[1] Book Playlist • The Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman

file_001-14

Oh, look, I’ve created another new feature on my blog! Honestly, who’s surprised at this point? Sit down, because you’re going to get a little story. 

Way back in January, I felt a bit meh about the content I was posting. Most of it was just tags that I had seen on Amino, but I realized that they quickly got boring and repetitive and weren’t too creative. So I brainstormed a lot of new ideas, and decided I’d create some new features, and this was one of my favorites.

Last year, on Books Amino, there was this sort of prompt to think of five songs for a book. Because I was recovering from ACOMAF and I had written a long review on Goodreads including a playlist for each individual part of the book (don’t worry, I’ll be releasing that in May for the release of ACOWAR), that’s what I typed up. It got a lot of attention, and I realized how much fun I had doing it, so I thought, “Wouldn’t it be cool to just go ahead and make playlists for some of my favorite books/series?” And, not only that, but you sort of get to learn more about me through my music taste! Hence, this brand new feature.

If you guys are new here, the Unwind Dystology is one of my favorite series of all time, and I urge everyone to read it. It’s such a brilliant dystopian series. So, I decided it’d be fitting to make my first playlist surrounding this series. I hope you love it (and if you ever read the books and decided to listen to it, enjoy the sounds)!

Unwind Description

unwinddystology-1

img_2014

Civil Twilight – Letters from the Sky

civil_twilight_album

Thirty Seconds to Mars – This is War

30stm_-_this_is_war

Bridgit Mendler – Love Will Tell Us Where to Go

bridgit_mendler_-_hello_my_name_is

David Guetta ft. Skylar Grey – Rise

dg_listen

Ellie Goulding – Paradise

ellie-goulding-delirium-album-cover

Flume – Helix

flume_-_skin

Halsey – New Americana

halsey_-_badlands

Tove Lo – Scars

tove_lo_scars_cover

Katy Perry – Rise

katy_perry_-_rise_official_single_cover

Lindsey Stirling – The Arena

lindsey-stirling-brave-enough-2016-2480x2480

Lorde – Team

lorde_pure_heroine

OneRepublic – Human

onerepublic_-_oh_my_my

Ruelle – Game of Survival

ruelle

Sohn – Bloodflows

sohn

X Ambassadors – Renegades

x_ambassadors_-_renegades_cover_art

Ellie Goulding – Beating Heart

ellie-goulding-beating-heart

Martin Garrix ft. Bebe Rexha – In the Name of Love

in-the-name-of-love

Lukas Graham – Take the World by Storm

lukas-graham

Ed Sheeran – I See Fire

i-see-fire

Major Lazer – Lean On

lean-on

img_2014

And that’s it for my first ever book playlist! I’m hoping to make this a thing every two months so the same songs/artists won’t be on here all the time. I listen to a lot of new music in that period of time. If anyone wants me to create a playlist on Spotify for this, feel free to ask me! I’ll do it and share my username so all of you can follow and listen to it!

file_009

Are any of these songs your favorites? If you’ve read the Unwind Dystology, do they give you the vibe?

follow me

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter

21 thoughts on “[1] Book Playlist • The Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman

  1. This.Is.So.Awesome!! I think playlists + books are so fun to find whether its from the author or a fan! And Unwind is awesome (but scary!)..I recently had to submit a final essay in order to graduate from my lit program and I did it on Unwind 😀 its such a great book and it has so much to research/explore. Love this idea, can’t wait to see your next picks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks so much, Melissa! This was so fun to put together! And, yes, it is terrifying! Ah, that’d be amazing to do an essay on Unwind! There are so many things I could explore and talk about in just the first book, not including the sequels, which are brilliant as well! And thank you; I’ve already done my ACOMAF Playlist, which was fun as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SO MANY SONGS!! 😍 I love this feature. I’m actually kind of surprised I recognize a lot of these songs? I love music but most of the time I’m not familiar with a lot of people’s choices for their playlist haha. But great picks!! These are such great songs. I haven’t read this series but I’ve heard really good things about it and want to pick it up, especially with these songs being your picks for the series’ playlist! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah for knowing music! 😂 The only reason I keep knowing music trends is because I’m on Spotify and they have those Most Listened playlists! And yes, you must pick it up soon; it’s so good! I hope you love it! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this idea for new feature Mikaela. I love music and reading so you’re kind of combining my two favourite things in one post. 😀
    I will admit I haven’t listened to many of these songs, though I love Ruelle, Ed Sheehan, One Republic, Lorde and Halsey so I should definitely check out the other tracks you featured. Also I should definitely pick up the Unwind series as well. It sounds really interesting, and given I love some of the songs you picked and are interested in the others it makes sense to read the books as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! ❤ I’m really excited for this feature as well, though I haven’t planned too many. 😅

      I love Ruelle, OneRepublic, Lorde, and Halsey as well! ❤ Especially Ruelle; she’s so underrated. 😍 I actually don’t like Ed Sheehan too much; only a couple of his songs, which makes me feel like I’m missing out because EVERYONE loves his music. 🙈

      You must pick up this series; it’s one of my faves! ❤ It’s so brilliant; I can’t talk enough praise about how wonderful this series is!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, and here’s hoping you find the time to plan more. I guess that can be the hardest thing about planning a new feature can’t it?
        She’s definitely underrated which is a shame because her songs are so amazing. And oh that’s a shame I guess, but I mean I didn’t really become a massive fan of his songs until recently myself.
        I’ll add it to my to-read list then! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • You must read the sequels; I thought they were just as fantastic as the first book! The entire series is just so good! ❤ Thank you so much; I’m glad you don’t think my music taste is awful! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll have to get back to them. I read the first one… 4 years ago? So I should probably read that first, then get back to it.
        Definitely not awful! I listen to a lot of similar stuff actually. So if it does end up being awful, at least neither of us are alone in loving it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, same! I read the first back in middle school, and then when I finally got the entire series in hardcover (which is stunning), I decided to re-read it again so I could finally finish out the series. It was definitely worth it!

        Yeah! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

