[DNF ARC REVIEW] Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

blood rose rebellion

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Series: Blood Rose Rebellion #1

Rating: None

Release Date: March 28, 2017

Description:

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

My Thoughts: 

“I did not set out to ruin my sister’s debut.”

DNF AT 16%

 Oh, boy. This totally sucks. I saw this up on Netgalley and immediately requested it when I first signed up for the site. The cover is stunning, and the summary was just so intriguing that I couldn’t help it. I was so surprised to be approved for this one since it seemed like literally everyone was clamoring for an ARC of this, and I didn’t consider myself too popular in the book blogging world at the time.

 Unfortunately, this one just really let me down, and after trying to read this for so long, I ended up just giving up on this one for numerous reasons.

 1. This is a historical fantasy. I love fantasy, okay? Fantasy is one of my favorite genres, even though I haven’t really read it too much this year (and I must solve that problem). But, this is historical fantasy. I really don’t like historical fiction, personally, so seeing this was basically just court politics that took place in Hungary around the 1800s except with magic made me extremely disappointed. And I’m not a fan of court politics either, so that didn’t really help things.

 2. I didn’t care about any of the characters. So we have the main character, who was easily forgettable and boring that I didn’t even remember her name until I read the summary of this book again (her name’s Anna, apparently). We also have Catherine, who is stereotypically the mean older sister who’s catty towards our main character. And that’s as far as I got to. I mean, there are some other adults who only seem to exist to dump exposition and leave, and we also get to meet Freddy, who’s her temporary suitor in the beginning of the book, and, again, bland and lifeless and boring and sort of an asshole, and I just didn’t care.

 3. It was incredibly slow-moving. I just couldn’t handle how bored and uninterested I was throughout the entire thing, even from the beginning. It’s never a good sign when a book can’t capture you from the first pages. I know I’ve said this already, but it’s just so disappointing, because I was so hyped for this book, but I just couldn’t get into it. I tried so hard to get into this one, multiple times, but there was nothing in the chapters that kept me going, and I didn’t feel like suffering.

(Also, this book is nothing like Red Queen. So, there’s that.)

 All in all, after seeing so many other people not finishing this book as well at a later point than I could ever attempt to reach and seeing several others who actually finished the book and still didn’t like it, I decided to just go ahead and join them. I really don’t recommend this one, but, again, I’m never one to dissuade someone from reading a book they’re excited in, so feel free to check it out if it really interests you!

arrow break

A huge thanks to Random House Children’s for giving me an ARC of this book via Netgalley! I’m so sorry I couldn’t finish it, but it means a lot to me that I received it for free.

let's chat

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Feel free to talk to me in the comments!

follow me

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter

9 thoughts on “[DNF ARC REVIEW] Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

  1. Oh I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy this one Mikaela. I think I added Blood Rose Rebellion to my to-read list a little while ago but I dunno, some when between adding it and now I’ve lost a little too much interest in it. The blurb just doesn’t seem to grab my attention anymore, and your review hasn’t inspired me to pick it up anyways.
    I normally love historical fantasy and don’t always mind slow plots but if the characters aren’t interesting then there wouldn’t be anything to grab my attention for more than a few chapters either.
    Still great review, I’m just sorry to see this one ended up being a DNF book for you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I feel you on losing interest! When I had my Goodreads account, I remember I would sometimes go to clean out my “to read” list, and I’d just look at a book and was like, “Why did I even add it to my TBR?” 😂 Yeah, same, I don’t mind slow books, but I just couldn’t get into this one! Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I should probably do that on my TBR list. I know there are books on there that I’ve had there for ages and now just have no desire to pick up.
        Guess there are just some books that don’t have that special something needed to keep you interested.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • They really aren’t! I never count them towards my overall “Read” goal, so I always see it as a book left not read. 😂

      Aw, thank you! I actually still have the award drafted – I think your the fifth person that’s nominated me, so thank you! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YES, YES, YES. I completely agree with you 110%. The book was entertaining, but it wasn’t really original or unique – especially when compared to all the other YA fantasies out there. Sorry it was a bit meh for you as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I feel like that’s sort of becoming a problem with YA fantasy these days; it’s starting to just be every other YA fantasy published in the last couple of years, and it gets tired really easily. Thank you so much, Zoe! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

