Most Anticipated Summer 2017 Releases

File_001 (19)

It’s May, which means spring should start coming to a close, and summer is almost upon us (thank God, because school and track are simultaneously killing me. Also, Bookcon).

I was trying to choose between posting a Let’s Chat or this today, and lo and behold, Twitter decided that they wanted to see my most anticipated summer releases for 2017! Hold on tight, there are a lot of them. Like, a lot.

File_000 (95)

So, much like I did for spring, I’m decided to compile a list of my most anticipated summer releases of 2017! Again, there’s a variety of genres, so I’m sure you’ll find something you like!

arrow

File_000 (27)

The Party

The Party

(June 6)

This sounds like an awesome cross between Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Walker’s All Is Not Forgotten (both books which I loved). AND I ALSO WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS?

*

The Owl Always Hunts At Night

the owl always hunts at night

(June 6)

Last year, I read the first book in the series, I’m Travelling Alone, and loved it! I actually got an e-ARC of this one through the Penguin First to Read program, so I’m super excited to dive into this one!

*

And Then There Were Four

and then there were four

(June 6)

Um, teenagers think their parents are trying to kill them??? GIMME!

*

The Possible 

the possible

(June 6)

I haven’t yet read this author’s other novel, The Leaving, which is on my TBR, but this one sounds extremely interesting, especially since it seems to be combining mystery and PNR elements, which seems to be becoming a trend these days.

*

Here Lies Daniel Tate

here lies daniel tate

(June 6)

I really love this trend in thrillers where people decide to con their way into families where one of the children went missing. I haven’t seen this trend too much in YA except for Cylin Busby’s The Stranger Game – which I loved – so I’m hoping this one’s good!

*

He Said/She Said

he said she said

(June 6)

The summary is super vague, which I’m happy about, because it really intrigues me. I saw this one via Crime By the Book on Instagram, and I’ve been super interested in it ever since. I actually got a physical ARC of this (my first one!!!), so I’m hoping to dig into this one this month!

*

The Weight of Lies

the weight of lies

(June 6)

Chealsea over at The Suspense is Thrilling Me’s review made me want to pick this one up, so a shout-out to her! This one sounds totally awesome.

*

Dividing Eden

dividing eden

(June 6)

It seems to me that this will be about twins pitting against each other for one throne, so yes please. Not to mention how beautiful the cover is. Haven’t had too much luck with Charbonneau’s books before, but maybe this one will work out?

*

The Sandcastle Empire

the sandcastle empire

(June 6)

Gimme that deadly island! Not to mention that this one sounds like an extremely unique dystopian/sci-fi novel, so I’m intrigued. Also, I’m clinging to the fact that there wasn’t a mention of romance in the synopsis.

(Also, there are way too many books publishing June 6. Way too many.)

*

Want

want cindy pon

(June 13)

Yeah, a dystopian/sci-fi novel where the poor are trying to take down the rich! Not to mention that the cover is stunning. Praying that this book has heist-y type things going on. I have an e-ARC of this one, and, yep, I’m hoping to read this one this month!

*

Our Dark Duet

our dark duet

(June 13)

Well, duh.

*

Bad Romance

bad romance

(June 13)

I’m really happy to see that there are more YA books being published that talk about abusive relationships because it’s so extremely important and not talked about enough. I’m super excited to read this one, and I’ve heard great things about Demetrios’s books, so I’m pumped.

*

The Marsh King’s Daughter

the marsh king's daughter

(June 13)

Okay, so this seems like a badass cat-and-mouse chase between the main character and her father, who’s the Marsh King, if I’m getting it right. Because, if so, I want this one in my hands, like, right now.

*

The Lucky Ones

The Lucky Ones

(June 15)

I’ve LOVED pretty much all of Mark Edwards’ books, and I’m sure this one will be no exception. The man’s a genius, I tell you.

*

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

gentleman's guide to vice and virtue

(June 20)

It’s a “road” trip book with pirates and gay romance and a manhunt. What is there not to like??? Also, I’ve seen fantastic reviews for this one, and I read the sample and truly adored it, so I know this is going to be a good one.

*

The Breakdown

the breakdown

(June 20)

I recieved an e-ARC of this one via Netgalley (my review will be published next month), but I decided to put this one on the list because I know there are probably some U.S. crime/thriller bloggers out there who haven’t read it yet!

*

Every Last Lie

every last lie

(June 27)

I couldn’t finish The Good Girl last year, and her other two books are still sitting on my TBR…yet, I want this one because it sounds totally awesome. I can’t resist.

arrow

File_001 (20)

Persons Unknown

persons unknown

(July 4)

I read Missing, Presumed last year, and I enjoyed it (even though I found the ending to be disappointing). I didn’t know there was going to be a sequel, so this was a pleasant surprise. One of the highlights of the book were the characters, so I’m glad to see Manon again. I actually got accepted this one via Netgalley, so I’m super excited to read this one!

*

Because You Love to Hate Me

because you love to hate me

(July 11)

First off, I’m a huge fan of some of the Booktubers who provided the prompts. Second, some of my favorite authors are a part of this. And third, it’s all about villains! I love anthologies, so I’m excited.

