[DISCUSSION & ANNOUNCEMENT] Is the Book Blogging Community Too Clique-y? (Introducing My Blog Project)

File_001 (15).png

Woohoo, it’s that time of the month again where we talk about a blogging and/or bookish things! Okay, it’s more like, I talk for 1000 words, you guys read it, and then we talk in the comments section, but, you know, same difference.

Anyway, I talked about something that I can’t decide if it’s controversial or not, but I wanted to talk about it anyway: how, sometimes, book bloggers can be clique-y, which definitely isn’t a good thing or a bad thing, but just a simple observation.

(Also, I’m going to be announcing a project at the end of this that I’m hoping you guys will participate in so please, stay tuned!)

File_002 (18).jpeg

This post was mostly inspired by Karen @ Kissin’ Blue Karen’s discussion where she talked about how she visited 365 different book blogs in the course of a year (which is a crazy accomplishment).

One point she made was that book bloggers seem to run in the same circles, which wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, and I agree. Most of the so-called “cliques” I wormed my way into, are really nice people that I would consider my friends and people I always trust. 

File_004 (8)

I will say, I’ve been around the internet in two different websites: Wattpad and Goodreads. Both of them had cliques that I wanted to be a part of (now, looking back on it, I cringe).

For Wattpad, I tried as hard as I could to cater my stories to their “type,” because I knew that if the leader of the clique liked it, commented on it, and added it to her reading list, it’d blow up. For Goodreads, I tried so hard to friend all the most popular users and comment on all their reviews, but that proved to be ten times harder than trying to fit in on Wattpad. Basically, I tried as hard as I could to belong.

Blogging was different. I wouldn’t say that the cliques on Goodreads and Wattpad were cold-hearted or anything – it’s just hard for anybody to open up their tight-knit group of friends to somebody else, whether on the Internet or in real life, even if you really want to do so, or you don’t even mean to do it in the first place. But there was just something about the book blogging community that was so welcoming. I remember being shocked when popular book bloggers, ones who’d been around for forever, decided to follow me. Sure, there are some who haven’t even interacted with me since doing so (that sounds like I’m bitter or something, but I’m not, I swear, because I have so many awesome people that enjoy my posts), but some of them went on to like and comment on a large majority of my posts, and now some of those people I admired from afar, are people who I’d call blogging buddies.

File_004 (9).jpeg

Back when I was a newbie blogger in late December of last year, when I had literally just started out, I remember following all these popular blogs, and often browsing through usernames in the comments section.

Most of the time, blog-hopping around from those usernames, I noticed a lot of the same people commented on a lot of the same people’s posts. I’d go to one person’s comment section, and then another person’s comment section, and it only took me a little while before I realized I saw the same people commenting on the same people’s blogs within the same circle – and most of the bloggers just happened to be popular.

ive_seen_this_one

And it wasn’t even just that. When I searched on some of the more popular blogs I admired for what their favorite blogs were or some of the blogs that inspired them, I remembered not being surprised by many of the favorites. Usually, a large majority of the time, I’d already heard of the blog or was already following the blog, and 99% of the time those people were part of their “clique,” as in I’d see them in most of their comments sections. Even if those blogs weren’t on their comment sections, most of the time, those blogs were already popular, established book blogs that had a lot of followers and had been around since the dawn of time (just kidding, I’m exaggerating), not anyone who was new, or had just started out. Even in monthly wrap-up posts, where some bloggers link back to some interesting posts/discussions they’ve found, those bloggers were already popular ones that had a lot of attention on those posts, and, often, I’d hop from one monthly wrap-up to another to see that two bloggers had already mentioned the same post.

blowing-kiss

So, as a newbie, it was pretty daunting. I remember thinking, “How in the world is anyway going to even find/read my blog when there are so many people that are constantly advertised everywhere?” Obviously, it was silly. I ended up commenting on some of those blogs I found inspiring. And, for some reason, some of them were kind enough to check out my posts and comment back and even follow me (it’s been almost four months, and I’m still not over it). Some of them tagged me in tags and awards, and it surprised me so much because it meant that they had noticed me. That even if these bloggers got 394480 comments a day (estimated number), apparently, I stood out. 

File_006 (4)

So, really, is the book blogging community a bit too clique-y? I’d say yes.

