[LET’S CHAT] What Makes You Comment On A Blog Post?

File_000 (91).png

Let’s continue this wonderful series of “Let’s Chat” posts that could only be titled “Mikaela Is The Only Person In the World Who Cares About This.”

I’ve done posts on what makes me follow a blog and also my opinions on blog commenting, but I realized that I’ve never really combined the posts together into an interesting discussion. I’ve never really seen a discussion in the blogosphere about this, but I thought it would be a fun post to write because I realized this is a question I ask when I scan my Reader: what am I compelled to go read and comment on?

arrow

File_006 (7)

I feel like before we can get into a deeper analysis as to why we comment on certain posts, I wanted to talk about why I’m compelled to comment on blog posts in general! I feel like there are three main reasons why I usually comment on someone’s post.

1. When I have something to say. I would usually apply commenting like this for when someone makes a list of books or recommendations, and I’ve read the books before or the blogger and I share the same books on our TBR or we share the same opinion on a character or series. I feel like these are easier and shorter comments.

2. When I relate to it in some way. I mainly use these on discussion posts I read because I apply it to my reading or blogging life in some way and talk about how I do things.

3. Because I want and/or need to. Usually, I fire these off when I’m tired or lazy, so they’re pretty short overall and not as long as I’d like them to be. This usually happens when all the posts in my Reader have stacked up over a couple of days, and I just can’t keep up with them all.

File_007 (4)

I definitely feel like how we comment is definitely geared towards which types of posts we’re commenting on. Or maybe that’s just me. I know when I look at my Reader, I scan the title of the post, and from that, I can figure out whether I’ll like and comment on the post, or if I’ll just like it out of courtesy.

1. Reviews. I think we can all agree that it’s really hard to comment on reviews unless you can relate to what’s being talked about. I know if it’s a book I’m not interested in or haven’t read yet, I’m probably just going to skip out on the review. If it’s one of my anticipated reads, I’ll probably give it a glance and like it. And if I’ve actually read the book, then I’ll probably leave a like and a comment discussing my thoughts on it! Really, it all depends on what book is being reviewed. I tend to not really comment on reviews at all, to be honest, though.

2. Memes. These are a pretty easy post to find SOME way to relate to. I think it depends on what meme you’re doing – I find Top Ten Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday to be the easiest to comment on – but there are some that are, in all honesty, just filler. I mean, what can you actually comment on a Teaser Tuesday post unless you’ve read the book they’re teasing? Some are definitely better at drawing in comments over others, in my opinion.

3. Wrap-Ups, Weekly Recaps, TBRs, and Book Hauls. I feel like these are definitely hard to comment on. I usually skim through these types of posts, and unless I have something to relate to that doesn’t seem like filler – like “Oh, yeah, I enjoyed that book, too!” – I usually just like them and leave. In my opinion, they can be sort of boring (which probably explains why I don’t write them), but that’s definitely a me thing!

4. Discussions. These are definitely the easiest to comment on! No matter what’s being discussed or said, all people reading the post will have some sort of opinion on the topic and want to express it! You can always probably find something to relate to, whether you disagree or agree on the blogger’s opinion, and a good discussion usually asks questions and is open for your thoughts and opinions, so it’s always much more personal! I know I usually comment on most discussions that pop up in my Reader, especially if they’re really interesting and well-written!

arrow

File_001 (56)

And those are my opinions on commenting on certain posts!

I’m sure all of you guys will have different opinions on what makes you comment on a post and why you even comment on posts, so I’m definitely curious about hearing your thoughts on what makes you comment on which types of blog posts!

Let's Chat

What makes you comment on a blog post? Do you comment on certain types of posts like I do, or do you just comment on all of them? What are your favorite and least favorite posts to comment on?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’ |Ā Twitter

63 thoughts on “[LET’S CHAT] What Makes You Comment On A Blog Post?

