[ARC REVIEW] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

the-love-interest

Genre: Contemporary, Thriller, LGBTQ+

Series: None

Rating: 3.5 STARS

Description:

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

My Thoughts: 

If you’ve been around here for a while, you know I was SUPER EXCITED to read this book. I’ve probably mentioned it only 28498282 times on my blog. So, like, a small amount. I requested it on Netgalley expecting to be turned down because I requested from them twice before and was declined both times, but imagine my surprise when on a really crappy Friday afternoon, I got an e-mail saying I was approved for one of my most anticipated releases. I screamed (in my head, of course, because I was in class, but it was a loud scream in my head). And then I read it in two days. Duh.

So, I guess that’s why I was a little disappointed. Just a little. This book wasn’t terrible by any means, but there were some things that I wanted to happen or I just wanted more of, and it sucks, because I wanted to give it five shiny stars, but then I wouldn’t really be honest with myself! But let’s actually get on to the review!

First up, the stuff I loved! The characters were absolutely brilliant and all three-dimensional and wonderful. We have our main character, Caden, who was so funny and I just loved being in his head and hearing all his thoughts. He’s basically assigned to be a Nice, but he doesn’t really consider himself that way (which I definitely feel because I don’t think I’m a nice person, but maybe other people feel differently). We also have Dylan, the boy that Caden’s competing against, who’s supposed to be a Bad, BUT IS SUCH A SWEETHEART OH MY GOD. I wanted to hug him so hard. Then there’s Juliet, the girl they’re fighting over, who is super smart and wants to be a scientist when she grows up and literally has MADE HER OWN INVENTIONS AND WEAPONS because why not? I didn’t expect to care about her so much, but it was so wonderful to see such a smart girl at the helm of a book! We also have Natalie and Trevor, who dressed up as Hazel Grace and Gus from TFIOS, so they immediately win everything in my books.

The world was also so, so creative! I just loved the way this book continually addressed cliches and the whole background of how everything worked and why it was done was just so well done. Also, in my opinion, this book definitely didn’t suffer from any horrible info-dumps; the world was continually built on as the book went on, and it was just so nice to learn more about the inner workings of the world and the mini details.

Also, this book was hilarious. I’m not one to laugh too much while reading books – funnily enough, the most times I laugh are while watching Youtube videos; go figure – but this one was just so funny and natural while doing it; there was no sort of forced humor. Caden is just a naturally hilarious character, and the fact that it’s so clever at making fun of YA tropes I’m sure we’re all tired of is what makes it so great.

Now on to the things I didn’t love so much. I know this might be hard to believe for some of you guys who’ve been around here for a while, but…I actually wanted more romance. Yep, I said it; I wanted more of a romance in a YA non-contemporary book. I mean, was this a kissing book? Duh, of course it was (and the kissing was amazing, by the way). BUT, I just wanted WAY more of it. This is more of a slow-burn romance – and I’m a huge fan of that sweet, sweet slow-burn – so I thought a lot of it was more focused on the bonding and the friendship and not the ~actual romance~. But, then again, romance is completely subjective for every reader, so it might be different for you!

Also, I felt like the ending moved way too fast. I had the same sort of complaint with Gone Without a Trace, which was also a thriller – a domestic thriller instead of a spy thriller, though – but Part 1 and 2 of The Love Interest were a bit slower-paced and had more of a contemporary feel, I’d say, and then Part 3 comes along, and it turns into more of a dystopian/spy thriller, and without a smooth transition between the two, the change of pacing and such was quite jarring for me. A lot of stuff happens and a lot of things are revealed and it just has such a different feel than a large majority of the book that, to me, it felt a bit all over the place.

But, the book did make up for itself a little bit just for the simple fact that the epilogue was TO DIE FOR. Excuse me while I casually drown in all the feels it gave me and flail all over the damn place.

Overall, though this one didn’t live up to my expectations, this is totally a subjective viewpoint, and you might think differently. I would actually still recommend this book to anyone who wants to read it because it was definitely entertaining!

arrow

A huge thanks to Macmillan Children’s and Fierce Reads for giving me an e-ARC of this book for free in exchange for a review! No matter what I say in this review, it definitely made my day to get accepted for this one, so thanks a lot!

arrow

I just wanted to take the time to thank everyone who has signed up for Project Big Blogger, Little Blogger so far! It means so much to me that you’re as excited as I am! For all my posts this week, I’ll be linking to my announcement explaining everything – which can be found right here – and the Google form for sign-up – which is right here – because I know there are some people who don’t read all my posts (which is perfectly fine!) or new followers who I don’t want to miss out on this! Feel free to join in, or promote my project in any way you can!

Let's Chat

Are you interested in this book? If any of you have had the chance to read this early, how did you feel about it? What are some of your favorite LGBTQ+ reads?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

16 thoughts on “[ARC REVIEW] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

  1. I was actually so excited to read this as well but I must have missed it on Netgalley! I saw this on a lot of 2017 anticipated releases but since then I haven’t really heard much so I was so excited to see your reviewed this. Sorry to hear it didn’t quite live up to your expectations! I’m glad you still enjoyed it though. I’ll definitely still give this one a go, it sounds like something I’d really enjoy. Also I’m kind of fed up of romance in YA books so I might actually like the fact that there’s not tons in here! Great review 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, God, I was so on top of this one because I wanted it! 😂 But I unhealthily check Netgalley about every day, so there’s that! And, ooh, yes, you definitely might enjoy it more than me if you’re sick of romance! It’s more about the bonding, so that might be your style! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yes, you’re the second person to say that, so you’ll probably really enjoy it! I feel like I always treat my gay ships differently from my straight ships in terms of level of romance. 😂

      Like

  2. Oh, that’s quite sad! This was also one of my most anticipated reads for this year!
    I’ll read it because you’ve convince with the adorable characters 😂 Hopefully I’ll enjoy it!
    Great review, by the way 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, but I have so many May releases to look forward to that I don’t feel TOO bad!

      And yes, the characters were fantastic! I hope you enjoy it much better than me! And thank you! ❤

      Like

  3. Wait in the synopsis it says Caden is a Nice, but in your review it says he’s supposed to be a Bad??? XD

    Anyways, The Love Interest sounds really awesome! I’m sorry that it didn’t live up to your expectations, but I’m glad that you still enjoyed other parts of it! I’ll hopefully get to read this soon. *crosses fingers*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH MY GOD, thank you for pointing that out! I looked at my ARC copy instead of the actual synopsis, so I mixed it up. This is why I shouldn’t review books a month after finishing them. 😂 Thank you so much! And, yes, it’s coming out in a couple of weeks, so yeah! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

