[AWARD] Blogger Recognition Award

bloggerrec

First of all, thank you so much to Jess @ Beacoupbooks for tagging me in my first ever award! I’m still not over it, since, you know, THIS IS MY FIRST EVER AWARD. I’ve only been here for a month and a couple of days; I don’t deserve this.

Rules:
1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. Write a post to show your award.
3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

file_002-2

Oh, God, my story is actually quite dull. I used to be a huge Goodreads user, but I found it really tiring and ended up deleting it in late October. I mentioned in a sort of throw-away comment that I might start up a blog, but didn’t seriously consider it until December. That’s when I started obsessively looking up “How to Start a Book Blog.” I think Cait’s blog (paperfury) was what really pushed me, and on December 20, I took the plunge and published my first post! If you’ve been here since the beginning, you’ll know that I actually had an old design (this is actually my third lol) and the first name for my blog was “fractured spines,” mainly because all variations of “cracked spines” were taken, and I hated it, so I stumbled upon “well-thumbed” after Googling book-related words, and “the well-thumbed reader” was born!

file_003

Apparently, I’m supposed to be giving advice to newbie bloggers, which is sort of weird for me to do since I still consider myself a newbie, so I have zero certified experience, really. But, I’ll give it a try!

1. You don’t need all the social medias.

I remembered going into full-on panic mode when I was looking through 39747 “How to Start a Book Blog” posts, and 99.9% of them were constantly telling me to get Instagram and Pinterest and Twitter and Bloglovin’ and Goodreads, etc. I am not a social media person, as I’m sure you guys know, and it really stressed me out to know that I might have to sign up for all of them and juggle them. But fear not, I ended up not giving in. I quit bookstagram after two weeks, I don’t use Pinterest that much, I don’t use Twitter because I don’t like it, I have a Goodreads that I’m still unsure if I want to use, and I have Bloglovin’ which is pretty easy to deal with after you get sort of used to it (and also pretty great for those who want to follow you, but aren’t on WordPress). I will say, I got some traction on my blog when someone tweeted about one of my reviews, but most of my views/follows/comments have come from the WordPress Reader, my Books Amino account, Google searches (which, what, how?), and sometimes from Bloglovin’. I’ve used zero social media, and I have over 71 followers, and I consistently get 10+ likes and 30+ page views on my posts. Don’t stress about it. If anything, commenting on other people’s blogs is key.

2. Don’t be afraid to request e-ARCs/ARCs.

I signed up for the big bad scary world of Netgalley just a couple of weeks ago, and requested SO MANY BOOKS. I thought I wouldn’t be approved for any of them. Imagine how excited I was when I got an e-mail from the publicist of Penguin Dutton saying that they’d love for me to read an e-ARC for Final Girl (if you’re new here, this is one of my most anticipated 2017 thriller/horror releases, and it got 5 stars). I only had around 30 or so followers. Recently, I sent in three requests to Penguin Teen for physical ARCs, and, yeah, I might not get them, but I don’t know if I don’t take the plunge. Don’t be afraid to request, because who knows what will happen? You don’t always have to have a billion followers.

(But don’t go around requesting TOO many books; then you’ll be run over with all these books you’ve been approved for and you’ll be crushed by your TBR.)

blogger-award

Um, I have no idea who has or hasn’t done this, and I’m not sure I can conjure up fifteen blogs, so I’ll try to get as many as I can!

Marija @ Inside My Library Mind

Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess

Kelly @ Kelly’s Ramblings

Diana @ A Haven for Book Lovers

Sam @ Clues and Reviews

Allonsythornraxx @ Allonsythornraxx (this made me realize I don’t know your real name!)

Chelsea @ The Suspense is Thrilling Me

Janel @ Keeper of Pages

img_2014

Aaaaand, that’s all I got! You definitely don’t have to do this tag if you don’t want to, but you guys all definitely deserve the award! 

And that’s it for my first ever blogger award! I’m still over the moon about it!