*

This Is How it Happened

this is how it happend

(July 11)

I really love different formats in books, especially ones that incorporate social media, so this one seems interesting. And I also really like the concept, since this seems to be half-contemporary, half-mystery.

*

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil

The Merciless III

(July 11)

I loved the first two books in this series, and I cannot wait for the third one to come out (even though it’s a prequel and not a sequel, unfortunately)! These books are some of the better YA horror I’ve read for sure.

*

The Inside Dark

The Inside Dark.jpg

(July 11)

I actually stumbled upon this one on Netgalley, and was lucky enough to get approved for an e-ARC. This one sounds really interesting and has a lot of potential, so fingers crossed that it’s as amazing as it sounds!

*

Final Girls

final-girls

(July 18)

Again, I already received an e-ARC of this book forever ago, and absolutely devoured it (my review won’t be posted until July though, unfortunately), so I highly advise you guys to go out and buy this one if you can. It’s not to be missed!

*

The Lying Game

the lying game

(July 25)

I’m meh on Ruth Ware as an author (I’ve given both of her books three stars), but I find her books enjoyable, and the concept of this one sounds interesting, so, I’m going to read it.

*

Little Monsters

little monsters

(July 25)

I read The Darkest Corners by this author last year, and actually enjoyed it, so I’m looking forward to this one! I loved her writing style – Thomas can create atmosphere so well – so I’m pumped to read more of her YA thrillers.

*

First We Were IV

first we were iv

(July 25)

The Creeping, my first Sirowy book and one of my favorite Halloween reads, was really good, so, of course I’m going to read this. I absolutely love creepy secret societies/cults, so this should be good. I also got this one via the publisher as an e-ARC, so I can’t wait to read it!

*

Daughter of the Burning City

Daughter of the Burning City

(July 25)

All I saw was the word “carnival,” and that was really all I needed.

arrow

File_002 (16)

We Now Return to Regular Life

we now return to regular life

(Aug 1)

I’m also a huge fan of mysteries/contemporaries that observe people as they adjust to life back at home after being kidnapped, so this easily went on my list. Plus, it’s LGBTQ+, and that’s makes me super excited.

*

When I Am Through with You

when i am through with you

(Aug 1)

This sounds freaking awesome. A school trip to the mountains that goes terribly wrong and people end up dying? I’m so in.

*

The Wood

the wood

(Aug 1)

Originally, I thought this was a horror novel from the cover and synopsis, but then read the reviews and saw it was actually a fantasy dealing with fae and time travel, so that’s a bit disappointing, but, you know, fae. So, I’ll probably still read it.

*

Are You Sleeping?

Are You Sleeping

(Aug 1)

This one sounds so amazing that I just can’t resist! And I’ve heard good things about this one, so on to the TBR it goes!

*

Yesterday

Yesterday

(Aug 1)

This one just sounds like such an interesting thriller. It reminds me of the concept of Before I Go to Sleep (which I haven’t read), but this one sounds so good, especially because I love me an unreliable narrator.

*

The Hearts We Sold

the hearts we sold

(Aug 8)

So, a girl sells her heart to a demon to escape her horrible life, but gets much more than she bargained for, so she joins a group of other people stuck in the same situation. I’m loving it (and the cover).

*

Emma in the Night

Emma in the Night

(Aug 8)

I NEED ALL THE BOOKS THAT WENDY WALKER HAS EVER WRITTEN PLEASE.

*

The Walls

the walls

(Aug 10)

I haven’t read Baby Doll yet (it’s on the TBR), but this one sounds brilliant. A woman who works on death row getting caught up in an abusive relationship and purposefully setting up her abuser to be killed. Um, can I have it right now?

*

A Stranger in the House

A Stranger in the House

(Aug 15)

I’m a huge fan of books where the main character doesn’t remember what happened because I love guessing whodunnit and it always makes the book so much more fun and suspenseful to read! Though I didn’t love her previous book, The Couple Next Door, I’m hoping this one is better!

*

The Arsonist

the arsonist

(Aug 22)

Two weird teenagers team up to try to solve an old mystery of the murder of a teenage girl. That premise really intrigues me, and the cover is stunning. I still haven’t read The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly yet, but this one sounds terrific.

*

Girl in Snow

girl in snow.jpg

(Aug 22)

This sounds like a really interesting mix between literary fiction and mystery, and, again, major cover love. I’m really digging the fact that we’re seeing everything in three POVs, and think that’ll shed an interesting light on the novel, so I’m excited!

*

All Rights Reserved

all rights reserved

(Aug 29)

Do my eyes deceive me? A dystopian that actually has an original concept that doesn’t mention a romance? Yes please. 

*

Wonder Woman: Warbringer

wonder woman

(Aug 29)

Again, duh.

arrow

File_003 (16).jpeg

And that’s my giant list of books I’m excited for that are coming out this summer!

I swear to God, I’m going to just drop dead doing one of these things because it’s so much work, it takes hours, and I feel dead by the end of it.

