[REVIEW] Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

behind-her-eyes

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Adult

Series: None

Rating: 5 STARS

Description:

Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

My Thoughts:

“Pinch myself and say I AM AWAKE once an hour.”

 Okay, so, you’ve probably heard of this book before. It’s been hailed as the Thriller of the Year, you may have seen #WTFThatEnding going around, you’ve probably seen everyone falling in love with this book, etc. I heard about this book first via Bookstagram, and after seeing all the positive reviews, I decided I’d pre-order this book with my Christmas money. And, boy, was it worth it!

 Also, spoilers, spoilers, everywhere! I can’t talk about this book without spoiling, unfortunately.

 I will definitely say, this is a weird book. The entire time, it just had the weirdest vibe to it, not only because we’re dealing with the weirdest triangle (???) ever, where Louise is sleeping with her supposed best friend’s husband, but we’re also shown different sides of the story, you’re completely left in the dark two-thirds of the time, and then you’re fed flashbacks that seem out-of-place and make no sense, but keep your interest piqued nonetheless. But, for some reason, the fact that it was so strange is what made it so addicting, in my opinion. You’ll probably going to be like, “WTF is going on?” but you’ll still turn the pages because you need to know what will happen next and what the damn ending is and why is any of this happening?

 The characters were some of the most interesting I’ve seen in a thriller yet. I’ve mentioned multiple times that for thrillers, I don’t really care too much about characters; all I really care about is the plot and what’s going to happen next. I’m going to blame that on the fact that thrillers are just generally unpredictable, and the character you’re rooting for could end up being a ruthless murderer. I will say, Louise is so annoying. She’s so indecisive about everything, and she’s one of those book cheaters that expects me to feel bad for her because she’s guilty for sleeping with her best friend’s husbands, and I just don’t care, Louise. I don’t. Stop whining, for Pete’s sake!

 And David. Ugh. We find out near the end of the book that Adele is dealing with mental issues and may or may not be a sociopath who killed two cats. David had broken up with Louise earlier in the book once he finds out that she and Adele have been friends, and once Louise finds out that Adele may not have shown all her colors and wants to talk to him, we get to hear David intensely white-knight and talk about how he’s suffered from a trapped marriage because Adele killed Rob, and she has the evidence to blame it on him, and he’s been trying to help her, and Louise was the only bright spot in his life, and when he basically threatened her, it was “for her own good.” I practically rolled my eyes. Just leave the marriage, David. LEAVE. I do not care about the plight of a rich man who says the cheesiest things ever.  And the ending made me even happier for his fate.

 And then we have Adele (or should I say “Adele”?), who is my favorite person out of the entire novel. Meet your next Amy Dunne, a girl who’s out of control, who’s ready to do anything to get her way, and is conniving and corrupt and pure evil. I absolutely loved her, and, to be honest, since I hated both Louise and David, I was ready to watch her plans to mess with them to completely unravel. I think I just met one of my favorite characters of the year!

 Of course, we have to talk about that ending. First of all, I loved it. I heard there were paranormal sort of elements in this book, which worried me a little since I’m not really into that, but I thought Pinborough handled it well; I thought the entire concept of a separate dream world made sense, and it didn’t completely overpower the novel’s premise. I thought I had figured out the ending once Louise got trapped in Adele’s body and died because Adele loved David so much she wanted to in hers, but when it was revealed that it was actually ROB??? Holy crap, that was awesome. I definitely did not see that coming, I thought it made sense with the storyline, and I hated David so much, that it was nice to see him get his just desserts.

 Overall, a gripping thriller with an ending, I think, definitely lived up to the hype.

file_009

Have you read this yet? What did you think about the ending or the characters?

8 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

  1. Pingback: [MONTHLY WRAP-UP] February Wrap-Up | the well-thumbed reader

Leave a Reply