47 thoughts on “[AWARD] Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Great advice! I felt that I needed to have accounts on every popular social media platform when I first started blogging and you really don’t. I deleted my Instagram account like the next day after creating it because I just didn’t like or even want it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, ’tis true! There are definitely some people out there who totally rock at it and have thousands of followers across all platforms, which is fantastic (and I envy them lol), but you will survive if you don’t have it! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! GREAT ADVICE. When I first started book blogging I found myself constantly thinking about what I need to post on instagram. From November to December I even found myself constantly checking instagram to see If I was missing something. It got to the point when I realized this was getting pathetic and wasn’t even generating traffic to my blog. So, I quit it. Ever since then I’ve focused my attention on commenting on blogs and it’s gotten me WAAAYY more traffic than I ever would’ve when I was on instagram!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, lol, I used to have a bookstagram account as well! I posted, like, five pictures at best, and the entire week I had it, it stressed me out to the max! I couldn’t take pretty pictures, I didn’t have a good background, and it just sucked. So I quit, and I haven’t looked back since.

      I sort of felt bad that I wasn’t on ALL THE SOCIAL MEDIA, but it was really reassuring to see another person’s blog post and seeing so many comments that others didn’t use it too much as well. I do think Instagram is WAY harder to build up a following though. People say to comment and like photos, but it’s just so different from blogging where commenting is so personal and something that’s sort of right in your face than Instagram where you’re basically there to look at pictures. I rarely look at someone’s comment section.

      This was a long comment lol

      Like

  3. Congrats on the award! It’s so exciting to be nominated for an award! I was really excited when I received my first one! And I love your advice! I use mainly Twitter and Facebook- but I never use Bloglovin, so you might have to teach me! 😉 Also, I definitely agree with you with ARCs- it’s great to ask, but never too much! I have so many copies to read it’s going to take me a while! Congrats again! You deserve it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awww congrats on your first award! I remember when I was nominated for an award for the first time and it’s so exciting. 😁
    I love your advice. Especially about not needing to have all the social medias because I’ve pretty much abandoned my bookstagram, I couldn’t keep up with it anymore, and I rarely look at my twitter either. I can’t bring myself to delete them though so they’re just kind of sitting there lol. And you’re right about not being afraid to request ARCs. The worst they can say is no but at least you tried for it and you never know otherwise. 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And, yes, it’s really exciting; I got nominated for a second award yesterday, and I totally freaked out (on the inside, at least). 😂

      Haha, yes, bookstagram seems like so much hard work! So many of them talk about taking hours to set up, shoot, and edit photos, and I have zero patience for that. And I feel you on letting stuff sit there even though you don’t need it, I do that ALL THE TIME. I just can’t let stuff go, for some reason.

      Yep, exactly! I remember having a heart attack when I got my first e-mail from Netgalley; I had to work up the courage to open it! Imagine my surprise when it was someone accepting my request! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome!! That’s awesome. Getting an award is always exciting. 😂
        It’s a lot of hard work. I never spent hours editing but I did spend hours taking pictures. There wasn’t ever a lot of interaction either so after a while I just felt it was pointless and that I could spend the time reading or blogging lol. I can’t either! I have old twitter accounts from four years ago and these little websites I made with my friend back in 2006. It’s hard to let things go even when you don’t ever use them. 🙈
        I had the same reaction. It’s always the best feeling when you don’t think you’ll get approved for a book but then you do. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, yeah, definitely; I mentioned in an earlier comment that it seems super difficult to make it big on bookstagram, not even taking in the account of the new algorithm that puts the most popular posts first on everyone’s feed. It’s just less interactive to me, since I rarely find other people’s accounts through comment sections, and so many people are like “Comment!” But it’s just not as easy as blogging.

        Yes, definitely! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the award ❤ Great tips there.I started using NetGalley last year in July but I have no shelf-control.Started out well but now its a struggle to keep the shelf at under 20 ArCs.I also agree with you on social media.I'm on Goodreads due to ARCs because it helps promote books that I have read and I can't post on Amazon so GR works for now.Twitter is mainly a way of interacting with authors and it helps me connect with blogger friends.However,I think one can do without them as you mentioned.