There are definitely times where I feel like we’re so caught up in the people we usually interact with and mention, that we fail to ever get the chance to discover new book bloggers that aren’t even doing anything wrong, they just aren’t part of the “group,” so to speak. But, is the fact that we’re sometimes a bit clique-y bad? Definitely not. As a newbie, you will definitely feel a bit intimidated, because why would any of the “big” bloggers follow you or pay attention to you? But that’s false. Immediately get out of that mindset if you’re a newbie yourself. Most of the “big” bloggers are the sweetest people you’ll ever meet. We all love books in the end!

File_009 (2)

Would I say that I have some sort of solution as to how we can branch out? Well, that’s where I introduce my blog project.

I’ve noticed that among my followers I have a mix – some book bloggers I’d consider “big,” and some that are just starting out, or I’d consider smaller book blogs. So I’d thought this would be a good idea to bring the two of you together – introducing Project Big Blogger, Little Blogger.

Basically, much like being a Big Brother, I thought it’d be nice to pair up a bigger book blogger with a smaller book blogger. For the purpose of this project, I’m considering a smaller book blogger one that has less than 100 followers, while a bigger book blogger will have more than 100 followers. The bigger book blogger will support the smaller book blogger in any way they choose for a month. Some suggestions might be liking their posts and leaving comments, sharing their posts on social media, giving them a follow – whether on their blog or on a different form of social media, linking back to their posts in weekly/monthly wrap-ups, etc. I’m sure you guys are much more creative than I am.

Once the month is over, the bigger book blogger will dedicate a whole blog post to their Little Blogger, much like a guest post. You could have them on as a blogger interview or do some sort of blogger spotlight or let them guest post about a certain topic, etc. so other bloggers who follow you can have a chance to learn about this Little Blogger.

Once every Big Blogger participating has done their blog post, I’ll compile them all in a masterpost of some sort and post so then there’ll be even more promotion for said bloggers. Hopefully, this will push all of us to find new bloggers and promote these newbies. I know when I was a small blog, it was the help of some of my blogging buddies and those bigger than me that really propelled me forward, and I want others to have that opportunity.

If you want to sign up for this, the Google form is right here. The form is open to both Big Bloggers and Little Bloggers to sign up for. Feel free to share this post on social media or repost this post on your own blogs or promote it in any way you can because I really don’t know how big my reach is. I’ll be leaving the sign-ups open for all this week and will close them on Sunday night, which is May 7. Throughout the week, I’ll be pairing people up and sending e-mails to you guys so you know who you’re partnered up with. On May 14, the project will begin, and will go on until June 11. After that, I’m giving all the participants the rest of June to create a post dedicated to their Little Blogger, and in July, I’ll hopefully have the Masterpost up on the blog!

Hopefully, this won’t flop terrifically, but I’m really excited for this project, and I hope you guys are too! If you have any more questions, feel free to leave them in a comment down below!

(Also, the reason I ask for a piece of advice you’d give a new blog is because of a blog post I’m doing, if you were wondering.)

Let's Chat

Do you think the book blogging community is clique-y? To the established bloggers, how do you find newer, smaller blogs (like mine all those months ago lol). To newer/smaller bloggers, do you feel like you matter in the community? Will you join in on the project (hopefully, you will)?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

95 thoughts on “[DISCUSSION & ANNOUNCEMENT] Is the Book Blogging Community Too Clique-y? (Introducing My Blog Project)

  1. Aw your project is such a lovely idea! If I was a book blogger I’d LOVE to participate, I just write the odd book review once and a while! But I did go through the same process you did when you started out blogging, I stalked the comments section and likes section of popular bloggers and commented on posts like crazy, despite all that it wasn’t hard to fit in! That’s what I love about blogging, everyone’s so welcoming and it’s so easy to just fit right in…and your project is going to make is much more easier for new book bloggers! There’s no way I would have been able to think of such a nice idea😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post Mikaela.I get what you mean about cliques though I’ve never thought of them like that I guess.Sometimes we end up interacting with only bloggers who like the same kind of books like we do.Also,in my case,I used to follow and comment on so many blogs when I started out that I got exhausted esp when I realized that only a few of those blogs visited back.It sort of felt like unrequited love lol.So I guess in a way,I decided to change that and avoid the frustration hence ended up interacting with only a small group of bloggers.I do get how that may seem to a new blogger especially, though I still think that giving love only to those who give it back is one way of staying sane here.Doesn’t matter if its new or old bloggers.That said,I love the idea of your project and I hope it works out great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I just realized I refer more to YA in this post, because I think you’re more in the mystery blogger group! Since I’m part of both, there’s definitely differences – I feel like because mystery is such a niche, it’s very easy to belong in the community while with YA, it’s such a giant community, it’s hard to keep up with everyone! And thank you so much! ❤