  1. I like to comment on people’s blogs who also comment on mine, just to sort of be present? But if I feel like I have something to add I like to comment in general. Most difficult time to comment (for me) is when someone doesn’t like a book that I loved and I just want to tell them all the things I love, but I know that not everyone feels as I do and that people can have their own opinions :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Engaging with others helps to grow the blog. You also learn new things and make friends by commenting. I comment when something catches my eye or interest me. I also comment to help support other bloggers. It is all about keeping things fun and exciting and what better way to do that than to comment. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always feel like I lack in commenting on posts! I find it really difficult to think of things to say. I often find myself making fluffy comments like “oo, I want to read that book too, I hope you like it!” etc and I feel like these are pretty pointless? Idk, it’s just tough sometimes

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The absolute only thing that decides or deters when I comment on posts is time! If I am incredibly busy, I sometimes have time to browse a post, share them and then that is it. If I have more time (like this morning!) then I am able to comment. For me, it has nothing to do with content or anything else. I wish I was able to MAKE myself have time each morning to be able to engage with other bloggers daily. Hopefully, I’ll find a better balance soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Funny, I find review posts some of the easiest to comment on — especially if I have questions about the book that weren’t answered in the review. But that all depends on whether I’m interested in the book or not.

    As for discussion posts, I’ll read anything that discusses genre, characters, tropes, or trends in writing — and I’m more likely to comment on those types of posts, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, me commenting on a review is definitely based off if I have any interest in the book! If it’s a book in a series I haven’t read or I already know I don’t want to read it, I’ll probably skip on the review. Yeah, I love discussions! Ones about blogging are always nice to read!

      Like

  6. Commenting is a hard thing for me. I’m very short on time to peruse other blogs so most of the time I like and move to the next. I save commenting for the blogs/content I can really relate to, love, and have something meaningful to offer

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It always depends if I’ll comment. Some people are always active on my posts so I try to at least like and read their posts. I’ll usually try to leave a comment for those people (unless I absolutely can’t think of anything to say) Other times I’ll see a review for a book I like or a discussion that looks interesting so I’ll read thru and just comment if I have anything to say. I’ll usually still like the post if that’s the case, I like pretty much any post I actually read thru

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like to comment on posts that I can relate to, or posts that I like & enjoy! šŸ˜Š I also don’t like commenting “great post” – I think carefully about my comments to make them genuine, kind & useful! šŸ™‚ P.S what website/app do you use for your graphics? I think they’re so PRETTY! šŸ˜šŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gosh, I was just thinking about this! I NEVER want to feel like I absolutely HAVE to comment on posts, because that takes out the fun in blogging. Discussions are definitely the easiest to comment on because they’re prompting you to DISCUSS, haha! I personally LOVE monthly wrap-ups/recaps, but sometimes they talk about SO much — and while I enjoy that, it’s a little hard to choose what to comment on. I usually skip out on reviews as well, unless it’s something I’ve heard of/want to read/am reading/have read. XD

    I also comment when I feel like my opinion needs to be heard. For example, there could be a controversial post talking about the way that person feels on a certain topic, but I have a DIFFERENT opinion and I want people to hear it too. (Wow that sounds really elitist… XD) Love this post, Mikaela! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it definitely does! I know I have to be in a mood to comment, personally! Yeah, that’s true! I totally should’ve mentioned it in the post, but there are times where I WANT to comment, but there’s so much information that I want to discuss, but it’s overwhelming, so I don’t, if that makes sense? šŸ˜

      Haha, I don’t think it sounds elitist! šŸ˜‚ And that makes sense! I usually agree with most of the posts I read, I think, so I’ve never encountered that, but it’s definitely true! Thank you! šŸ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve been trying to go out of my way to comment on good reviews. Like you said, reviews don’t really get as many comments, but they’re the whole reason we’re doing this book blog thing! (Or at least, why I’M doing this book blog thing…) It makes me feel so awesome when someone tells me “that was a great review!”, and I want to make other bloggers feel great too! So when a review is on point, or makes me want to add it to my tbr, or is funny, I try to at least comment “Wow, thanks for the great review” or something like that. Or tell them their review caused me to add it to my tbr.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I tend to comment on posts where I feel that I can add something to the discussion. I usually hate leaving one liners like “I agree” or “great post”. I usually comment on posts about books I’ve read or are interested in reading. I don’t read romance or erotica, so any posts about that genre I usually don’t post at all. I always like a post to show my support, but I like to try to add a little something to the discussion rather than just commenting to comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I always feel instinctively bad when I leave a short comment, which is silly, because it doesn’t have to be three paragraphs long to be a “real comment” but I don’t want it to be too short either! Yeah, it definitely depends on what types of books they read! I know I don’t like YA contemporary that much, so if a post focuses on that, I know I really won’t have anything to say!

