[LET’S CHAT] What Do You Blog For? A.K.A. Blogging Success

File_003 (9).png

So, I know this is probably a topic that’s been talked to death already (the woes of entering the book blogosphere late so all the good ideas are taken), but, hey, maybe I might have something awesome to add to the discussion.

I wanted to ask the question: what do you blog for? An alternate title could be: how do you determine blogging success?

File_005 (8)

So, it seems to me that the book blogging community has lots of things you shouldn’t blog for.

For example, the amount of times I’ve gone to a post titled “How to Get ARCs” and it says in some form, “Don’t blog just to get ARCs” is a lot of times. So, apparently, we as book bloggers frown upon people who want to blog for the free books. And, as I discussed in another Let’s Chat last month, there’s a lot of stigma and taboo around people who blog for popularity or based off of numbers and good stats. But book bloggers do think that blogging for the love of the community and for yourself are good reasons to blog, which makes me wonder is there really a “good reason” to start a book blog.

File_004 (11)

We’ll start with the whole controversy around ARCs first.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve yet to stumble upon a book blog that solely blogs for ARCs. I mean, how could you even really TELL someone is blogging for ARCs just by looking at someone’s blog? I say that mainly because blogging takes a lot of someone’s time and you have to put in SO MUCH EFFORT. Are ARCs worth it for all the time I put into the blog, whether e-ARC or physical copy? Definitely. But for someone who just starts a book blog because, “Hey, free books!” it might be a hard process. It’s not just trying to make your blog look pretty, reading enough books to write reviews, thinking up good content, and then actually writing that content. It’s also maintaining several social media accounts, having the time to do other non-blogging things, and then actually get people to read, comment, and like your posts, which is an effort in and of itself. And then you have to look at other people’s blogs and comment and make a presence. I mean, you have to get a good amount of stats before asking for ARCs. Sure, you might get lucky, but if you have 10 blog followers, and virtually no people reading what you write, you’re more likely to be declined than anything.

BUT, is it wrong to blog for ARCs? I guess some people see it as a greed sort of thing, but as I said earlier, I love being rewarded for my hard work not only with followers and comments and shares and likes, but also being blessed enough to get to read a book early and hype it up for others. It always feels good to know a publisher or a publicist looked at my blog, and thought I was good enough to read their book early. Since book blogs aren’t as big as fashion blogs, food blogs, parenting blogs, etc. – where they can make serious money off of it – and because sponsored reviews are so frowned upon in the book community, really, we’re “paid” in awesome stats and free books. And I have to say, the allure of getting to read a book early is totally awesome. Just saying.

File_001 (39)

And then there’s the frown upon of people who blog for popularity.

Again, bloggers seem to have this mindset that we should never, ever care about our numbers, which I don’t think is true. I mean, seeing all these super popular book blogs and hoping to get on their level someday shouldn’t be something that’s looked at as bad. I sure wish that I could be that one blog that has all the followers across all the social media accounts and the one that people mention and others go, “Oh, yeah, I love her blog, too!” Probably because I’m quiet in real life, and “Internet fame,” in a way, would be much easier to handle. And, to me, a successful blog is the one where all the popular bloggers comment on, and they get all the ARCs, and they handle social media perfectly, and they’re on everyone’s favorite lists, and they always inspire people. Other people might look at a successful blog as one that just has a good enough readership and lots of comments because that person wants a sense of community. Success is different to different people, and I don’t think there’s any “wrong” way to go about it.

BUT will blogging just for popularity become frustrating? Indeed it will. Personally, I’m very impatient. Like, about everything. I’ve talked several times about how I quit things, and I feel like the reason I so often do is because I always build up these unrealistic expectations in my head – on Wattpad, my story is going to blow up and I’m going to be spotted by a publisher; on Goodreads, I’m going to make the best reviews and become super popular like Emily May and have all the friends and followers – and then I’ll peak in success and get super excited, but as soon as that peak slowly descends, or I’m not doing as well as before, I start to get deflated and lose interest. I don’t want that to happen with blogging (and, so far, it hasn’t!). I’m one of those people who starts things, puts a lot of work into it, and then waits for success to come to me RIGHT NOW, even though there’s a part in my head that’s telling me that it’ll take time before I reach that status. So, for someone like me, it’ll be rough to start out and realize that you could work so hard on a post, and only one person likes it. The road to popularity success is a bumpy one, but I don’t necessarily think that you’ll crash and burn because of it.