      Like

  3. I have noticed that some groups on Goodreads are very cliquey (I’ve never had a single response to a post in one particular “public” group) but my experience of bloggers has been very positive. I have found there are blogging besties (that’s to be expected) but all seem welcoming to newcomers. I am a little guilty of commenting and visiting the same blogs but I’ll generally follow anyone who follows me and if they visit and comment on a post I’m happy to visit them back. I think it’s a brilliant community.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh, yeah, Goodreads was definitely cliquey! I never joined any groups, but just by being friends with people, I’d probably see the same people over and over again, which gets old! Yes, I like to think I have blogging besties as well, but I totally suck at branching out. 😂 I really want to get better at it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can definitely see how it can be cliquey. I’m definitely guilty of commenting on the same blogs all the time, they’re only the ones that I follow though. I also think your project is an amazing thing and I hope you have a lot of success with it! As for advice for new bloggers, don’t follow every blog that follows you, and only follow blogs that you want to read every day. Following every blog that follows you will get overwhelming. I’m definitely going to sign up for the project, I’ve been blogging for six years so I feel like my experiences can be really helpful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, same; I’m totally guilty of just commenting on the same blogs over and over and branching out every once in a while and the cycle starts all over again! Thanks so much for the advice! And, wow, six years??? I can’t imagine blogging for that long, but I hope I do! 😄

      Like

  5. I can completely see how it can be cliquey. I felt the same way when I first started book blogging, I just didn’t understand how my blog would ever get noticed with all the amazing book bloggers already out there! The blogging community has been so beyond welcoming though!

    Your project sounds amazing! I’m going to sign up right now! Great idea ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, same! I’m still in shock that I have so many people following me that enjoy my content or how it even started, but I’m so glad it did! ❤ And it’s true, the book blogging community is SO WELCOMING and kind.

      Thank you so much for signing up! ❤

      Like

  6. I agree it can be a bit cliquey. I like to think I make the effort to find new blogs to follow and interact with, but I’m definitely sure there are some blogs out there that I’m always there with likes and comments! I like your big blogger little blogger idea! I’ve just signed up as a “big blogger”, which feels all kinds of wrong because I feel like a small blogger even though I guess I’m not!
    Anyway, yes, this is a terrific idea and I will share on my Twitter right now!! 😋😘

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, I like to feel the same way, and then I notice that I’m sometimes just commenting on the same blogs over and over again, even if I don’t mean to! Haha, it was so hard to actually think up the dividing lines of a small blogger or big blogger, because I know there are blogs that have a huge amount of followers, but only get about 2 likes per post, but it feels so invasive if I ask for people’s stats???? And I didn’t even know where I’d draw the line. So followers it was. 😂 Thank you so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Completely agree with you! And that’s fair enough, I think followers is a good shout though, for now at least. If you find its not working out as well as you had hoped originally, then maybe then you could look into stats?

        Liked by 1 person

  7. GOSH- Was this the best post ever or what?

    I totally get what you mean by cliquey. But I’ve kind of got over that now. I only used to be proud of shouting out BIG AND FAMOUS bloggers and only commenting on their post and being or snobby and stubborn like that. Now, I’m not afraid to love the blogs I do and I’ve become much more relaxed with who I follow. I try not to care about status but more about content. In fact, on Twitter, I started my own ‘#justdiscovered’ series where every day, I mentioned a new blog I had found that day – big or small and it was wonderful. Now I reply to tweets of everyone and I think it’s great obstacle to overcome.

    There ARE a lot of blogging cliques and it’s hard to see other people (used to be me) trying to squeeze their way in and simply being ignored. We just need to give bloggers chances and be more welcoming? Like hello, break THE BARRIERS.