Let's Chat

What are some of your most anticipated summer releases? Do we share any of the same? Have I made your TBR explode?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

45 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Summer 2017 Releases

    1. IT IS! I’ve heard good things about Heather Demetrios and that she handles tough topics in YA (I haven’t read her other book, though, boo!). Yes, I’m super excited! I can’t wait to see the prompts the Booktubers were given!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m super excited for The Party; I love those types of books! Yeah, I was disappointed when I heard it wasn’t a horror, but a fantasy (WHY), but I like fae, so who knows, maybe it’ll be better than I think it’ll be!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These are some great books Mikaela, and a fair few I’m really excited for as well. Our Dark Duet sounds amazing, and given it’s V.E. Schwab writing it I know I’ll end up loving the story as well! I added Because You Love to Hate Me to my to-read list after I saw some of the authors writing the stories; Samantha Shannon is one and she is one of my all-time favourite authors.
    I have been seeing so much of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue around lately I’m almost surprised it hasn’t already been released. I love the way you’ve described that book though so I’m probably going to have to add that one to my to-read list as well! 😀
    I hope you end up enjoying all these books once they’re released. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, same; I’m so excited for Our Dark Duet! It sounds amazing (and I’m going to finish one of her series this year, damn it!). Ah, yes, I love short-story anthologies and there were so many authors who I was interested in included!

      Haha, same! I actually feel like the time has gone by SO FAST; like, I remember being impatient because it wasn’t coming out for months, and now it’s almost here??? This year is going by too quickly!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well if you enjoy Our Dark Duet then you can maybe get around to some of her other books and finish more of her series maybe! 🙂 See I’m not normally a fan of short anthologies but I couldn’t resist when I saw some of those authors! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I actually haven’t heard of most of these, but then most of the books I was looking forward to this year came/are coming out in May. And the new Tolkien book on June 1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, yes, I actually have so many May releases I’m excited for! 😄 And I’m also excited for some fall releases because of all the horror and thriller books releasing in YA (and those are my fave)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol I know like none of these books. XD But that’s okay because I think we have different styles of reading! But AGH I’M READING AGOS RIGHT NOW AND IT’S GREAT. This Savage Song didn’t sound so great (I don’t like the idea of monsters lol), but I know Schwab is a great writer, and a lot of people praised it, so I’ll definitely try it out! AND YAAAAAAS WARBRINGER. LEIGH BARDUGO. LIKE I DON’T KNOW WONDER WOMAN A LOT BUT I WILL READ IT BECAUSE LEIGH.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’m well aware that I keep up with book releases WAY TOO MUCH. It’s honestly unhealthy. 😂 This Savage Song was actually really good; I highly recommend it! ME NEITHER THOUGH I HOPE I’LL LEARN MORE AFTER WATCHING THE MOVIE

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I got an ARC of Little Monsters way back in November at YALLFest, but unfortunately I’ve yet to read it (that pesky TBR just keeps getting longer and longer :P)! I’m glad to see you’re excited for it, I’ll definitely have to pick it up soon! And I’m actually just dying a slow death as I wait for Wonder Woman, it’s my most anticipated read of the year and I need it so badly!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I’m actually hoping to go to YALLFest this year! I’m so excited! 😄 And, yes, I’m so jealous of everyone who got Wonder Woman at YALLWest. It looks so gorgeous and I’ve heard nothing but good things! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, this is a long post! So much to add to my TBR!
    Honestly though all of this looks so gorgeous, but my personal anticipated releases are mostly made up of YA books… I’m slightly ashamed to say that I didn’t recognize most of these.. but um, I am SO excited for Wonder Woman because Leigh Bardugo = life and also Our Dark Duet but to which I confess I haven’t read the first book yet?? *hiding behind bookshelf*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much; these covers are stunning, aren’t they? 😍 These posts and my Monthly Recommendations post always take me forever to do because they’re so long, but they’re so worth it! 😂 Don’t feel bad; I read This Savage Song for the first time, like, two months ago??? It’s never too late to read a book! ❤

      Like

  6. Here Lies Daniel Tate is one of my most anticipated summer books as well – I absolutely loved her debut All Our Yesterdays so I’m crossing my fingers this one will be just as good. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They really are my jam! I float around a lot, in different genres, but I always come back to the Psychological Thrillers. Lol. One of my favorites I’ve read to date is, “Night Film”. Have you read it?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. AH I LOVE NIGHT FILM! 😍 It was one of the first psychological thrillers I read, and I’m pretty sure it’s what got me into the genre. Could rave about that book forever; it was so good. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. GAAAH You have Stephanie Kuehn on your list!!! 😆 I haven’t read When I Am Through with You yet, but I have read Charm & Strange by her and LOVED it. Her writing style is so unique, and I loved how the story was a chaotic mess until the ending, where Kuehn wrapped the story up perfectly and left no loose ends. Have you read Charm & Strange?

    Btw, I just found your blog and I love it! 😊 Good luck getting through that TBR 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I actually haven’t heard of Charm & Strange! I hadn’t heard of the author before the book; it’s always interesting; these curated lists help me learn about all these authors I don’t know too much about!

      And thank you so much; I’m glad you do! ❤ And haha, I don’t think I ever will. 😂 It’s SOO big.

      Like

Leave a Reply

