[MONTHLY WRAP-UP] February Wrap-Up

file_000-45

And the second month of 2017 has passed! I can’t believe all that’s happened this month; I’m so excited for what the next month is going to bring in!

file_001-1

I ended up reading 10 books, and having 1 DNF this month! It was pretty meh regarding reading, but I’ll pick it up next month, hopefully!

(1) City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson (3/5) An okay murder mystery thriller with pacing all over the place. You can read more of my thoughts over here.

(2) Ubo by Steve Rasnic Tem (3/5) I got the chance to read an ARC of this weird sci-fi/horror mix. Read my full review over here!

(3) The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles (DNF) I was initially super excited for this book because it sounded weird and awesome, but I read the first couple of chapters and instantly knew I wasn’t going to like it. Also, I heard there was insta-love all over the place, so I don’t feel bad for passing. 

(4) Caraval by Stephanie Garber (4/5) I pre-ordered this book because of all the hype, and, fortunately, it lived up to it! Here’s my full review right here!

(5) Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough (5/5) Again, we have another hyped book, and, again, I fell in love with it and its unlikable characters! For more of my spoiler-y thoughts, click here!

 (6) At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson (5/5) I finally read my first Shaun David Hutchinson book, and now I need to read, like, all of his books. My gushing review can be found here!

(7) Allegedly Tiffany D. Jackson (3/5) This was a pretty nice contemporary/thriller novel, but I was really disappointed with the ending since I’ve seen it already before. My review should be coming up sometime in March (I originally posted it this month, but it didn’t get too much traction, so I’ll just re-post it. Am I shallow? Yes.)!

(8) My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry (4/5) Yet another thriller with unlikable characters that I really enjoyed! Check out my rant-y review here!

(9) The River at Night by Ericka  (3/5) A survival thriller that I thought was pretty much okay, but definitely kept my interest! I literally just posted my review this past Wednesday, so if you missed it, (here it is)!

(10) Les Mis by Victor Hugo (1/5) I had to read this for school, and, not surprising to anyone, I hated it. No review is coming because I don’t really review school books, but please pray for me on this upcoming open-book test. #RIPMikaela

(11) This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (4/5) I read this for my Bookmark book (basically, my class had to read and annotate a book, then write an in-class essay about it), and I literally binged this in a couple of days because I’m a huge procrastinator. BUT IT WAS SO AMAZING. GIVE ME OUR DARK DUETS RIGHT NOW, DAMN IT.

arrow break

file_000-4

excited

So, lots of stuff happened this month. I still don’t know what in the world exactly happened this month or how I deserved it, but it happened, and I’m so thankful. First off, I received 100 followers this month, and a week before I reached two months! At the moment, I have 120+ followers, AND WHY ARE YOU HERE WHERE DID YOU COME FROM WHAT! Also, my stats rocketed. Like, holy crap; I never thought I’d get to over 1,100+ views in a month, but I did? Thank you?? I also received two author requests this month (one I accepted and one I turned down), and a review for the one I accepted is coming out this month, so that was cool! And my social media also did pretty well! My Bloglovin’ is actually being used/followed, and my Instagram is doing well also, so, this month was actually pretty good in terms of blogging, and I can’t wait for the next few months.

thumbs-up-2

Also, I’ve decided to change my schedule! My schedule is changing from Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday to Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I’ll be posting two mandatory reviews a week (Monday and Wednesday) and something else bookish-related on Fridays and Sundays! Hopefully, this works out! Track has started again (someone please kill me), and it runs into my posting schedule during the week, so if I post at odd times or a little late, you’ll know why! I think I’m going to stay with the time I’m posting, but who knows, I might change it! 

thinking

So, since this was a month that I felt I finally had consistent visitors/followers, I thought it’d be interesting to talk about posts that did and didn’t do well, and some new upcoming features! Interestingly enough, my favorites list regarding books worked out well, but my bookstagram and book boyfriend lists didn’t do as well. My “25 Facts About Me” post is currently my top post in terms of views and likes, which is still nuts to me, so apparently you guys really like learning about me. Also, my discussion post also did really well! My discussion post last month was my highest viewed post as well, so I’m glad to see that you guys like reading them, because I love writing them! Also, awards seem to do well, and wow, I still have two more to go, I think, and I have no idea when I’ll post them.

Also, regarding reviews, it’s so weird. Some reviews do really well, and some do meh. I’d like to think they’re all pretty successful in terms of where they are since I know reviews are the lowest in drawing in stats. I also can never predict what does well. Some reviews of books I think won’t do well because they’re not that popular, but they still do well anyway? Reviews are weird.

Also, I’m introducing three new features in the next few months! I’ll be doing a Monthly Recommendations post, which is pretty self-explanatory and I’m so excited to post because I’ve literally worked hours on these posts. I’m also introducing Let’s Chat, which is basically going to be my Discussion posts except shorter and dealing with topics that pretty much everyone has already talked about, and since you guys seem to love my discussions, I’m super excited to bring this feature in! And I’m also introducing Book Playlists, which, again, self-explanatory! I have no idea if it’s going to do well, but my first one will be coming out later this month, and it’ll be about my favorite series, the Unwind dystology, so I hope you’ll enjoy that! Some other things that I’m adding are seasonal 2017 releases and more unpopular opinions, because why not? Basically, I’m really excited for all these new features, and I hope you love them as well! 

social-media

Also, I’m finally going to be adding these little social media banners at the bottom of my blog posts now! I think it’s cool to see it on other people’s blogs, and it feels like the most effective way to promote my social media! I’m usually just going to link to my Bloglovin’, Twitter, and Instagram, since I’m not using Goodreads or Twitter, and my Books Amino is already popular enough, and I don’t think too many of you guys are on it for people to care, so there’s that!