    Your blog project SOUNDS LIKE THE PERFECT SOLUTION – though, I hate to say it, some people might think they’re too popular to participate. HOPEFULLY NOT THOUGH, because I’ve signed up and AM SO EXCITED GOSH GAH CAN I JUST SCREAM FOREVER. I love things like this. Apparently, with 800 followers , I’m a big blogger *feels special*

    Liked by 1 person

    • NO IT’S NOT BUT THANK YOU! 🤗

      Yes, I remember feeling that way when I was smaller, which was so weird, because I WAS SMALL. But, yes, I’ve definitely relaxed, at least, regarding my terms??? I’m still picky with who I follow, but I do that on any social media because I just don’t like crowded feeds (it’s so weird).

      And, ooh, that sounds totally awesome; I love that idea! And yes, definitely! Breaking the barriers is wonderful! AND YEAH I AM SO EXCITED AS WELL! I thought this project would flop, and I’m so glad that it’s way more successful than I thought it’d be! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I REALLY WANT TO HUG YOU BUT IDK IF YOU’RE A HUG PERSON SO PLEASE ACCEPT THIS FLAIL.

    On a serious note though: thank you for this post and for starting this project. You said a lot of things I’ve been thinking. I have so much self-doubt about blogging. I’ve always been an awkward person and I’m extremely isolated in my life right now. Blogging is a big part of my social interaction, but like you pointed out, if you’re not part of the “clique” it feels like you’ll never be part of it. And literally all I want is to be Part of Something Special (yes, that was a sneaky Glee quote). I love and admire you guys so much but most of the time I’m too shy to even say anything.

    Anyway, long story short, thank you. This post made me feel a lot less alone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • (Accidentally posted without replying to the comment because I was distracted LOL)

      YES I ACCEPT HUGS I LOVE HUGS! 🤗

      AW, CHRISTINE THIS IS SO SWEET OH MY GOD. I feel you; I’m so awkward in real life, and I HATE IT! I want to be extroverted and funny, but I’m just…not. And, yes, same, I always feel like me when I’m blogging! IRL, I always just feel so “other” because I’m different than my friends and family, so it’s nice to have blogging friends who get me! I actually have never watched Glee, so thank you for telling me it’s a reference! 😂

      And, aw, I’m so glad it did. Your words mean so much to me! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. YOUR BLOGGER PROJECT IS SO SO COOL OMG!!!! I’m very excited for it to start and get to know a new blogger 😊
    As far as cliquey-ness goes, I would TOTALLY agree that it’s cliquey. I first started talking to Mahriya in the blogosphere so I followed a lot of the same blogs that she does, with some variations. (She’s how I found this post because I’ve never read your blog before) I think the first big blogger you follow will kind of set the pace for all the others since you do use their comment thread a lot. I wouldn’t consider myself part of just one clique because i also follow tons of random people and comment everywhere lol.
    There are DEFINETLY groups though. I’m running the book blogger awards (today is the last day to nominate) and I noticed a lot of the same people being nominated. Then, someone from another group found the awards and their group is nominating themselves. I have over 90 book bloggers on the list, and I could identify probably 3 big groups overall.
    Not sure if that’s interesting or what that means for the community though. I agree that it kind of sucks as a new blogger, but as an established blogger with a clique it’s nice to have a friend group as opposed to a bunch of random friends everywhere.
    And that was a really long comment so so sorry but I loved this post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, thank you so much! 😄

      I’m so glad you found me through her! And, yes, I agree! I actually followed the mystery bloggers I followed on Insta when I first joined, and after that I dove into YA, and most of those were through comment sections! I totally feel that; since I follow blogs who review adult books and YA, it’s so weird how those two barely ever cross paths. I’ve never seen my mystery bloggers on many YA blogs and vice versa!

      Ooh, I’ve seen those around! And I definitely did too! I was stalking through the comments sections of the post and checking out the nominations pages, and I recognized a lot of the same names as well!

      Yeah, I agree! I have blogging friends who comment and like my posts and I comment and like on theirs and it’s nice to have a support system, I guess?

      And no problem, I love long comments! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. OMGOMGOMG THIS IS SO COOL, MIKAELA!!! 🎉🎉😍😍 You are so awesome to do this. I will definitely sign up! Like I said, I’m not a COMPLETE book blogger, but I have a lot of bookish elements, so I hope that counts!

