Bite-Sized Reviews | The “WTF Did I Just Read?” Edition

File_000 (97).png

Good news has come: I HAVE BROKEN MY DAMN READING SLUMP!

I thought that the reason I had one was because of reading fantasy, but I think it’s actually because of all these sequels and finales I’ve been attempting to read, but just am not in the mood for. So, at the moment, I’m going to be taking a break from sequels until I’m in the mood for them because I MISSED READING BOOKS SO MUCH.

Anyway, for some reason, I made a terrible decision to go around requesting Netgalley books over the last few months, then getting accepted for them, and then saying, “Well, the book’s not going to be published FOR MONTHS, so I don’t have to worry about it, right?” WRONG. Summer comes upon me, and I realize that I apparently ALL THE BOOKS ARE COMING OUT IN JULY. AND ON THE SAME DAY. WHICH IS TUESDAY. PUBLISHERS ARE WEIRD.

So, since I have way too many July books coming out on similar dates (seriously, there are 31 damn days in July. Why can’t they just space it out???), I thought I’d go ahead and do some mini reviews to take the load off!

arrow

The Revenge

Genre: Thriller

Series: None

Rating: 1 STAR

Release Date: July 1, 2017

Synopsis:

Break ups can be messy. After his ex-girlfriend Hope embarrasses him in front of the entire school, Tony wants revenge. So he signs her up for online dating sites, subscriptions, and even makes the location of her phone public. And it works. A few days later, Hope calls begging Tony to stop the prank. Then Hope screams and a car door slams. The call drops.

Tony tries to keep cool. It’s just like Hope to get back at him with more drama. But when Hope isn’t at school the next day, Tony knows the joke has gone too far-and he may have lead a predator right to his ex’s door. Can Tony find Hope and save her before it’s too late for both of them?

My Thoughts

Um…WTF? This book honestly left me speechless. Like most YA thrillers I hated, the only credit I can give it is that it was addicting…and that’s basically it. The characters were completely forgettable, the writing wasn’t that good, and it was just…weird? I literally can’t put into words how much this didn’t make sense. And the ending was SO OPEN. Like, it just ended, and when I saw that there were acknowledgements, I flipped back to see if I had missed something because that couldn’t possibly have been the end. But, nope, that was it. Basically, this was the poor man’s version of Gone Girl. Like, a REALLY poor man’s version of Gone Girl.

In Summary: 

what just happened here

arrow

waste-of-space

Genre: Contemporary

Series: None

Rating: 3 STARS

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Synopsis: 

Cram ten hormonal teens into a spaceship and blast off: that’s the premise for the ill-conceived reality show Waste of Space. The kids who are cast know everything about drama—and nothing about the fact that the production is fake. Hidden in a desert warehouse, their spaceship replica is equipped with state-of-the-art special effects dreamed up by the scientists partnering with the shady cable network airing the show.    

And it’s a hit! Millions of viewers are transfixed. But then, suddenly, all communication is severed. Trapped and paranoid, the kids must figure out what to do when this reality show loses its grip on reality.   

My Thoughts

And we have another “WTF?” book, except on a totally different scale! I guess you could say that it was contemporary, but then a little sci-fi ended up being thrown in at the end, so was it magical realism? WHO KNOWS? This was basically making fun of reality shows, and I actually enjoyed how satirical it was and how it poked fun at itself! It was also formatted to include interviews and transcripts, so think Illuminae, except all the science stuff is fake? This is honestly the hardest book to rate ever, because I didn’t enjoy it, but I didn’t hate it? So, three stars it is, I guess!

In Summary:

Question Marks

arrow

The Inside Dark

Genre: Thriller

Series: None

Rating: 4 STARS

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Synopsis:

Five days ago, aspiring crime novelist Jason Swike awoke chained to the wall of a run-down horse stable, convinced he would soon die at the hands of Crackerjack, the infamous serial killer who had terrorized the residents of Massachusetts for the past year—capturing and tormenting men, painting whimsical designs on their faces before shattering their bones and ending their lives. Just when death seems inevitable, Jason, with the help of another captive, manages to kill the madman and escape.

Hailed as a hero, Jason reaps the benefits of his newfound fame: a book deal, a possible reconciliation with his estranged wife, and reward money he can use to pay for his son’s costly medical treatments. But he soon realizes the nightmare that began in the deserted stable is far from over, as he is drawn into a twisted game where the darkest terror may not be the psychopath manipulating his every move, but what Jason may have to do to survive…

My Thoughts

I absolutely devoured this one! I was really happy that the synopsis was so vague because that’s what made the book so entertaining – you think that the book doesn’t have enough material to carry on, but then BAM! Something happens halfway through and you just can’t stop reading because it’s so tense! I enjoyed seeing all the POVs in the story, and the ending was SO GOOD. This reminded me of Jeff Strand’s Pressure (which I loved!), but if you haven’t read that book, don’t bother looking it up because the synopsis will spoil you for this one. Overall, I really enjoyed it, and I hope to get to some of his other books soon!

In Summary:

Thumbs Up 3

arrow

A huge thank you to Sourcebooks Fire, HMH Children’s Book Group, and Thomas and Mercer for the e-ARCS via Netgalley!  

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

27 thoughts on “Bite-Sized Reviews | The “WTF Did I Just Read?” Edition

  1. Oh I’m so glad you’re out of your book slump Mikaela, and posting these reviews is a good way to celebrate that as well as get through some of the ARCs still on your list. 🙂
    These sound like interesting books I guess. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy The Revenge at all, but oh Waste of Space sounds quite interesting, I may have to look into that because it does sound like the kind of story I’d enjoy a little. I hope you manage to get around to some other of James Hankin’s books soon, and I hope you enjoy them as much as you did The Inside Dark. 🙂
    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I am, too! I finished two more Netgalley reads, and that means that once I give feedback, I’ll be past 80%!!!! So that’s exciting! 😂

      Yeah, I requested it mainly because the premise was so interesting and it was so weird, but entertaining to read! Yeah, I found out I have one of his books in my TBR that I meant to read last year but didn’t (like a lot of books lol), so hopefully I might get to it this year! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Waste of Space sounds so interesting! It almost sounds a little bit like the movie 400 days that Caity Lotz is in. Phew, that was a confusing mess of a movie – although I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love your gif reactions! They make reviews so much more entertaining 😀

    Fleur @ Fleur Henley

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am glad you’re out of your slump! Slumps are the WORST. I have been having trouble with sequels lately too, I like your idea of skipping them for now! And it’s so funny because I have NO July books and you have ALL the July books! Revenge sounds like a real mess. Yikes! And I kind of like the idea of Waste of Space, but if it is only a 3 star… meh. I don’t need more ‘meh” in my life 😉 Great reviews, I am so glad things are going better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are the worst! I missed reading so much! 😩 Yeah, I don’t know when I’ll get back to them, but it seems like every time I pick one up, it just halts all reading for some reason, and it takes me an unreasonably long time to finish it. Yeah, Revenge was not good ugh! Yeah, I get that! Unless I’m really intrigued, do I really need to read a 3-star book???

      Like

Leave a Reply