      Like

  12. My favorite posts to comment on are the ones where I feel like I have something to bring to the discussion – obviously, discussion posts, but also blogging tips and tricks and sometimes bookish recommendations, are very high at the top blog posts where I comment, for sure. Sometimes, I feel at a loss for words in some blog posts, and it takes the fun out of blogging and interacting with others for sure. I really want to share the love as much as I can by commenting on other blog posts, but to do that, I want to make sure I always something I have to say, and not just something random like “great post”. I’m definitely commenting when I feel like I could bring something to the conversation, which is why I love discussion posts.
    Lovely post! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I used to always comment on most posts I read, but lately I’ve been lacking. I usually try to comment on most posts I read if I have something to say. Reviews are SO hard to comment on, but yeah, discussions and memes are the easiest. I find wrap ups/tbrs/etc. can be easy but can also be tricky, depending on the content of the post I guess

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, same! I feel like it’s an on and off thing. Some days I’ll comment on all the posts and some days, in just like, “Meh. I don’t feel like reading these posts; I’ll catch up later.” Yeah, exactly! I might be able to talk a little if something happens in their life and they talk about it, but if they just talk about the books they read, I never know what to say! šŸ˜¬

      Like

  14. It’s interesting to see what draws you in the most! I find wrap ups to be very interesting and engaging, especially if I am following the blogger closely, or I’m friends with them! Discussion posts usually tend to scare me off haha because I’m lazy and also for other reasons that probably make no sense šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ I like to comment on reviews if I’m interested in the book or have already read it and memes and tags are always fun to read and comment on! If the content doesn’t interest me I’ll usually just like the post and move on until the next one comes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I always feel like I have nothing to say when people do wrap-ups! I’m usually at a loss for words! šŸ˜‚ Discussion posts are easiest for me because I have a launching point! Yeah, I’ll usually do the same, but I’m also that paranoid person who thinks that a blogger secretly hates me if I don’t comment on their post (which they’re probably not, but my mind thinks up all kinds of dumb things). šŸ˜

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Great post! Generally, I try to comment on as many blog posts as I can, but I do find that it’s generally discussion posts that I have something to actually say. With book reviews, I tend to comment a lot less (especially if it’s a book I have no interest in) because I don’t like to leave the generic “great post!” or “good review” when I have nothing else to add. Discussion posts are normally more engaging, and the majority of the time I’ll have an opinion on the topic discussed, making commenting easier. Although, when it comes to the school year and I have less time I definitely find myself commenting less on blog posts and just leaving a like to show that I read and enjoyed the post. šŸ˜Š
    Also, if you’re interested, I tagged you in The Cake Book Tag! No obligation to do it of course, but here’s the link if you’d like to:
    https://tiasayssblog.wordpress.com/2017/07/26/the-cake-book-tag/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, that definitely makes sense to me! I probably comment the most on discussion-type posts over a review just because I don’t have much to say. Yeah, I also go to school, and it usually depends on how much time I have to do things whether I’ll comment around on posts or not! Usually, even when I don’t comment, I leave a like to know that I appreciated it!

      And thank you so much! šŸ˜„ I need more tags to do, so I’ll add it to the list!

      Like

  16. I comment for the first two reasons you mentioned, which essentially boils down to – I have something to contribute to the conversation. A lot of bloggers will comment on a post of mine with “thanks for stopping by my blog” – I never do that. I commented before I was a blogger, and I don’t comment in the hopes of you commenting back. I just really like reading and talking about books, and sadly since my co-blogger keeps going to universities that are far away, I have no local readers to discuss books with. Blogger and commenting lets me do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. If the only thing I can think of to say is “Great post!” then I don’t comment and just hit like. I do agree with you that discussions are always the easiest to comment on because I always have an opinion!