    Haha, yes! Book blogging can be clique-ish. I do think we have less cliques though. I mean, we’re all friends here and support each other. Some people we’re just closer to than others. 🙂

    Again, super excited for this, Mikaela dear!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And, no, my loose definition is that you blog about books, and that’s basically it! I don’t believe there’s a limit to what’s a book blog as long as books are in there somewhere! 😂

      We definitely do! I feel like all the groups intersect eventually! What I’m getting here is that I stalk comment sections way more than other people, so I notice all these interactions. I’m probably the only one who does this and can tell who is friends with who. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I LOVE THIS!!!!! This sort of thing is so important and it is something I try not to fall into. Their are so many groups of people that already have those people they always contact and sometimes you really do need to break the mold. I’m definitely all for being a part of your project! I love what you have created with this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Tiana! ❤ Yes, it’s so nice to break the mold; I always love following newbies I found just because I know that push is really all they need! 😄 And thank you so much for your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. This is a great idea Mikaela, and I’m definitely going to sign up. I wish there had been something like this when I was just starting out as a book blogger. 🙂 ❤
    I do agree sometimes book bloggers can be a bit clique-y, although the word clique kind of reminds me of Meal Girls and the whole high school era/better than you/not open types of groups you know, and I don't see blogging like that. I like to think even though I'm technically part of a clique (I guess we all are right) I'm still open towards other bloggers.
    Still yeah it can be hard to reach out when you first start blogging. I'm still not sure how I did it but I guess like you I was lucky enough that some of the people I commented on and followed ending up giving my blog a chance back at the beginning. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I agree; I would’ve loved this when I was starting out! 😄

      I consider cliques to be just a group of people, but I guess it depends on everyone’s definition! Mine is more neutral; I don’t think cliques are overtly negative, just a general group of friends! And, yes, same! I want to think I’m open towards newbie bloggers because I meet some through Books Amino, and I love supporting them!

      Haha, same; I honestly don’t know how I even got people to read my blog! 😂 I’m going to owe it to luck, mainly, because even though, back then, I thought my monthly stats were terrible, they actually were pretty amazing for my first month, now that I look back on it! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well in that case you know there are going to be plenty of newbie bloggers who love this feature.
        That’s possibly the definition for cliques, I just seem to associate with the negative side of groups you know. But either way however you define it I do agree with what you wrote in this post.
        It was so long ago I started out, and I can barely remember what I was posting last month let alone back when I was a newbie blogger myself! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I LOVE this idea. I totally see where groups could definitely form, and hopefully I don’t put out any of that vibes. D: But I think this is a wonderful idea. When I first started out book blogging, I was a bit scared because everyone seemed so established and I had no clue where to even begin. I think this is a wonderful idea, and I can’t wait to be a part of it! Just signed up, and going over to spread the word on Twitter. 🙂 Fantastic post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And no, you probably don’t! I don’t blame anyone from anything because I suck at branching out as well (that might be because I’m picky with who I follow, though, lol). Yes, I agree! I remember seeing all these gorgeous blogs with amazing content and so many comments and all these ARCs and I was just like, “That’ll never be me.” But, now, looking back on it, it seems so crazy to me, because it was just a bit of hard work, and now I’m happy! Thank you so much! 😄

      Like

  14. I felt pretty much the same way as you did when I first started out! I had no idea who was big or not but I still kind of felt like I didn’t have a place because I was this newbie trying to figure things out while everyone else had much more experience and knew what they were doing. But people around the community have been super nice and friendly and willing to interact, so that took away a big part of my worries! And really, I feel like bloggers who are considered big AND are super nice are the best kind of bloggers!

    But yeah, I definitely think the community is a bit clique-y and I will usually have a more difficult time trying to fit in and find my spot within a group – I suck at that in general! xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I actually stalked the blogging community a week before I started my own, so I was on the up and up. 😂 But, yes, I started my blog on a whim, and posting my first post, and waiting for people to come to me before I realized maybe I should talk to other people? And I did, and it really worked out, so I’m glad I did! And yes, I agree; the big bloggers who always reply to comments and are super sweet always leave a great impression on me!

