In Which I Talk About The Books That Lied to Me

File_005 (8).jpeg

I’m sure we’ve all experienced it.

We pick up a book. We’re excited to read said book, whether it’s a stand-alone, a first in a series, the sequel to a series you fell in love with while reading the first book, or the finale to one of your favorite series. You read it. You keep reading it. And then you realize mid-way through, or maybe near the end of the book, that you absolutely hate it.

(Or strongly dislike it.)

And, of course you feel betrayed. You feel lied to. But everyone told you how good the book was? But the first book was just so good…how could the series come to this? But isn’t the sequel supposed to be even better than the first book? But the concept sounded so good once I added it to my TBR on Goodreads; what happened between now and then? BUT THAT BOOK WAS SO FREAKING AWESOME; HOLY CRAP?

So, I thought it’d be fun to talk about those books; those books that make you excited, or make you really downtrodden because you could have been so much better! Let’s get started!

arrow

File_001 (38).jpeg

Second Book Slump

Do you ever have those moments where you’re fresh off the reading the first book of a series? The first book was either a really great start to the series, and you need to start the sequel, like, now, or the first book was just meh to you, and the only reason you’re continuing on is because your friends are insisting the series gets better; THEY SWEAR. So you decide to read the sequel, and it starts out okay (like most bad books do).

And then you realize, right in the middle of reading it, “Why am I still reading this? I’m bored out of my mind.”

Independent Study, Rebel Springs, and The Winner’s Crime are all culprits of this. For the first two novels, I enjoyed the first books in the series – The Testing and Falling Kingdoms, respectively – but while reading was really let down. For Independent Study, it was too much of a copycat of The Testing for me to enjoy it; for Rebel Spring, the book was SO BORING (though Gathering Darkness totally made up for it).

For The Winner’s Crime, I wasn’t a huge fan of the first book, and went into the second book for another chance because everyone said it was SO GOOD. I didn’t like it the first time, and the second time around, I DNF-ed it. So, that was disappointing.

File_003 (15).jpeg

WTF Finales

“I’ve been waiting for this book for so damn long! I can’t wait to read it!” you say as soon as you purchase the finale to one of your favorite series and curl up in your reading space to get ready to read it.

“What the actual hell did I just read?” you say once you close the book and realize how disappointed you are.

For me, those three books were The Last Star, The Retribution of Mara Dyer, and Ignite Me. Out of all three of these, The Last Star was probably my biggest disappointment. I loved The 5th Wave, and though The Infinite Sea wasn’t perfect, I still enjoyed it. But I remember being so upset after finishing The Last Star because so many things were left open, the romance was terrible, and it was just a completely unsatisfying ending.

For The Retribution of Mara Dyer and Ignite Me, I didn’t like the first couple books in the series too much, but I was actually good at binging series at that time, and I also wasn’t a huge DNF-er, so I went ahead and finished the series, because why not? Unfortunately, the finales just ended up finalizing that I hated both series, mainly because they were so disorganized and boring and just didn’t line up with the rest of the series in terms of plot and resolution.

File_002 (27).jpeg

The Hype Machine

Ah, yes, the dreaded book hype. You read all the reviews praising the book on Goodreads, you see all these five stars, you see the book on everyone’s favorite list, the books have such a huge fandom, so you think, “Obviously, I’m going to enjoy this one as well!

False.

There are so many books with lots of hype that everyone loved except me, but I decided to just lessen it to four books: The Darkest Minds, The Winner’s Curse, The Wrath and the Dawn, and Under the Never Sky. Pretty much all of these books sold me with their interesting premises, gorgeous book covers, and all the amazing reviews.

And I didn’t like any of these books. I hated most of them in fact. Oops. Either too slow, just didn’t click with me, I didn’t like some of the characters, the world-building was awful, or I thought that the actual story didn’t reach the full premise it could have. The hype machine can do incredible things, but sometimes, it just completely misses the mark for me.

File_000 (76)

Knocked My Socks Off

These are the books I didn’t think would surprise me or I thought would just be my ordinary reading experience, but totally and completely took my surprise in the best possible way. Whether with an awesome plot twist or fantastic character development or gorgeous writing – all paired with a stunning cover to boot – it just makes for an unforgettable reading experience that you wish you could have all over again.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Golden Son, and Crown of Midnight were definitely these types of reads for me. The first time I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I didn’t enjoy it too much, but the second time around, I fell in love with the prose. Golden Son and Crown of Midnight were sequels that were the exact opposite of second book slump and enhanced the series for me and launched it to my “Favorites” list.

arrow

File_004 (13).jpeg

And those are some of the books that outright lied to me.