File_000 (77)

Then we move on to the “good reason” for book blogging – the community.

And not just the book blogging community in general, but just a community of bookworms. This could apply to blogging, to Book Twitter, to Goodreads, to bookstagram. It’s awesome how there’s an endless amount of platforms to talk and share our love about books nowadays! I’ve said this before, but in real life, I don’t know too many people who read. So, it’s always a little disheartening when I finish a great book, and I have nobody to talk to about it. Hence one of the reasons why I started this blog – I wanted to talk about books, but I also wanted to talk about other bookish-related topics, as you can see by my word-y Discussion and Let’s Chat posts. So, for me, book blogging seemed to be the best way to go, and I haven’t looked back since.

I’m guessing the main reason why this is seen as a “good reason” to start a book blog is because it’s less greedy, in a way? Like, I’m sure to others, blogging to get free books or to gain some form of popularity makes you seem like a vain person, but you’ll think better of a person if they say, “I started blogging to join the wonderful community,” if that makes sense?

File_007 (8).jpeg

I’m not saying that people who say that are fake in any way, because I said it just earlier, but why does it seem like I can’t blog for all three reasons?

I blog because I love the community and I love sharing my thoughts with people who will finally understand me. I blog because I like to be rewarded for all the work I put into my blog with free early copies of books. I blog because I’d love to be an inspiration or a favorite to others. I blog because I don’t feel comfortable expressing my feelings all the time in real life, and knowing that there are people out there who listen and like those thoughts always warms my heart. I blog because even though a comment might be super long, it’s always nice to know that someone thought my post was worth it enough to leave one. I blog for all these reasons, and that’s why I like to think my blog is successful. Not just because I’ve met so many awesome people, but because I get to read some amazing books early and for free and I know that there are people out there who care enough about what I have to say. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever blog for just ONE reason. And I think that’s okay.

arrow

Also, just wanted to take a moment to say that I’ve sent out e-mails to all the Big Bloggers as to who you’re assigned to! The project starts today (YAY!), and I hope you guys are as excited as I am about the whole thing! I have three book blogs that I’ll be supporting, so that’s fun! I just wanted to let you guys know in case you happened to not get an e-mail or something. But feel free to ask me any questions or if you haven’t gotten an e-mail in your inbox!

Let's Chat

What do you blog for? Do you consider your blog successful and why? What is a successful blog to you? Any blogs that immediately come to mind when you think “successful” (just because I’m interested if anyone picks the same person lol)?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’ |Β Twitter

42 thoughts on “[LET’S CHAT] What Do You Blog For? A.K.A. Blogging Success

  1. I totally agree with you here.

    I think one point you missed out was people blogging for money, but that doesn’t really apply to book bloggers but also kind of does. I got asked to write an honest review for a website in return for $10. And I said yes ( I still haven;t written it) because a)I’m giving my actual opinions 2) who doesn’t want money? I can use my blog for a platform and still use it for anything else. It’s not like I’m JUSt advertising, I’m going, to be honest, and therefore exposing me and my readers to new content. I would never get paid to say a PRODUCT is good because that would be selfish and lie to my readers about a product. I’m not sure if this counts as being ‘greedy’.

    I’ve heard about just blogging for ‘free books’ but I’ve never taken it serious? Because does anyone actually do that, I mean as you said, you’ve still got a blog to run and that takes dedication.

    I blog a lot for the community and enjoyment of writing posts and having a responsibility. It’s nice to say, yeah ‘I have a blog’ and be known for that. it’s just wonderful?

    I definitely enjoy popularity because IT IS HUMAN. So many people blog for this reason because as your blog grows, YOU GET HAPPY at every comment or follow and that’s normal. It’s a motivation to keep going. I hope one day, people know my blog just by the name and everyone just loves it entirely like yours?

    Popular blogs? Successful blogs? Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook. Cait @ Paper Fury Cassidy @ Quiartzfeather. And, no this isn’t flattery or anything, but, honestly, YOU.

    Your blog is just so awesome and your discussions are always intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, yes, I didn’t think of that! I feel like that’s mainly because it’s SO HARD for book bloggers to get paid, and I honestly know so little about it, I wouldn’t even know how???