      Haha, same! 😂 Even within my group of friends, I feel like the odd one out, but then again, I’m an introvert, so it’s not all bad!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I’ve heard people say the community is cliquey, but I think the word “clique” has a very negative connotation that most bloggers aren’t really trying to be exclusive or ignore others. I think it’s just what you’ve noticed–the book community is very, very big, and you just can’t know everyone or comment on everyone’s blogs. I visited hundreds of blogs last year, as well, and have been blogging for six years now, and there are blogs I simply haven’t run across yet. I do have blogs I comment on more regularly than others–because I like their content–but I don’t think anyone is intentionally forming cliques or would really want to be unwelcoming to others. It’s just that it’s too time-consuming to be super-engaged with everyone, you know?

    Great idea for a project though! It sounds very exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually don’t think of cliques as a bad thing! I use it as a neutral sort of word – I call my group of friends a clique just because it’s a group of people. Yeah, I think it’s impossible to visit all the book blogs because I’m sure people join the community every day, and really the only time I usually discover smaller ones is if they just happen to follow me – I always check out the blogs of people who follow me because I’m naturally curious. 😂 I certainly don’t think anyone is intentionally ignoring anyone either; it just happens unintentionally? I’m sure everyone wants to find newer or smaller blogs, but like you said, it takes time and it seems like most people blog-hop through their comment sections or other people’s, which can lead to the same people being visited (though I do spot a new name, occasionally!). And thank you! 😄

      Like

  16. I haven’t run into cliques at all. But then again, I’m just starting out! There are people (big and small) who Ive talked to through comments and they all act and support the same. I too have been a little blown away when big book bloggers with over 1,000 followers have commented and I continue to talk to them. This community has been so amazing! As a person who is always sharing love with other blogs, liking, and commenting – I know exactly how much time it takes every day. So every like and comment I appreciate SOO much!
    I love the idea of supporting a smaller blogger! I would sign up but I’m actually trying to help another blogger already. He has so much passion but not a lot of time and I hope things can get off the ground. You are amazing for even thinking of this!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely became inundated in the blogging community before I even had a blog, so I knew who was who (but I guess it depends on who you follow). Haha, same, when I was much smaller, I remember a popular blogger followed me for the first time, and I had a mini freak-out! I still do sometimes. 😂

      And, yeah, glad to see you’re helping another blogger; it’s totally fine that you can’t sign up! And thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: [ARC REVIEW] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich | the well-thumbed reader

    • Thank you! And, yeah, I definitely felt like that when I first started out, and once I broke out of my shell, everything really worked out! It just takes a little push! Thank you so much for joining in! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Awww I love your whole idea for this project! It’s so amazing and will definitely be a great way to find some new blogs to follow. I completely agree with you about the blogging community being a bit clique-y. I was actually thinking about this whenever I answered a question on my Q&A about who my favorite bloggers were and realized that my favorites were mostly people who we all know and follow each other and all talk. Not that it’s a bad thing, like you said, because it’s incredible be a part of a group of bloggers and to just fangirl about books with them or discuss things with them all of the time. But also it can definitely be intimidating when you’re first starting out. I remember having similar thoughts as you and then kind of being scared to comment for a while. In the end, I made a few friends which led to other friends that led to more through commenting. I actually think I found your blog through comments on a bloggers blog who I talk to daily. A lot of the time whenever I see someone pop up in the comments on a blog a lot I get curious and follow them. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Melissa! ❤ Yes, I feel you about that, because I realized most of the bloggers that I think of as my favorites are people pretty much EVERYONE in the community knows and barely any new ones! And, yeah, it’s definitely intimidating; I felt that way when I first started out and was so nervous getting replies! 😂 Oh, yeah! I feel like so many people found me through comment sections way back when!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. This is such a wonderful idea! I am totally signing up! I’ve noticed sort-of similar cliques, but I don’t think as much a what you’ve noticed. My problem is that I follow so darn many blogs that I can’t possibly keep up with them all. I think that’s a lot of the reason why the cliques happen – there’s no possible way to know everybody, so it’s natural to have just a portion or group on your feed of the massive amount of book bloggers out there. Like you said, it’s not really a good or bad thing. I’d rather be closely familiar with a smaller group of bloggers than follow hundreds and never get to know anyone. But I do appreciate diversity and variety on my feed, too! Anyway, excellent post and project idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you! ❤ Haha, yes, I’m a huge observer, which is probably why I notice these things! And, yes, that’s definitely true! I follow around 30 blogs, WHICH IS ABSURDLY SMALL. SO SMALL. And I really want to break out of that and follow more. And, yes, I follow both YA and mystery bloggers, so it’s so interesting looking at my feed! Thank you so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I hear people talk about the book blogosphere being clique-y a lot…but I’ve not actually experienced it haha. I THINK I’M OBLIVIOUS??? Which is probably a bad thing. I just tend to have no idea what’s going on and tbh I don’t even know when someone is a big blog vs small blog half the time because I just want to read great posts and chat to great people!
    However I do distinctly remember being a smol fry blogger and trying to “connect” with ALL the bloggers. I was mostly commenting on big blogs and I never developed friendships with any of them. So I was really saddened by that. And then I noticed just recently that a lot of those blogs now talk to me that my blog is bigger/more established. 😒😒 So thaaaaat’s suspicious.
    But honestly I try not to get mad at blogs for not always responding because SOMETIMES WE DON’T HAVE ENOUGH TIME!! But I 100% want to hang out in the blogosphere with people who want to chat!! 😀 I think that’s what book blogging is all about.
    (Also may I just say I love your discussions?!? They’re so glorious to read and so interesting. 🎉🎉 Excuse my colossal comments. 😂😂)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, you’re probably not oblivious! I’m such an observer, which is probably where this discussion post came from. 😂 I’ve always thought that small blogs and big blogs were an objective, but I guess when you think about it, it’s all subjective??? I’m sure there’s someone out there who thinks I’m a big blog, and I’d be like, “LOL no” because I think of this other blog as bigger than me!