    All the best with your blog.You are already doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • No problem! Ha, I currently have three at the moment, and I’m hoping to get through two this month, so fingers crossed! And, yeah, I mainly want a Goodreads just so I can tell publishers I have my review up somewhere else other than my blog, but eh. 😂

      And, aw thank you so much! ❤😊

      Like

  6. Congratulations on your first tag Mikaela. I still remember being tagged for the first time and I was so pleased, it’s kind of up there with the major milestones isn’t it?
    Also great advice. I think the social media part is important for newbie bloggers to hear because when starting out you do think you need Blogspot and Goodreads and Instagram and Twitter to be a successful blogger but that’s not the case at all. I’ve been blogging for over a year now and I still don’t have a GR or Twitter account, and I only created my Instagram account back in September/October maybe. The important part is posting on your blog and enjoying what you do.
    Good luck with the physical ARCs you requested too, I hope you hear something back about the ones you requested. I always think, whether it’s a physical copy of a NetGalley eARC it’s always a great experience to get the approval email isn’t it?
    Great post, and great advice as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yes, it was so exciting; I got nominated for another one and was shocked about that one, too! 😄

      Oh, hey, another fellow book Blogger not on Twitter! I thought everyone was. 😂 It was actually reassuring because I saw a blog post called “Does Social Media Presence Equal Success” or something like that, and it was reassuring to see so many people say they couldn’t handle all the social media either! I think posting consistently and commenting on other people’s posts worked well for me, personally! Also, it really surprises me how so many people find me through google searching??? It bothers me that WordPress.com doesn’t have an option to tell me what people are googling that I’m popping up so much.

      Thank you; it’d be great if I got them in the mail, but I’m not counting it! And, yes, definitely, it’s always great! Just today I got accepted for an e-ARC request I didn’t think I’d get, so that was awesome!

      Thank you so much; you’re so sweet! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m still really excited whenever I get tagged as well, and I’m seriously behind on tags at the moment so you know?
        Nope, I’m not a big fan of social media. I start off with the best intentions but before I now it it’s been weeks and I haven’t updated, for some reason WordPress seems to be the exception to that rule.
        In my opinion social media doesn’t equal success, passion does.If you enjoy blogging and enjoy what you write about it will shine thought in your posts regardless of whether you have social media or not.
        I don’t tend to notice that about my stats. People find my blog however I wasn’t even aware there was a feature that showed how many people found my blog through Google.
        Just keep requesting, one day you’ll get an ARC through in the mail. Perseverance is key I think, and in the meantime eARCs are still amazing.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I feel you! I’ve only been tagged for three things and I already feel so behind lol.

        I think the main reason I don’t have social media is just the fact that I was never interested in it before blogging, so I feel like if I signed up for it, it’d feel fake, I guess? I mean, I’m sure it’s an extra boost to be like, “Yeah, I have 2k Twitter followers, 936 Goodreads friends, and 1k Instagram followers” when you’re requesting physical ARCs, but eh. 😄 And, yeah, I definitely agree! Even if it takes time to build a following, it’s definitely worth it!

        Yeah, it’s under Search Engines! Last month, 48 people found me through search engines, which is nuts to me. I don’t know what I’m doing that’s getting googled so frequently but I certainly don’t mind!

        Yes, it is! Just today, I was looking through Referers because I love seeing how people find my blog, and somebody who approves requests on Netgalley was under there! And I went to my e-mail and my request was approved! It was such a good feeling to see that someone actually looked at my blog and thought me worthy enough to approve. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | allonsythornraxx

  8. Pingback: ANYTHING BUT BOOKS TAG | allonsythornraxx

  9. Congratulations on your award, this post truly excited me! I am a new blogger, and the feeling after you press the publish button is like no other. I know how you feel about the social media part of it, it can be totally over whelming. I am not familiar with eArc, but it sounds like something I could be very interested it. Could you please explain what it is and how it works.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, I’m glad it did! Welcome to the blogging world! 😄 E-ARCS are basically e-versions of Advanced Reader Copies, so instead of getting a physical galley, you can read a PDF or a MOBI (most of the time, Kindle is the best way to read it). Netgalley and Edelweiss are the two most popular sites. I prefer Netgalley much more personal, but it all depends on preference! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