      Yes, I would love for that to happen! I know it’s a pet peeve of mine when fellow book bloggers diss or frown upon Booktubers for doing sponsored posts…but then turn around and say they want to get paid for blogging. Like, how do you think you’d be paid??? Yeah, I don’t care much for products. I don’t have any money to buy anything, so if you advertised for a bookish subscription box or a bookish merchandise shop, it wouldn’t matter either way! πŸ˜‚

      Yeah, same; I still haven’t seen that. I still don’t know how you’d be able to tell???

      Yes, I agree with responsibility! I feel like my parents get frustrated with me because they want me to be responsible about things that I just don’t care about, and I’m not. But I am responsible for things that I love and care about, which is why I take book blogging so seriously. They’d probably be surprised if I told them all I do for my blog. πŸ˜‚

      Yes, exactly! My readers and likes and comments are huge motivators! And I love discussion; which is always good!

      Ah, I love Molly and Cait! I really need to check out Quartzfeather! AND AW NO MAHRIYA! ❀ That’s so sweet; thank you! πŸ˜„ You’re too kind!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with you, Mikaela! I think that I blog for many reasons, like you. And I also think that one of the reasons I blog for is popularity and success. Because it’s human to do that, right??? We all want our blogs to be successful, to be slightly popular.

    I think that if you blog for ARCs, you can blog SOLELY for ARCs. They can be one reason — like yours: “I like to be rewarded for all the work I put into my blog with free early copies of books.” Obviously free books are nice, but I think that if you blog for other things as well, you’re good.

    Lol the successful blog that comes to mind is Paper Fury. XD But I’m still finding big blogs! I won’t say a blog is more successful than another based on followers (another discussion topic??? XD ), but there are plenty of successful blogs with a “low”amount of followers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think it’s definitely human! Just like no matter what, we’ll always want our blogs to grow. Because we’re human, and we always want more, more, more!

      Yes, free books are super nice! So I can definitely get why someone would blog for them! And I know there are some people who can’t buy/afford books, so that’s a way that they’re able to read, which is why I don’t see that as a greedy reason for blogging.

      Same for me; she was one of the first blogs I was inspired by! And, yes; I have that discussion written up! Wrote it yesterday, actually! πŸ˜‚ I don’t know when I’ll post it, though; it’s a back-up post!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We all want some kind of validation or appreciation for all the hard work we do while putting together our blog, wether it’s free ARCs or a great boost in your popularity it will depend on what you enjoy more. I started this blog because I want to connect with people, I want to have that sense of community where I can gush about my favorite characters, ships, stories and not receive a blank stare. I’m an introvert and actually making this sort of connection it’s very hard in real life so, I guess blogging it’s cathartic in way, making the effort to put yourself out there and be rewarded someway for it.
    I really enjoy your let’s chat posts you always have such interesting topics and I can relate to a lot of them especially as a newbie blogger. I haven’t received an email on the big blogger/ little blogger project but I’m not sure if you just emailed the big bloggers? Anyway I’m excited to participate.
    Thanks so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is definitely true! Nothing feels better than writing a long post and editing it and then seeing lots of comments and likes from people! It’s always nice to see your hard work pay off (and I work super hard regarding my blog, so it feels great)! I’m also an introvert, and I’m also socially anxious, so blogging is really cathartic! And I get to have my own little space! πŸ˜„

      Aw, thank you; I’m so glad that you can relate as a newbie! ❀ And, yes, I only sent Big Bloggers e-mails as to who their Little Bloggers were! But you’re actually one of mine, if you’re curious! πŸ˜„

      Like

    • Thank you so much! And I agree! This is definitely hectic, but it’s the good kind of hectic that I really enjoy! I mean, I’m also ten times more organized when it comes to blogging, so that might be why! XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such an interesting post! I feel like it is a topic that I have never really seen talked about before- but it is such a compelling issue. Your post tackled it so beautifully and thoroughly! I don’t consider my blog successful yet because I have not gotten any ARCs, have very low stats, and am just starting to interact with the community. But that’s ok- I just started and will get better! Also, did you just email big bloggers for your project? I applied as a little blogger, but didn’t get an email. I’m so excited for this project- it’s an amazing idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you so much! ❀ And, yes, you’ll get there in time! In my second month of blogging, one of my posts literally got 5 views, 2 likes, and 0 comments. πŸ˜‚ So don’t feel bad! πŸ˜„ And, yes, just Big Bloggers as to who they’re assigned to! I didn’t want to confuse anyone when they signed up, so I just generalized everything! πŸ˜„