      Ooh, same! I always commented on all the bloggers’ posts I could find. 😂 And that totally sucks. 😩 That never happened to me, so I guess the blogging community has gotten better at this?

      Yes, same! I know for sure I don’t always comment on the blogs that I actually follow just because I’m busy (or I’m lazy OOPS).

      (ALSO YES??? Honestly, I’m fangirling on the inside because I love your blog to death and you were the one that inspired me to start, so all these compliments are just 😍😭). AND NO I LOVE LONG COMMENTS. So worth it! ❤

      Like

  21. Pingback: May’s Moments of the Month: April // The Month of Writing, Stress, and Reading More than Expected – Forever and Everly

  22. I love this idea! I think we do tend to run in the same circles because that’s where we’re comfortable. Plus, I know when I find a few blogs I like, I prefer to just lurk there instead of moving on to find the next blog I love (which can take some time). I need to find some more blogs that I love though! A lot of the people I used to follow and read aren’t really blogging anymore (but that’s how life is).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, definitely! I’m usually most comfortable with the people where I’ve already created relationships, which is why I rarely branch out! Yeah, I’ve only been blogging for four months and even I’ve noticed some people who used to comment never do anymore! Such a strange cycle!

      Like

  23. Thanks for that very informative post, i am very new at book blogging and it is reassuring to hear that the cliques are not too exclusive. I have signed up for your scheme as a little blogger of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I’m so glad this was informative for you! And, nope, none of them are exclusive; as soon as I talked to them, I wasn’t nervous! 😄 Thank you; I recognize your name from the sign-up!

      Like

    • Aw, thank you! I totally get that; when I started out and had next to no views, and I saw all these other bloggers with booming blogs, I really wanted to get on their level, and I thought I never would! And totally! We already have SJM in common, and that’s a fantastic starting point! ❤

      Like

  24. Pingback: [2] Book Playlist • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas | the well-thumbed reader

  25. That was an interesting post to read for sure. I do think that with time, there are some kind of little blogging friends and groups that form and it’s always the same kind of people you can find out in a blogger’s comments, for instance. I know it’s a lot like that on some blogs I follow and probably on mine just as well. I do try to reach out to new bloggers as much as I can and as my time allows me, which is sadly, very little, since I already spend long hours every single day blog hopping through my “clique”, as you’d call it.
    I try and find new bloggers whenever they stop by my blog, obviously, and also through Twitter, Top Tens and other kind of features blog comments on blog posts and so on.
    This is such a nice project you’re doing here, I might sign up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, definitely! This project is actually good for me to find some smaller book blogs as well, which is really nice. And I want to try to start commenting back on people’s blogs as well this summer since I’ll hopefully have free time!