(Hopefully, I can avoid these types of books in the future, except the last category. Those can stay.)

Let's Chat

What are some books that you felt like lied to you? Have you experienced any of these categories? Do we share any of the same opinions?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

48 thoughts on “In Which I Talk About The Books That Lied to Me

  1. We definitely all have “Knocked My Socks Off” books – for me it was Shatter Me, which funnily enough ended up being one of my most hated series of all time. Pretty much everyone has books they expectd soo much from that had been really hyped up, for me it was Fangirl – everyone who’s read it had loved it but, me personally, I hated it and honestly I don’t think I have anything positive to say about it. Stuff like that is always sad though, when you expect soo much from a book you just want to have a good time with it and join the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I find that hilarious! 😂 I felt the same way about The 5th Wave – the first one was amazing, and the other two were just blah. I actually liked Unravel Me, but that might have just been because of Warner! 🙈 Nooo, I’ve really enjoyed the parts of Fangirl I’ve read – I still haven’t finished it yet because I get interrupted every time I do. And, same! I feel like such an outlier. Today, the cover for the companion series to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer released, and I was just rolling my eyes because I hate the series. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with your knocked your socks off list! (Though i still need to read the red rising trilogy). I haven’t read any of the books that lied to you (except for the wrath and the dawn) and you made me feel better that I haven’t – I kind of had a feeling they were dirty liars! Lol

    Like

    • YOU MUST READ RED RISING! It’s amazing. ❤

      Haha, I 100% think you should just skip out on them. They weren't worth it, in my opinion, but then again, I'm usually the unpopular opinion, so you might like it much better than I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Everyone told me how amazing The Uglies series was and I HATED IT. I’m not even bothering with the rest of the series. Some books are just not hyped, have an ugly cover and just seem really boring BUT THEY’RE AMAZING!!! I’ve never read a bad finale before or maybe I have but my goldfish memory comes in and… Sequels can nearly always be disappointing which is just UGH LIKE, WHY MAKE A SEQUEL IN THE FIRST PLACE? I know Hp & The Cursed Child wasn’t a sequel but gosh that book was trash.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ah, man, The Uglies is so old! Didn’t it come out sometime around 2007? I actually didn’t hear much hype around that one, but I guess it few a bit because of the whole dystopian craze! I actually loved Harry Potter and The Cursed Child! I’ll be in my party of one because everyone hates it though. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Over-hyped books and ones with incorrect summaries are the worst for me. I remember when The Night Circus came out that marketing was trying to as it as some dramatic, epic, dangerous duel between sorcerers…but the book has a much softer feel. It’s about experiencing the magic, not about fighting! It got a lot of negative reviews from people who were expecting something entirely different from what they got.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I LOVED The Night Circus, but it definitely wasn’t what it was advertised it was. I tried to read it when I was younger and hated it, but when I got older, last year I read it, and I fell in love with it! I think I liked it better because I knew what I was getting into! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great discussion post Mikaela, and yeah I’ve definitely experienced this myself a time or two. There have been a few WTF finales and they always let me down the most, especially if it’s from a series I really ended up loving. I really enjoyed the first two books of The Maze Runner trilogy and the Divergent series but the last book was such a let down for me, and I LOVED the Penryn and the End of Days series and I was really excited for the last book to be released but when I finally got to read it I was disappointed by how it went.
    I don’t tend to experience second book slumps, which is good, and a lot of the time hype works in my favour, but there have been books where it felt like the blurb lied to me. Have you ever experienced something like that. Most recently it was Empress of a Thousand Skies and (I think I spoke to you about this one before actually) the blurb just ended up being nothing like the story was you know?
    Again great discussion post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read The Death Cure yet (UGH), but I have read Allegiant and was super disappointed by it. I re-read the entire trilogy to see if the third book got better with age, but alas, it did not. I actually loved the last book in the Penryn and the End of Days series, but I saw so many people disappointed by it on Goodreads!

      So many times! I think The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was SUPER mis-leading. And The Winner’s Curse. Both were more romance-y than expected.

      Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can’t say I’d recommend with The Death Cure, or Allegiant actually, even if you loved the series skip the last book because it’s a disappointment. Well I’m glad you loved it either way. I think it felt a little too rushed to me, especially when compared to the previous two books, still a good series overall though. 🙂
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Yep I’ve experienced all of these! Although not for these particularly books haha, although we agree on Rebel Springs! 😂 I find covers often lie to me too?!? Like there was one book that had SUCH an epic fantasy cover and then I go in and discover it’s dystopian!?? How rude.😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Rebel Springs was so meh, but Gathering Shadows made up for it, so I guess I’m not TOO angry about it. 😂 Ooh, I don’t know if I’ve experienced that before! I know there are some covers I look at, and I’m like, “Ooh, mystery!” and it’s actually a contemporary or a dystopian, and I’m so disappointed. 😩

      Like

  7. Wow, nice post! (I’ve recently found your blog and I love all of your post ideas! Especially the ones regarding blogging)🙂

    Anyways, YES I agree!! I HATE Second Book Slumps…

    But usually the really hyped books that I read I actually really enjoy, so that’s good. But I can totally relate with the different blurb thing. For example, How to Break A Boy. It seems like a lighthearted contemporary, but it’s actually quite dark and emotional. Doesn’t mean I didn’t love it, though! It’s actually one of my favorites now… 😋

    Like

    • Thank you! And aw, that’s so sweet; I also enjoy talking about blogging! Next month is going to definitely be centered all around that!

      That’s true; I generally love hyped books! There has been some that I hated that it seems like EVERYONE loves though, unfortunately. Ooh, I feel like I’ve heard about that book before, but I totally forget about it! Ugh, my book memory sucks. 😂

      Like

  8. I actually am “meh” about Daughter of Smoke and Bone??? I mean, I DNF’ed the last one… I might go back to it, but IDK. But Strange the Dreamer sounds really awesome (plus pretty cover!!!). Sequel blues are the worst though, because it’s like YAS YAS YAS I NEED MORE THIS IS GONNA BE GREAT AND MAYBE EVEN BETTER.

    …Haha no. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • I DNF-ed the last book too because it was SO LONG, but I feel like my taste has changed since then because I appreciated the first book much more the second time around. Or maybe it was one of those books that was better with the re-read. LOL THAT’S BASICALLY THE FEELING; WHY MUST YOU DISAPPOINT ME.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve experienced the second book slump and WTF finales so many times! I actually think that’s why I tend to not continue a series whenever I don’t enjoy the first book nowadays because both of those have happened to me way too much in the past. I’m completely with you on The 5th Wave books and The Last Star. I enjoyed the first book and found the second book to be okay but couldn’t even make it through the last book. I ended up just skipping to the ending and what I read I wasn’t happy with. It was so disappointing! And then there’s this other series Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky where I adored the first and second book but then the third book was the biggest letdown. She completely changed key aspects about the characters. Then with second book slumps that’s how Red Queen went for me. I didn’t enjoy Glass Sword at all whereas the first time I read Red Queen I loved it. Great post, Mikaela!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • I finished The Last Star, and I can say from experience, it’s not worth finishing. 😂 It’s best left unread. And, yeah, I was so frustrated with the ending: I had so many unanswered questions! I still haven’t read Glass Sword yet! 🙈 As you can see, in terrible at continuing series! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I actually put The Last Star off for the longest time before I picked it up and kind of wish I had kept putting it off. 😂 Definitely left me with a lot of questions too which is never good when it comes to the final book in a series. I’m good at continuing some series and terrible at others. I think it depends on how much I like the previous books lol. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Oooh I love this post! (Sorry you didn’t like the Winner’s Trilogy. I really enjoyed that one!) Also agree that the Shatter Me series was just kind of meh.

    I think the biggest (at least recent) culprit for me is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Two of my favorite and most trusted booktubers say this is their favorite book (or favorite standalone or something) and I was so excited to read it! And the entire time I was reading it I was like, “Wtf? Is anything going to happen? Why is this book so boring? WHERE IS THE EPIC MAGICAL DUEL I WAS PROMISED?”

    Man, sometimes books just do you wrong. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I LOVE The Night Circus, so I guess it cancels out? 😂 I didn’t like it the first time I tried to read it because it wasn’t what I thought it was going to be, but the second time around, it worked for me because I knew what I was getting into! 😄

      Also, yeah, the Shatter Me series was a whole bunch of meh. And the covers are so pretty! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like I have more finale endings I like than ones I don’t like. I’ve noticed that for series I feel meh about or I’m a little disappointed by the sequel, I tend to not like them, but for series I’m in love with, I tend to be really happy with them! 😄

      Like

  11. Pingback: The Process Of Book Buying + 8 Reasons You Buy A Book + A Quiz – My Bookish Life

  12. Pingback: Liebster Award, take 2 – BookBum

Leave a Reply