Which brings me to the fact that I have Twitter! I know I said I’d never do it, but I’ve totally caved. It’ll be linked at the bottom of this post, but feel free to leave your usernames/links to your own Twitter accounts in the comments section to make it easier to find and follow you guys!

let's chat

And that’s it for this amazing month! How was your month? What was your favorite read of February? Any accomplishments?

follow me

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter

16 thoughts on “[MONTHLY WRAP-UP] February Wrap-Up

    • We read an abridged version so it wasn’t too bad! Still couldn’t understand 2/3 of the language. 😂 Our version was cut down to 400 pages exactly!

      And yeah, I hope you enjoy them! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  1. DANG IT WAY TO GO AND RUIN LES MIS FOR ME I WAS REALLY HOPING TO READ IT MIKAELA. *angry face* 😛 OOH GIVE ME THOSE FIVE STAR BOOKS. 😄

    I also just got 100 followers (currently at 130 whoop whoop — oh wow, I just realized I met my goal for the month hahahahaha…) and it’s totally crazy, isn’t it??? Also YAY NEW FEATURES. Except for the fact that monthly recommendations will add MORE to my TBR and I DO NOT need that happening??? And also GASP THE UNWIND DYSTOLOGY! I finished Scythe recently and need to read all of Neal Shusterman’s books!!! DANG IT MY TBR IS GROWING BY THE SECOND HELP MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. *wails in despair*

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL I HATE READING SCHOOL BOOKS IT ALWAYS SUCKS. 😂 You should read all the five star books; they’re all wonderful.

      I KNOW, my follower count grew as well, but I was too lazy to edit it and give an exact amount lol. I DONT APOLOGIZE FOR FOR RUINING YOUR TBR LOL.

      YOU NEED TO READ UNWIND. It’s so good; I love it WAY more than Scythe, and it’s just as brilliant, if not more??? The series just makes me so emotional. 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you liked caraval, I really enjoyed the world and all the magic of it but I didn’t really like any of the characters 🙁! I was slightly disappointed after all the hype it got. Congrats on getting 100 followers this month! That’s incredible. Nice schedule btw, I’m trying to figure out my own schedule at the minute, I can’t decide whether to post 3/4 times a week…🤔! Great wrap up post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, that sucks! I don’t really care that much about characters, tbh, so it didn’t really bother me. 😂 And thank you so much! I can’t believe I have so many! ❤ Yeah, in thinking come Monday, I’m going to post in the mornings. I don’t know if that’ll work out, but I think it’ll be easier on me.

      Like

    • Thank you so much! Haha, ugh, it’s really not that much to me considering I want to read 200 books this month, but, I usually catch up in the summers, so I guess it’s okay? 😄 I feel like with blogging I’m starting to fail at reading; how do these people do it????

      Liked by 1 person

      • Honestly, I don’t know. I’ve almost been blogging for 2 years and I STILL haven’t found the balance between real life, blogging, the store, and trying to read. It’s so hard >.< haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • I meant 200 books in a year; I don’t know how I didn’t catch that the first time. 😄 It’s all so hard! And I’m only in high school; who knows how college will work out (probably terribly, depending on how hard it is).

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh I can’t wait to read Caraval! That’s too bad about The Edge of Everything, though. It had such a pretty cover and seemed so promising! :/ And omg yes, I am DYING for Our Dark Duets!! ❤ I can't wait for all your new blog features. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • THE COVER IS GORGEOUS! And I saw the pages have “One More Soul” on it, and that’s stunning, but, unfortunately, I didn’t like the book too much. Ugh, I can’t wait for Our Dark Duet! I’m so glad that I read it a little bit later so at least the wait isn’t too long. 😄 And I hope you love them! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! It sounds like you read a ton of great books this month! I’m glad you enjoyed them all so much. 🙂 (I have to say though, as much as I read Les Mis, I don’t envy you having to read it for school haha!) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous recap! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yeah, even though I didn’t read too much this month, most of the books were pretty awesome, so that’s always a positive. March has started out really well, so that’s always good. Haha, I have a test next week and it’ll be the death of me. 😄 Thank you!

      Like

  5. You had such a great reading and blogging month!! And wowww, 120 followers on your first two months of blogging? That’s so impressive! I think I reached that numbers after blogging for… 5 months? hahaha though I didn’t start to seriously blog until 3 months after I created the blog 😛 anyway, cheers to better blogging months in the future! ❤ I love Caraval too and I heard a lot of negative things about The Edge of Everything. I heard there was also animal abuse and I seriously can't (and don't want to) read that. I actually requested and ARC but got declined, so, good for me hahaha have a wonderful March Mikaela! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And, yeah, I’m honestly surprised as well??? I honestly didn’t think I’d reach 100 followers until at least months and months and months, so I’m surprised this is happening so fast. Yeah, I don’t know if I got far enough into the book for that! I’m not too sensitive to animal abuse, so maybe I did read it, and I just didn’t think too much of it. And I hope you have a wonderful March as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