      And thank you so much; feel free to join! 😄 I need a couple more “bigger bloggers” to make the numbers more equal!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Pingback: [LET’S CHAT] The Complexities of Blog Commenting | the well-thumbed reader

  27. As a little blogger I totally get what you mean, I guess we tend to stick with what is familiar to us, to people with simmilar taste in books (like in my case mostly romance) and that makes us a bit cliquety. For any new blogger just trying to create a following is quite intimidating, there’s so much you’re learning and so much that you have to keep track of, your social media, trying to put the best content you can out there, it’s a very daunting but rewarding experience, because even with the cliques the book blogging community is so friendly and welcoming (that’s been my experience at least). Your idea it’s great because of this so thank you for it, I’m excited to participate as a little blogger

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, definitely! I follow up with both the YA and Mystery/Thriller book, and it’s so funny to me, because literally none of those people intersect ever! I don’t know if it happens to every sort of “book group,” but I usually see my Mystery bloggers sticking with other mystery bloggers and my YA bloggers sticking with other YA bloggers!

      It’s quite true; it is very daunting when you start out because you don’t know what will happen and you’re just waiting for people to notice you! I remember wanting to give up when I first started out because nothing was going the way I wanted it to, but I’m glad I continued on with it! 😄

      And that’s definitely true; the book blogging community is so friendly! ❤ And thank you for signing up!

      Like

  28. OK, I absolutely LOVE your idea! I wish I had something like this when I started because girl, I was LOST. I want to sign up! I feel weird claiming myself as a “big blogger”, though hahahah I don’t consider myself one at all, but I have over 100 followers so I guess I am for this? eep. weird. OK. I’m going to sign up now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Molly! Haha, so many people have said that! It was hard to measure because there are so many factors going into it, so I just measured by followers??? And, yeah, thank you so much!

      (Also, for some reason your comment on my “Complexities of Commenting” post disappeared??? I can’t tell if WordPress did something or you deleted it, but that’s so weird.)

      Like

  29. Pingback: [LET’S CHAT] What’s the Most Effective Social Media For Your Blog? | the well-thumbed reader

  30. AHHHH such an amazing post Mikaela!! ❤ ❤ I totally agree with this post, and I actually had been thinking about writing a post similar to this topic but never got around to it because I couldn't figure out what to say haha. This is FAB though!! I would definitely say there are a group of bloggers I follow and comment on more than others. I occasionally try searching for new bloggers, but it's kind of easier in a sense to stick with the bloggers I've formed closer friendships with. Definitely something that's daunting as a new blogger!! I've discovered so many new bloggers via other posts' comments though haha. On the days I have time, I become such a comment stalker. 😀 I think that's probably how I found yours, actually, to be honest ahah.

    I LOVE your project, I'm totally going to sign up now! I'm relieved to see it's still open for sign ups omg haha. ❤ Again, fabulous post! I'm so excited for this project!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! ❤

      Yeah, exactly! I do the same thing as well – stay inside the group of people I follow – and I rarely ever branch out, which I don’t want to do! And, yes, same, I stalk comment sections often. I don’t think I find new blogs that way; I just like to observe and read everyone’s thoughts. And yeah, I’m glad you did! 😄

      Yeah, thanks so much! I closed it this morning, and though I’m still low on “Big Bloggers,” I guess I’ll just double up a little! 😂

      Like

  31. Pingback: Meet the Blogger | Get to Know Mikaela @ The Well-Thumbed Reader – BookBum

  32. Pingback: #UpcomingProjects – Inside My Minds

  33. Pingback: Random update (projects + my writing + exciting news) – Lost In A Story

  34. I LOVE this idea! I have already signed up. One concern though… I was matched with someone that uses a different blogging platform than I do. Do you think that will affect this in any way?

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes, we’ve already started working on our posts for one another! I’m really excited about it! I was just wondering mainly if there are other Blogger users that I could potentially be paired with in the future, if you choose to do a second round? I’d love to bounce some ideas off of a Blogger user and get some tips from more experience users of the platform. 🙂 But if that’s too much, that’s totally fine! I don’t want to make this more complicated for you! I’m sure it’s been tricky just pairing everyone up! And thank you again for doing this! I can’t wait to see everyones posts!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, yeah, that’s awesome! You two are going the extra mile since you don’t have to do anything at all as a Little Blogger, but go right ahead; I won’t stop you! 😄 If this works out, I’ll probably try this again sometime next year! It’ll probably be ten times better and probably have an even bigger reach by that time, hopefully! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

