I hope you do! I’m so glad I enjoyed it; I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I did. And, yeah, I was excited for Frostblood, too, but I’d already read about it before. Who knows, you might like it; I remember everyone said Red Queen was cliche drivel, and I still loved it! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 14 books is impressive and Congratulations on all your blogging milestones.I have a feeling that your blog will do super well so keep going.Sad to hear about Bad Little Girl,its on my TBR for this month.

    Happy reading and enjoy the new month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And, aw, thank you, Diana; that’s so sweet! ❤😊

      Hm, I have no idea if you’ll have more patience than me, but I was SO BORED. I hope you like it better than I did!

      And you, too! There are so many great books releasing this month; my TBR is going to get bigger. 😂

      Like

  5. Congrats on being inducted into the National Honor Society, and also on your first full month of blogging! It’s crazy to hear that you’ve come so far in just a couple of weeks, and I’m also amazed at the number of posts/books that you’ve managed to publish/read. ❤

    Also yaaas for Scythe! I'm sad to see that you didn't get fully invested, but I'm glad that you didn't give it a horrible rating at least. And Replica – I liked that book, but I can see that it's not for everyone. Hope February brings you some great books. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And yes, I’m still in shock that it’s only been a little over a month and so many people read and like and comment on my posts! I didn’t think I’d reach this so soon! 😁

      And, yes, I’m actually really excited for what the sequel will bring, since it didn’t really end on a cliffhanger! Apparently, the next book is the finale, so I can’t wait to see what happens! And yeah, Lauren Oliver’s been a constant hit or miss for me; I’ve only liked Before I Fall, and all I have left of hers is Vanishing Girls, which I’m hoping I love!

      Like

  6. It sounds like you’ve had such an awesome month! Congrats! I totally feel you on the not being a social media person at all thing. I’ll have to check out Books Amino, it seems awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Same. My friends are harassing me to get on instagram and snapchat, but I honestly find it boring. I have a twitter, but I’m a noob, so I feel like I’m basically just tweeting into the void. I just downloaded Books Amino and I have no idea how to work it, but I have to get ready for school in one minute, so that adventure will have to wait until later.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha, I only use Instagram to keep up with my favorite bookstagram accounts and I feel like Snapchat is a waste of turn, personally, but everyone seems to love it lol. Feel free to ask me any questions; my username is thewellthumbedreader! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, what a FANTASTIC month you’ve had, both in terms of reading (SO many books, just, HOW do you do it haha), and of blogging. Congratulations on the e-ARCs and the followers, all well-deserved! It’s so great to see you having so much fun blogging, and I hope you’ll keep that feeling for a long, long time 🙂 Hope you’ll have a wonderful February! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I don’t know; I think I owe most of it to the fact that I read faster with e-books! And thank you so much; I can’t believe all of this has happened so quickly! I hope I keep loving blogging as well; it’s so much fun! Thank you! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on your awesome achievements! I’ve only recently started blogging myself and was happy just to get 10 followers, I can’t imagine how happy I’d be to get 50!

    I’m very excited to see all the stuff you have planned for February and hopefully you’ll soon hit 100 followers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And awesome, welcome fellow newbie! 😁 And, yes, I remember how excited I was to get just one follower and a couple of likes on my post; I’m just glad to see people enjoy and love what I write! ❤️ And thank you; I have no idea if I’ll reach 100 this month, but if I do, I’d be in awe. ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

