The Ultimate Book Tag

file_004-3

Yes, Mikaela is doing another tag (because what I like to do is participate in tags that I was never nominated for)! Even though I’m trying to do more original content on my blog, I do like taking a break and answering some already-made questions instead of creating something from scratch. And I thought it’d be fun to do the Ultimate Book Tag today!

I know I usually don’t book review today, but that didn’t happen, so here we are! 

This tag was apparently created by Megan, so a big thanks to her for creating this tag!

img_2014

Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Nope. I’ve never gotten sick while riding in a car ever. However, I do get pounding headaches. I read a large majority of Throne of Glass stuck in traffic on a highway for, like an hour. #nostalgia

Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

It’s a three-way tie between Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Laini Taylor. All three of these ladies have gorgeous, magical writing, and they also write super weird characters and super weird books in the fantasy genre. I highly recommend all their books.

Harry Potter or Twilight?

harry_potter_and_the_sorcerers_stone

Harry Potter for me! I actually read Twilight when I was 12, and I thought it was okay (I read that baby in two days!), but got to New Moon, and DNF-ed halfway through because I was bored out of my mind. I’ve actually finished the Harry Potter series, and it’s one of my all-time favorite series, so, it was an obvious choice.

Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it?

Nope. Two-thirds of my books are now stored on my phone, and I don’t carry THAT many books around that I just can’t hold it in my hand.

Do you smell your books?

eleanor-and-park

Duh. By the way, Eleanor and Park is the best-smelling book. Fight me.

Books with or without little illustrations?

soc-duology

Definitely with! I loved the little illustrations for the different POVs in the Six of Crows duology, and same with the Harry Potter series. I have a theory that all books would be ten times better with tiny illustrations.

What book did you love while reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing?

51ibodkbpcl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I’m going with Under the Never Sky, just for the fact that I read this in middle school and enjoyed it, but reread it last year because I finally had the full series and I’d totally forgotten everything that had happened in the first book, and I hated it.

Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood?

mallory

I used to read this book series called the Mallory series (which, by the way, is still being written to this very day), and the main character’s full name was Mallory Louise McDonald. My full name shares the same initials, so I was so happy to have a character whose initials matched up with mine!

What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

the-hunger-pains

Probably The Hunger Pains, which is an obvious parody of The Hunger Games by The Harvard Lampoon. Yes, it’s stupid, but it’s hilarious and short.

What is the thickest book on your shelf?

harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix-cover-image

Uh, probably Order of the Phoenix?

Do you write as well as read? Do you yourself in the future as an author?

I used to be a huge writer, and one of my aspirations was to be an author, but I’ve sort of fallen out of love with writing, so no, not really. I used to be lowkey famous on Wattpad, though, but I quit it, as predicted.

When did you get into reading?

I really don’t know. Probably when I was super young? Does anyone truly remember?

What is your favorite classic book?

the-giver

The Giver by Lois Lowry. It’s still the only book I’ve had to read for school that I fell in love with, and I still consider it one of my favorites to this day.

In school, is your best subject English?

Uh, I guess so? I do well in a large majority of my subjects, except math, which I’m just straight-up garbage in. Thankfully, none of the jobs I want to do involve that, so I’m all good.

If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

This scenario would never happen because I ask for gift cards not books, and for this exact reason. I’m more nervous that someone will get the wrong book or won’t remember it or won’t get it in the right format, so I do it for myself.

What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

Funnily enough, I just wrote up an entire post about this, which you can check out right here!

What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

Um, I don’t really know. I honestly don’t think I have any bad blogging habits, unless you count working over an hour and a half on one single post to the point where your legs get cramped and your eyes start to glaze over or being two months ahead of time on your posts as “bad habits.”

What is your favorite word?

Well-thumbed.

wink

(God, I love Arrested Development.)

Nerd, dork, or dweeb? All of the above?

Nerd, I guess? I’m more of a geek, and that’s not included!

Vampires or Faeries?

acotarseries

Fae, for sure. I am 100% obsessed with fae because of Cassie Clare and Sarah J. Maas, and I will forever love them for it. Unfortunately, there’s not enough books about fae out there, even though they’re sneaky, sexy, conniving, complicated creatures. Vampires are just boring.

Shapeshifters or Angels?

daughter-of-smoke-and-bone

Angels! Again, I’m totally obsessed with angels again because of Cassie Clare, but also because of the Unearthly, Angelfall, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. For some reason, my favorite PNR creatures have the least amount of series. #sad

Spirits or Werewolves?

brave

Spirits, I guess, just because I don’t like werewolves, even though I don’t know what those are? Do will-o-wisps or whatever you call them in Brave count?

Zombies or Vampires?

walkingdead1

Zombies, definitely! I love The Walking Dead show and comics, and I also loved the I Am Legend movie (still haven’t read the book yet). So many people are tired of zombies nowadays, but I can’t get enough!

Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden love! Pretty much a majority of my ships are involved in sort of forbidden love, even if they’re caught up in some sort of love triangle.

Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

you-know-me

img_2014

And that’s it for the Ultimate Book Tag! Even though I’m not huge on doing too many book tags these days, I don’t mind doing one every once in a while, and I thought this one was fun.

file_009

If any of you guys want to do this tag, feel free to try it out! If you do, feel free to link to your post in the comments so I can read through some of them if I can find time!

follow me

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter

18 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Lovely answers! I laughed at the Eleanor & Park, but my physical copy does smell especially good… hahaha.
    Also, I should read Six of Crows at some point….. Maybe. Oops. I might be a little late haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers for this tag Mikaela, and as I much as I love seeing your original content I loved reading your answers for this tag as well.
    I love illustrations in books as well, not whole page ones but more subtle ones like in the Six of Crows series. Basically anything that makes a book stand out more than the simple words-on-a-page format is something I’ll love. Also Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab and Laini Taylor are three of my favourite authors as well. No matter what they release I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of their writing or their books! 😀
    Again great answers for this tag! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you, I’m so glad you did, Beth! I thought I might as well post this one because I’ve had it completed for SO LONG, I was like, might as well post it! 😂

      Yes, I love those little images! The ones in Harry Potter always entertained me, and I’d love to see them around more! Yes, I honestly wish two of those authors would pair up and write a book together. It’d be weird and wonderful and have the best writing ever. 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, I normally do the same with my tags. They’re in my draft folder for so long before I actually get around to posting them but oh well, at least they’re written.
        Oh god a book written by two of those authors would be amazing. No matter what it was or what it was about it would go right to the top of my to-read list! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahah this was so great!! I adore Maggie Stiefvater, V.E Schwab and Laini Taylor so so much. Their writing style is so beautiful and so unique ahhh I will probably always love whatever they write honestly. 😍 And yassss Harry Potter! Twilight was a fun read back when I was younger but I would choose HP over Twilight infinitely times over haha without thinking twice. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same, though; their writing is just absolute magic! ❤️ And they always come up with the most creative ideas for books! And, yeah, Twilight was a fun read, but definitely doesn’t compare to how awesome it was reading HP for the first time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