      Like

  5. Pingback: I Dare You // Book Tag – Mixed Margins

  6. “Successful” is always dependent on the individual. And it’s hard to know when you’ve reached that status. I bet that a lot of the blogs we think of as successful don’t really see themselves in the same way…they’re always looking for room to grow. (That’s a good thing; it’s how they got to where they are.) And I bet they still compare themselves to other bloggers that they love. It’s just what we do.

    As for the reasons for blogging, I think you’re 100% right–it can be all 3. I’ve been blogging for 6 years now and have little followers to show for it, and I was completely fine with that for awhile because I was such a casual blogger. But now that I’m trying to put more work into it, I’d like to see more people reading it. πŸ™‚ Blogging can be tough work, and it’s always disappointing if you put a lot of effort into a post and nobody reads it. (But that’s where every blog starts out.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, definitely! And that’s so true – like, where I am now with my blog, I’m very satisfied (and so incredibly lucky) when I think about my goals for it when I started a five or so months ago. But even now, I still want to grow and improve! And even though I like to think I’ll hit a sweet spot, I probably never will. πŸ˜‚

      Yeah, I feel that! I remember in my first month of blogging, I was so upset when I posted something, and it didn’t get a lot of attention. I wanted to quit, but I stuck with it, and I’m glad I did! Even now, some of my posts do meh, but now I’ve learned that it’s not the worst thing in the world, and, sometimes, has nothing to do with me. πŸ˜„

      Like

  7. This is a very interesting discussion! Honestly, I don’t think it’s strictly bad to blog for ARCS/Free books because it doesn’t really matter WHY you do it, as long as you’re making others happy by reading your content. And even if others DID blog for free books, I agree- it would probably evolve into something more because DEDICATION is needed for blogs.
    And yeah, popularity is definitely not a bad thing. It’s not bad to enjoy popularity, it’s not bad to want success, it’s not bad to want your name out there. What IS bad, though, is using your popularity for bad means and/or putting others down because they might be less popular than you. I have never seen examples of these bad things in the blogging community and I hope not to.
    Thanks for this post, it has a very interesting discussion topic πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I agree! I mean, if you’re making someone else happy, whether you want free books or not, it doesn’t really matter in the end. I mean, I’ve seen some bloggers say that they DID start out because they wanted ARCs, but are still blogging two years later, so it definitely can happen! πŸ˜„

      I agree! I haven’t seen any of that in the book blogging community either, and I hope it stays that way! I think it’s silly, tbh. I know for sure that there are big blogs that I just…don’t get why they’re big (which sounds awful, but sometimes it’s just not my taste πŸ˜‚), and small blogs that I feel like should have ALL THE FOLLOWERS. So being popular doesn’t necessarily mean it’s good, just like being small doesn’t mean it’s terrible.

      Thank you for the kind words! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. THIS IS PEFECT AND WONDERFUL AND I AGREE. (Your discussions are so spot on omg.) I absolutely have no problem with people blogging for “free books”. You know how they say don’t start twitter for giveaways?? Hahah *awkward silence* Although I think I can successfully say I moved past that. πŸ˜‰ But like I absolutely changed my blog to focus on books so I could get ARCs! I used to be more writing focused. And I don’t have a problem with that. It’s like saying you can cook but you can’t look forward to eating the food, right? Which is nonsense. I think there’s this huge stigma that book bloggers (and like a lot of artists actually) don’t deserve to be compensated for their work. But we do. What we do is important!!
    And YES to the community! And YES to blogging because we want to be successful at it! Why not?! Why not try to achieve and be the best we can be! I just think the important thing about blogging is to be kind in whatever you do. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU SO MUCH, CAIT AW. That means so much to me; you inspired my blog so much, so it means a lot to know you like my discussions! ❀

      Haha, I’d join in so many more Twitter giveaways if they didn’t require me to follow accounts. πŸ˜‚ And, yes, I agree about the whole artists thing! When it comes to authors writing more books in a successful series, it’s a cash grab. When actors and musicians and singers make money, people say they don’t deserve it because they “basically do nothing.” Even some book bloggers seem to frown upon Booktubers who get sponsored by publishers (even though we say we want to be paid!!!). But we definitely deserve to be compensated for what we do!

