30 thoughts on “[If You Like This…You’ll Like This] Popular and Underrated Releases

  1. Woah, I had no idea that The Program was about suicide and depression! Totally adding that to the top of my TBR!

    Btw, your recs for people who like John Green are spot on – I really dig It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Before I Fall, and Falling Into Place (the last one is my fave of the 3 for sure).

    Thanks for sharing these!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is! It’s actually a very interesting future, and I thought the book handled the concept well! I have yet to read the sequels yet, but they all sound awesome.

      I still have to read It’s Kind of a Funny Story, but I loved Before I Fall and Falling into Place! They were both so good! ❤

      No problem! 😄

      Like

    1. Haven’t read Grave Mercy yet, so I can’t say if it’s good, but I wholeheartedly agree about This Is Our Story! It’s one of the better YA thrillers I’ve read. Thank you so much; I hope my recs don’t suck! 😂

      Like

  2. Omg, this is an AMAZING post!!! And The Young Elites is SO good! The Rose Society made me not like it so much (because I thought Adelina got too dark–and I like that stuff!) but The Midnight Star was JUST SO AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTWRENCHING that TYE is now a favorite series. And am I the only one who really didn’t like Cruel Beauty??? XD And OH, I read Scythe last month and have been meaning to read the rest of Neal Shusterman’s books! And aagghhh I need to read Dangerous Girls so baaaaad. I loved this post, Mikaela! Thanks for adding more books to my TBR… -_- XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, The Rose Society is actually my favorite so far; I thought it was brilliant. I still have The Midnight Star sitting on my TBR, but I want to finish out the series this year! I haven’t read Cruel Beauty yet, so I don’t know? 😂 Still sitting on my TBR; and I want to eventually read it. The Unwind dystology is so good; YOU MUST READ IT! And you must, Dangerous Girls was a fantastic thriller! And you’re welcome! 😂

      Like

  3. I love this idea for a feature Mikaela, and I’m always looking for recommendations so I’d love to see more of these from you as well! 😀
    I am a massive fan of the Throne of Glass series and while I have read the Poison Study books I haven’t picked up Grave Mercy so I may add that book to my to-read list. Also I love Six of Crows and while I own the whole of The Young Elites series I haven’t got around to picking it up yet, your post has just given me the motivation I need yo convince me to move that series up my to-read list and get started on it soon. 🙂
    Again these are some amazing books Mikaela, and I really hope you post another of these soon. I’ll be keeping an eye out for another either way! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that’s great! ❤ A lot of people seemed to like it, so I’m definitely continuing this every month; I have a lot of fun topics planned!

      I haven’t picked up either; both are on my TBR, but I’m hoping to read Poison Study soon enough! And, yes, YOU MUST READ THE YOUNG ELITES! It’s brilliant; I still need to read The Midnight Star!

      And, unfortunately, the next one isn’t until next month, but I’m super excited for it since it’s recommending books based off popular TV shows! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great to hear, I’ll be sure to keep an eye on your blog for the next post in this feature, and then the next and the next! 😀 The Poison Study series is an all-time favourite of mine so I really hope you enjoy it. And hopefully I’ll be able to get around to The Young Elites very soon as well! 😀
        Ohh, I’m even more intrigued now. There are a fair few TV shows I love so I’m looking forwards to book recommendations I can pick up. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Mikaela! 😀 I’ve read and loved both Six of Crows and The Young Elites, Cinder and The Starbound Trilogy, The Mortal Instrument and Unearthly and Angelfall. I think Unearthly and Angelfall are the books that restored my faith in angel/paranormal fantasy after the disaster that is Hush Hush and Fallen (I hope you don’t like them if you do then no offense hahaha 😂). Also I have to read Grave Mercy and Poison’s Study, heard a lot of great things about them ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, same. And, no, I decided to not read either of those series because of Goodreads reviews, so no offense taken. 😂 Unearthly and Angelfall are still probably my favorite books about angels; I don’t think there’s too many good ones. And, yes, same, so I obviously should read them soon! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank God, don’t even bother hahaha I really want to unhaul my copy of those books though 😂 exactly, most angel books fall into the same trap, I guess. Bad guy who is secretly fallen angel, innocent girl, forbidden love, etc etc hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Omg I am just thinking about how long this post would have taken you to write XD But great post and great list! I have read the Starbound books, but I hated the first one, though I gave the next two 4 stars. AND POISON STUDY IS SO AMAZING READ ITTTT. (this series has a lot of books…. so umm…. prepare to be overwhelmed XD) And I haven’t read a Marie Lu book. Whoooops. Those dystopians sound so cool, specially Unwind. Sounds really bloody. I am in. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did take me long to write; these take about an hour to do, and I can’t even. 😂 Thank you so much! I’ve only read the first one, but I actually adored it! Poison Study has so many books and spin-offs; I need to read it soon. Marie Lu is fantastic; you’ll love her! Unwind, unfortunately, isn’t bloody, but it’s definitely creepy.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And, yeah, definitely! I mean, I’ve already typed up two others, and all three took a good hour of my time to do, but it’s worth it because I really like recommending things. 😂

      HOW HAVE YOU NOT READ SIX OF CROWS WHAT??? Get on that immediately. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ohhh I’ve read SO MANY OF THESE!! I feel really proud of me. 😂 And I think it’s awesome when underrated series get the attention they deserve!! I looove the Demon King series but like no one seems to have read it!?? It’s such a shame. IT’S EXCELLENT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the exact same way! I actually really need to continue on with that one! I intended on binging the series, but I only got through the first book, unfortunately. 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s