Anticipated Spring Releases 2017

file_000-24

With spring comes a lot of new releases that make me super excited! I thought it’d be nice to introduce a new feature (because I do this about once a month on my blog at this point) in which I talk about my most anticipated releases for the season!

I actually made a large two-part post for all the 2017 releases, but I ended up deleting both of those posts because I deleted the photos in my gallery, and apparently when you do that, it deletes all the photos on said posts (why did no one tell me this). I was too lazy to redo the entire thing again, so I thought I’d just copy the information, delete both the posts, and recycle them for a much shorter, more organized post. And here it is!

If you want to learn more about the book, just click the title, and it’ll lead you to the Goodreads page! I have a mix of YA and Adult, and I’m pretty sure I have a book for every genre, so, that’s awesome!

(Now I’ll shut up and start talking about the books.)

img_2014

MARCH

The Bone Witch

bone-witch

(Mar 7)

I haven’t read Chupeco’s other novels, but this one sounds really good. I haven’t read much fantasy in a VERY long time, so I really need to hop back on board. And, again, cover love!

*

The Roanoke Girls

the-roanoke-girls

(Mar 7)

This book wasn’t even on my radar until I joined Netgalley and read the description and was immediately lured in. This author actually wrote YA dystopian books (which, obviously, are sitting unread on my TBR), so it’ll be interesting to see her tackle a totally new genre. Also, I’ve heard this is dark, and it’s about a twisted family, and that makes me so excited.

*

Bleed Through

bleed-through

(Mar 14)

So, this guy has schizophrenia, and his meds give him the magical ability to see murders that happened in the past. I’m so excited for this, especially since I’m getting used to thrillers with a little PNR twist.

*

Hunted

hunted

(Mar 14)

I read her co-written book These Broken Stars (and Amie Kaufman, Queen of Sci-fi, was said co-writer) and loved it, so this should be 100% marvelous. Also, I see that it has fantastic reviews on Goodreads from people I trusted, so, I WANT IT!

*

Nemesis

nemesis-1-200x300

(Mar 21)

More weird sci-fi books, please.

*

Hellworld

hellworld

(Mar 21)

I’ve become a huge fan of YA horror ever since my spooky reads of October, so I’m ready to devour some more!

*

Goodbye Paradise

goodbye-paradise

(Mar 21)

This is a M/M novel dealing with cults written by Sarina Bowen. NOTHING CAN GO WRONG AND I NEED IT NOW.

*

The Cutaway

the-cutaway

(Mar 21)

First off, WHY ARE THERE 3480280 BOOKS RELEASING ON THE SAME DAYS? Second, this puts politics and psychological thrillers together. UM, THOSE ARE MY TWO FAVORITE THINGS??? (Let’s ignore the fact that they called it a perfect mash-up of Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies – we all know it’s going to be like none of those books).

*

Vigilante

vigilante

(Mar 28)

How could I have read this summary and not immediately added it to my wishlist? I haven’t read McGinnis’ The Female of the Species, but I’ve heard fantastic things about it, and this one sounds similar, so excitement!

*

Strange the Dreamer

strange-the-dreamer

(Mar 28)

I’ve been wanting this one since last year, when it was originally supposed to release, and I just want it right now! It sounds so brilliant, and I loved the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, so I’m guessing I’ll love this one as well!

img_2014

APRIL

Ragdoll

ragdoll

(Apr 4)

I heard this was a super dark thriller, and I absolutely love dark thrillers, and this one sounds so amazing! I can’t wait to get this one in my hands!

*

Given to the Sea

given-to-the-sea

(Apr 11)

I read the description and I barely understand it, but it sounds interesting? Does that even make sense?

*

The Upside of Unrequited

theupsideofunrequited

(Apr 11)

It’s Becky Albertalli. That’s literally all I need to know.

*

The Girl From Yesterday

the-girl-from-yesterday

(Apr 17)

This just sounds like an awesome thriller; please give it to me now. Also, this was again compared to Liane Moriarty, Gillian Flynn, and Jessica Knoll. I see what you’re doing, publishers.

*

Meg and Linus

meg-and-linus

(Apr 18)

Cute, gay contemporary is my weakness!

img_2014

MAY

ACOWAR

acowar cover

(May 2)

Well, duh.

*

Dreamfall

dreamfall

(May 2)

It’s a sci-fi horror that sounds like Inception. I will sell my soul for this book.

*

The Scattering

the-scattering

(May 2)

This is actually a sequel to The Outliers! I haven’t yet read that book, but I’m a huge fan of Reconstructing Amelia, so it’ll be interesting reading her YA thrillers.

*

Into the Water

into-the-water

(May 2)

OMG A NEW PAULA HAWKINS! I read The Girl on the Train earlier this year, and though I thought it was just okay (I gave it three stars, I think), I’m really excited to see if this one will live up to the hype of her first novel! The cover is gorgeous, and this one sounds so different from her previous novel, so I’m excited to get it.

*

The One Memory of Flora Banks

img_0005

(May 2)

I’ve been pining for this since I heard about it and thought it had come out way back in January (apparently, that was the U.K. release date ugh) and I read a sample in Buzz Books, and just gimme it noooow.

(Also, May 2 is now declared to be “We Are Trying to Make Mikaela Broke” Day).

*

What Alice Knew

what alice knew.jpg

(May 4)

Missing husbands and suspicious phone calls; what not to love? Also, more jealousy at the UK for already having this!

*

The Lines We Cross

the-lines-we-cross

(May 9)

This is another book that I’m pretty sure is already out in other countries under the name Where Michael Met Mina, and it’s finally coming to the US! At a time where immigration is such a hot-button topic, this sounds like such a good read, especially since we get to see two sides!