      Exactly! I just want to be the best at blogging that I can be, and those are just my goals! And, definitely! BE KIND EVERYONE!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. It might be that some bloggers start out with the intention or “goal” to get arcs but I feel like after a while in the blogging community it would seem less important. Like you said blogging takes a lot of time out of the day and you have to be constantly thinking of new ideas, so it’s hard to believe that someone could set out purely to get arc copies.
    I really enjoyed this post (as usual), can’t wait for the next chat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, definitely! I’ve seen a lot of bloggers that are veterans that have been blogging for 3+ years that say they don’t care much about ARCs, so it might depend on age and eventually outgrowing things (though it’s not bad if someone still does! I know it’s one of my motivating factors!). Not to mention that there are free festivals and events that you can go to every year that give away ARCs with zero obligation, so there really is need to blog if you want them! πŸ˜‚ And thank you so much! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I actually do think you can blog for all three. I understand why people are slightly distrustful of blogs that seem overly “mercenary,” but I’m with you in that I very, very run across blogs that seem built for the sole purpose of “getting stuff.” (Though, I have, once in a while. I just don’t think it’s an enormous issue.)

    I also don’t know how one could blog “only” to be popular without putting in tons of work. Would writing posts and taking photos that appeal to readers make you “fake?” Or is that exactly what tons of websites are actually about…appealing to people and getting followers?

    I agree community and sharing books is essential, but I don’t see how you can really appreciate the community without having followers, you know? Even if you’re not the “biggest” blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, same! I just don’t think I’d really care? I mean, good on you, if you can get those ARCs like nobody’s watching! πŸ˜‚

      Yeah, I think community and popularity definitely tie together! Because no matter what, you’ll always want to grow your blog! Just like even though I love the people that comment on my blog now, I want more people who have never commented on my blog to do the same thing! In a way, that IS a sense of community. Because someone with two followers and no one reading their blog posts probably doesn’t feel that sense of community someone with 200 followers does.

      Like

      • I think the ARC thing was an issue because some people were overthinking book hauls and thinking that some bloggers were “obsessed” with ARCs. But maybe not realizing that big bloggers get sent ARCs they don’t ask for, and featuring them in hauls and such at least gives them some publicity, if the blogger in question can’t get around to reading them all. I think there’s a little less stigma around this now that Instagram is big. But, yeah, if you blog “only” to get ARCs and manage to actually get them from respected publishers, you’re probably still putting tons of work into your blog to do it, so I guess I can’t complain, though perhaps you’d be better off just getting an actual job and paying for books! :p

        Liked by 1 person

  11. #realtalk
    I completely agree with you! I mean you could consider blogging like a type of business (the term business just sounds a bit more jaded than the ever pure “blogging”). Lots of people start businesses out of some sort of passion, but of course your client/customer numbers do matter and setting free things or discounts on supplies is ideal! It seems like it’s really only normal to blog for all three reasons! I mean, we brand ourselves on social media all the time – i think we’re past worrying about looking greedy or narcissistic (i don’t mean that in a bad way either)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely! That’s a really good way to explain things! And it’s also natural to want to grow your business! And, yeah, I think so, too. I feel like for some reason book bloggers feel like they need to be humble, even though other niches, like food and fashion, don’t feel scared to say they’re sponsored by someone or to show off their monthly stats. We’re a weird bunch. πŸ˜‚

      Like

  12. I started blogging because I wanted to share my love for books, and to be able to express my opinions in a place that is all my own. That is still the main reason for me having this blog, but the community and the ARCs are of course a huge plus.
    I didn’t start blogging because of the ARCs, but I have to be honest, looking at all these booktubers with entire shelves filled with ARCs did make me a bit jealous. However, I know I will never be able to collect a lot of physical ARCs, that’s just one of the cons of being an international book blogger. So yeah, I don’t do it for the ARCs, but it does allow me to read a lot more.
    I just blog because I love it and as long as that stays that way, I’ll keep blogging. Great discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, yes! I watched so much Booktubers before I even discovered book blogging. I would probably be a Booktubers if I weren’t painfully shy and socially anxious. πŸ˜‚ Ah, that sucks! I sometimes feel like I’d rather live in Australia or the U.K. because blogging competition in the U.S. is so fierce – there’s so many big blogs here that I feel like I’ll never get a chance! πŸ™ˆ

