[REVIEW] Frostblood by Elly Blake

frostblood

Genre: Fantasy, YA

 Series: Frostblood Saga #1

 Rating: 1 STAR

 Description:

 The frost king will burn.

 Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

 Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love.

 My Thoughts:

“I offered my hand to the fire.”

 So, I realized that I have yet to post a completely negative review on my blog. So…I decided to publish one! Yeah! And that review is, unfortunately, for Frostblood by Elly Blake. Obviously, there are some things that you should know. First, I was really, really excited to read this. A fantasy book that deals with elemental powers and deals with a competition? Yes, please. And two, I rarely give out one stars. Like, ever. Seriously, I’m pretty sure that on my old Goodreads profile, I had about under twenty one star ratings. And, honestly, a large majority of them were DNFs, so me rating one star to a book that I’ve fully read is even more of a surprise. But, I’ve already rated two books one star this year. Is that an accomplishment? I can’t tell.

EDIT: THIS REVIEW IS FULL OF SPOILERS. I apologize to all the people I’ve already spoiled because I was in a rush to post this. Whoops.

 First off, I think the main reason I didn’t like this book was just the fact that this was pretty much a cliché mess. If you’ve read a YA fantasy in the last couple of the years, you’ve probably already read this story and seen its plain characters and formed heart eyes at the soppy romance and seen the plot twists coming a mile away…and, yeah, you’ve most likely read this already. And if you haven’t, congratulations! You’ll probably love this more than I did.

 We get to meet Ruby, who’s the token Chosen Girl who also has to battle the darkness inside her, and is part of a class/group of people that’s known as being an outsider and is constantly getting attacked, and somebody she cares about dies, causing her to want to get revenge against those who hate her. You know, the usual. Except Ruby wasn’t developed anywhere past that, and I swear to God, pretty much all her thoughts I’ve read before in another YA dystopian/fantasy before. And then we have Arcus, the token Love Interest who has a tragic past and is cold-hearted to the Chosen Girl but actually totally secretly loves her and he also has an undercover sweet side that comes out of nowhere and he’s an expert in the field that the Chosen Girl needs to become an expert in. Again, the usual. I will say, I liked that he was scarred since we rarely ever see an imperfect character in YA who’s still considered beautiful, but that’s overshadowed by how typical everything else was.

 And then there’s the fact that I felt like the pacing of this book was all over the place. It took me a good long while to read this book, like about a week, which, for me, is a ridiculously long time. If I’m not in a slump-y sort of mood, I can read a book in two to three days, so yeah. I thought the first part of this book was so slow until Ruby FINALLY gets captured again. This sort of went all A Gathering of Shadows-esque, and, yeah, I love that book, but it also suffered from mentioning this awesome competition in the synopsis, and then it takes over halfway through the book before we finally actually GET to said competition, which annoys the hell out of me. And even then, the competition wasn’t even that fun. I was bored.

 The world-building was much the same. It’s the same fantasy world with royalty and kings and queens ruling and peasants treated unfairly, and, of course, two main groups are fighting against each other, and one of them is prejudiced against the other, and it has magic, except this time, it’s elemental. It just didn’t seem like it’d take any effort to create a world like that, one that I’m sure we’ve all seen described in several other YA books.

 And then we reach the end, and we learn…Arcus is lost royalty. You thought it couldn’t get more cliché? Don’t worry, it just proves you wrong! And then we have this big battle that’s pretty typical. Her new “love” is taken by the Big Bad Guy, who has been possessed by some sort of evil and is also the Love Interest’s brother, and the Chosen Girl unlocks this inner power that she never knew she had, while also feeling bad because it feels like she’s dabbling in the dark side. I’ve seen this before. Like, 294882 other times.

 It’s just so frustrating, because I feel like this could’ve been good, despite the clichés. For example, I absolutely love Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, and that got slandered by Goodreads for being unoriginal, but, in my opinion, it did a good job at balancing being cliché, but also still being pretty entertaining. Of course, not everyone feels that way, but I loved it. But this one…just ugh. That’s basically how I feel about it, which sucks.

 Overall, just a very disappointing read, but if the reviews from Goodreads are anything to go by, I’m sure some of you guys out there might fall in love with it.

let's chat

Have any of you guys read this book? Do you feel the same way? Or do you feel totally different?

20 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Frostblood by Elly Blake

  1. Aha I didn’t read most of the review because of the spoilers, seeing how I’m not sure if I’m going to read this or not yet aha. So sorry to hear this was disappointing though! It’s too bad you couldn’t enjoy it more. This one seemed like it was so good. I will definitely remember to keep my expectations lower if I decide to pick this up! Great review. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, good, glad you came in before the spoilers because I was in such a hurry to post this that I forgot to post the spoiler warning. 😂 So whoops to anyone who unfortunately got spoiled. And I hope you enjoy it if you ever get the chance to read it! Thank you! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy this book Mikaela, I actually ended up really enjoying Frostblood. I noticed the clichés in but I thought they were well written enough that it didn’t feel boring. I hadn’t actually read a fantasy book like this in a while so it didn’t feel same-y to me you know. Also this one was compared to Red Queen and you said you enjoyed that book so I’m sorry this one didn’t live up to your expectations. 🙂
    Still great review for this book, and you said you don’t post many one star reviews so I guess this just wasn’t for you in the end (I normally save my one star reviews for DNF books as well).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you did! I still find it hilarious how we don’t like each other’s fantasy books even though they’re so alike! It just really goes to show you how different opinions are! And, yeah, I definitely don’t! My other one star was for an ARC that’s not even coming out until July, I think, so there’s that. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah that kind of makes me laugh a little as well. I guess it just goes to show everyone does having different tastes in books and you can’t believe it when blurbs say ‘perfect for fans of …’
        The lowest I’ve rated a book so far has been two stars, and looking back it’s possible they could have ended up one star if I hadn’t been as generous as I was.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man! 1 star! When I saw the post in my Reader, I was like OOH FROSTBLOOD THAT WAS THE ONE THAT I SAW ON THE GOODREADS LIST OF 2017 THINGAMAJIG. And then I saw 1 star, and I went, Ohhhhkaaaaay. XD Sorry you didn’t enjoy it! But yes, from the synopsis blurby thingy, you can tell it’s going to be a BIT cliché, especially after Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’m sorry to have disappointed you! 😂 And, yeah, I could definitely tell it was going to be cliche from the synopsis, but I still held out hope! But, it just didn’t work it for me! 😬

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, not at all! 😛 Yup, I think the main problems with books these days are: 1) too cliché 2) very similar to other books, 3) underdeveloped. So yeah. And it’s difficult to come up with new, fresh ideas, because we can get inspiration from so many places, especially with all the amazing books that exist already.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, yeah, definitely! I think it also has to play a part with the fact that it’s very easy for the publishing industry to promote books that are like something else, which is usually why when one book in a genre gets popular, ALL THE BOOKS IN THAT GENRE ARE PUBLISHED (sort of like with Twilight with paranormal romance and The Hunger Games with dystopian).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh, yes! The Hunger Games DEFINITELY got a lot of dystopian books published! And yes, that is very true. The publishing companies are looking for the money, but to get that money, you need to make sure that the idea is original/interesting, so I don’t know how that works??? XD

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you! 😄 Surprisingly, this was easier to do than my positive reviews? I mean, sometimes my positive reviews come to me easily, but sometimes, I feel like I’m repeating myself a million times. 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