*

The Love Interest

the love interest.png

(May 16)

Yes, this is a book about making fun of YA tropes. Yes, the two guys pining for the girl in the love triangle are going to fall in love. Yes, I want this right now.

*

Lord of Shadows

lord-of-shadows

(May 23)

Obvious excitement is obvious. I mean, the cover is ugly, but I really want to know how this strange love shape is going to turn out? Also, this is 704 pages. WHY?

*

One of Us Is Lying

one-of-us-is-lying

(May 30)

No mistaking, this is definitely a thriller twist on The Breakfast Club. It sounds amazing, and I want it, of course. Give me all the 2017 YA thriller/mystery/horror! Also, I’ve never watched The Breakfast Club (#shame).

*

House of Furies

house-of-furies

(May 30)

I own Roux’s Asylum trilogy, but haven’t yet read it, but, again, YA horror. Hopefully, I’ll read it before this releases!

arrow break

And those are my most anticipated releases for the spring! Can I have them all? Can they come just a little bit earlier? Can authors just send free books to me?

file_009

Have I listed any of your most anticipated releases? Have I missed any on your list? Have I added more to your list (if so, I apologize for making you broke)?

follow me

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter

30 thoughts on “Anticipated Spring Releases 2017

    • Yes, you’ve mirrored my feelings exactly! I want to read all the books (even though it’s basically impossible). Thank you; I hope you have a great weekend as well! ❤

      Like

  1. Daaaaaang iiiiiiiiit. I HAVE LIKE FIVE THOUSAND MORE BOOKS ON MY TBR NOW. *cries* Honestly, it’ll be October before I read them all, partly because my library gets none of these releases early and I’m #broke, and partly because there are so many to read. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, same with the library thing! My library gets all the new releases a little bit late (or not at all), and it drives me crazy because there are so many other libraries in other states that have the books available to put on hold months before the release date, and it’s like “WHY???” 😂 I’m broke as well; join the club!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know right! And then since I’m broke and my library is not punctual at all, I end up reading all the new releases months later. 😄 I am probably going to “sign up” (gosh I am so bad at this vocabulary) for ARCs when I’m older, and have more time to read and review. Because free books. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, yes, ARCs are so much fun! I don’t think there’s age limits for them, but I guess you mean the Netgalley age restriction? I want to ask for a physical ARC either after March or April because my stats are so unexpectedly good, but I’m terrified. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I was thinking more like when I have more time to review them, but yeah, that would happen when I’m older. 😛 Whaaaat? What art thou talking about with “stats”? (I’m sorry, I’m clueless when it comes to this whole process. 😄 )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I meant like blog statistics! Followers, monthly page views, daily page views, monthly visitors, followers, etc. WordPress has them built in, and I look at them often. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

    • I actually haven’t read any of Jeff Zentner (did I spell that right?) books yet. Which is a shame, since I have The Serpent King and I’ve only heard fantastic things! But Goodbye Days does sound interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many amazing books being released this season, and I feel like this is going to be the season where my bank account seems to run in the red more than the black. Hunted sounds amazing, I love fairytale retellings and I’m sure this one will be amazing. Also Strange the Dreamer is number one on my anticipated reads list. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series is just amazing isn’t it? And I’m sure by the time we get our hands on Strange the Dreamer we’ll find the wait was more than worth it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, this will be the season where I try to borrow these books from the library (if they carry them). 😂 I wish I had money, but, unfortunately, I’m still broke and I still have no job. And yes, so excited for Hunted; the cover is gorgeous! 😍 And, yes; I absolutely loved DOSAB! I saw a good review for Strange the Dreamer a couple days ago, so I’m pumped for it! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well I hope that manages to work for you then, my library doesn’t always carry new books like these so I resort to buying them. Yeah my bank account hates me sometimes!
        Not long now! We’re finally in the month Strange the Dreamer is released so we’re so close! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Blogger Aesthetic Award | geniereads

  4. I’m so excited for so many of these books! Nemesis sounds so cool, so does The One Memory of Flora Banks. I’m really looking forward to One of Us is Lying too – seems like a great mystery book. And of course, Lord of Shadows and ACOWAR ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. GAHHHH So many of these are books I NEEEED. So I have read a few from your list! The Upside of Unrequited was FABULOUS. As was Strange the Dreamer, and I really liked Nemesis! Hunted wasn’t my fave, but most people seemed to love it, so I think I am in the minority there!

    I NEED Given to the Sea so, so badly. And Dreamfall! I also really want to read Roanoke Girls, Flora Banks, Hellworld, and One of Us is Lying. And I had no idea that The Love Interest makes fun of YA tropes, oh my goodness, I am SO there! Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard fantastic things about Upside, Nemesis, Strange the Dreamer, and Hunted, so I’m glad to see that you liked most of them! I really want to read a McGinnis book, and I’m hoping that ones my first! Yes, all of those books sound so good; I’m hoping to read Roanoke Girls this month! And yep; it does; I hope I can get an e-ARC of it, but I’m not sure! 😬

      Like

    • Yes, same! Even though I didn’t like Girl on the Train too much, I’m really excited to see what she’ll do next! It even has its own movie deal now! 😄

      Like

  6. Great list, Mikaela!! I’m extremely excited for Strange The Dreamer, ACOWAR, Lord of Shadows, and The Love Interest too. And until I read your post I actually didn’t know that Lord of Shadows had that many pages. I also think ACOWAR, per Goodreads, has 720. I don’t know how I’ll manage to read both of those in May. 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES, I’m so ready for all these sequels and debuts! ❤ I didn’t either, but when I had to link the GR page, I saw it, and I was floored. 😂 Clare’s books are going to take up two of my bookshelves once I get them all in hardcover (probably three counting all three of her other not-yet-published series). AND OMG. I’ll probably have to choose one to actually finish. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