      That’s so true! When it starts to get stressful like school, I know that I should probably take a step back! πŸ˜„ Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I wanted to be a booktuber as well but I don’t think I would want that anymore. I like writing and blogging a lot and I don’t think I would be able to do the same on YouTube. Plus, I’d have to be with my face on the internet and there’d be people watching πŸ˜‚
        I never realised that. I have no clue how it is here in Europe, I don’t know a lot of European bloggers but we’re all blogging in the same language so I’m not sure it really matters where you’re from.
        You’re welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting to achieve any of those reasons! I think, for me, if I ever tell someone “don’t blog FOR those things” I don’t mean it’s bad to want them. Absolutely set goals for yourself, if that’s getting all the arcs you want, getting 5k subscribers, or just meeting cool people, it doesn’t matter. When I say don’t blog for them, I guess what I would be trying to say is don’t let it be the reason you do it. Like, blog FOR fun, FOR interactions, but don’t put all of your worth INTO those things – not because they’re bad or some negative stigma, but because they can cause stress, make a fun thing not fun anymore, and cause people to be less true to what they actually want their blog to look like/be about because they’re trying to appeal to a certain audience (again, we all do this regardless, but sometimes stress and envy can cause it to be even more prevalent). I have no idea if that makes sense.

    TL;DR, be the most badass blogger you want to be, setting any goals you want, just make sure you’re having fun doing it! πŸ˜€ haha

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, definitely! I pointed out that a road to popularity is very rocky – which is true; I know it was for me! I remember in my first month of blogging, one of my posts didn’t do well, and I was SO FRUSTRATED. I almost wanted to quit, but I went on, and it’s definitely gotten better! So I’m glad I didn’t! For me, blogging for my audience is a lot of fun, and in a way, is blogging for me – because I want that interaction! That definitely makes sense! ❀

      Like

  14. I think it’s important to keep a balance, to know where you want your blog to go someday, setting yourself little goals that keep you motivated to keep posting (apart from enjoying to talk about books and recommend ARCs to people. I personally don’t mind that people get ARCs because, for me, it’s really cool getting to know someone’s opinion of a book that isn’t out yet, so, I know what they think of it which helps me decide whether I want to read it or not).

    Personally, I haven’t set myself any goal with the blog. I just want to have fun talking about books I read/want to read and share things about myself people don’t know about me.

    As for blogging for popularity, I feel like, we all want to be rewarded for our work we put into our blogs and there’s nothing wrong with that. Having fun doing what we do is important but getting recognition for it is just as important.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s definitely true! I know that every month I want to beat the stats I had the previous month because it means my blog is growing, and I want it to grow! I don’t mind people getting ARCs either! I love ARCs. And I know I almost requested a book, but because of early reviews, found out I was completely wrong about what it was really about, so I avoided maybe being accepted for a book I would have hated.

      And that’s so true! I really like to be rewarded working, like, an hour or two on a post and to see people appreciate it and comment on it. That interaction means a lot to me! 😁 And I’m having fun at the same time!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Swetlana and me do really look at the stats to see what resonates the most with our audience and what we should do differently. I think them getting arcs is a great way to promote authors that just started out and want to have succes I mean that’s the aim of being an author besides loving to write. That’s true and arcs also help me see whether people enjoyed the book or whether it’s something I might not like. Yeah I always try to answer every comment because they mean a lot to me and I like engaging with people on here!

        Liked by 1 person

  15. This was such an interesting discussion, I blog in order to talk to other people who love books as much as I do and as a way to get my bookish thoughts out but it always makes my day when I see people liking my posts and commenting on them.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Interesting discussion. I agree there’s easier ways to get free books, thanks to Net Galley, GoodReads, and Library Thing. My reason is partly community and partly to practice my writing. I love writing, and books are one thing I’m passionate about.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Unfortunately, you can’t get free books through Goodreads (it’s only a reviewing site!), but I get a lot of my ARCs via Netgalley, and those are nice as well! And, yes, practicing your writing is definitely good! I’m still in school at the moment, so I guess maybe it might be improving? I can’t tell. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