    Also, I think it helps when a blogger ends their post in a question or two as a jumpstart for a conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I agree! If I don’t feel like I have anything to really say, I just like the post! And that’s true; I know sometimes I want to comment but there’s so much info packed in the post, I don’t know where to begin, so it’s nice when the blogger has a couple of questions already! šŸ˜„

      Like

  18. Sometimes, I am spurting comments out and all. And then sometimes, like right now, I don’t feel the urge to comment (unless it’s YOUR post or a fave bloggers) I usually skip out on reviews unless I know the book like it’s a sequel to a book I’ve read. I ACTUALLY LOVE FUN re-caps (stress on the fun) Like may’s or Cait’s WHICH ARE LIKE FILLED WITH STUFF and basically I adore them and my 2nd favourite AFTER discussions which are great. Memes, apart from TTT, I hardly comment on and…WEL: YEAH. I LOVE LISTS POSTS TOO and sometimes they’re just filled with books and that’s always fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I get that! I have to be in a mood to comment, or I’ll be slacking. šŸ˜ Yeah, same; if I don’t want to read the book or haven’t, then I don’t need to check out the review! Yeah, I find discussions the easiest to comment on for me, since wrap-ups just aren’t my thing; I always skin them! Yeah, unless it’s TTT, I don’t have anything to comment on other memes. Lists are so much fun to read for sure! šŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Another great post… I love the Let’s Chat series!ā˜ŗ You’re totally right about some posts being difficult to comment on though. I think commenting is a great way to interact with new blogs, but then again I really don’t have much to say on a post that is something like “My picks for *Insert Tag*, then just pictures of book covers with no explanation for why they’ve been chosen.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I like to comment on discussions. They’re easy. I don’t comment on reviews often unless, like you said, I relate or if it’s a book I’ve read/want to read. I don’t even read weekly round ups (which is funny because I do bi-weekly and monthly chats…sooo hahah).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, same! It’s easy to comment on them and I love doing it, depending on the topic! That’s true! I just can’t find a way to relate if I don’t care about the book being reviewed! šŸ˜‚ Haha, that’s funny! I still read wrap-ups even though I don’t do them, so it makes sense???

      Like

  21. Ohhh I’ve never seen a post on this either! I’ve never really thought about what makes me comment haha. I try to comment on every post I read, but sometimes I just have nothing to say, because I’m not familiar with any of the books mentioned for example. Interesting discussion post! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  22. These are great points you’ve made! I think mostly I comment because, like you said, I have something to say/contribute. Sometimes, I do comment “just” to comment back, BUT only if I legitimately can find something worthwhile to say- I never want to be the “great post” person, you know? My favorite to comment on are definitely discussions. I don’t think I have a least favorite per se, BUT I generally won’t comment of reviews of books I am not at all interested in- unless (confession time!) it is a super negative review and it makes me chuckle šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, that’s definitely true for me (though I also comment when I feel like I haven’t commented on someone’s posts for a long time, too). Yeah, if I were to ever comment back, I probably wouldn’t force myself to say something if I don’t have anything to say. Discussions definitely are my forte, and reviews are definitely hard to comment on for me as well! šŸ˜„

      Like

  23. I definitely think it’s easier to comment on TTT and WoW posts. There’s almost always a chance that a book I’ve read or want to read will be featured on those posts. I try to leave a comment on as many reviews as I can but I also know that I’m more likely to leave a comment on a review of a book I’m interested in or have read. I could leave essay’s on discussion posts. I love reading about a certain topic, especially if it gives a different angle on a topic and makes me think. Keeping track of all the comments is the hard part. I’ll dedicate a day to reply to the comments I receive on my blog and I try to leave one on their blog posts as well but it’s so time consuming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s quite true! I think that’s why list-type memes are the easiest to comment on; I usually expect that the topic will be relatable in some way. Yeah, definitely! Unless I’m in a really good socializing mood, I don’t really comment on reviews! Haha, same! I just love leaving my opinion and also just reading through comment sections to see what other people have to say! šŸ˜„

      Like

  24. Pingback: THROUGH THE FLASHING BARS OF JULY: A Monthly Wrap Up – When a Brown Girl Reads

  25. I comment on anything that interests me pretty much. When I find something funny that wasn’t even meant to be funny, that’s when I have to comment. I think a good comedic chance was missed and I gotta let them know. It’s definitely easier to comment when it’s relatable. Most of the time, it isn’t for me, so I find loopholes to get around being unable to relate. Something in a post would catch my attention, and that’s all I really need to comment.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Just commented on a post that had nothing to do with what I commented on, but it sparked a conversation. I’m funniest when commenting back and forth, and I think more bloggers should let loose on their personalities a bit more. I’m trying to do the same with my posts, while making sure it flows well and is engaging so others let loose, too. I could probably write a post on this honestly.

        Liked by 1 person

  26. Sometimes I struggle with what to comment on posts, so a lot of the time I tend to just pick up on a couple of things mentioned in the post and make a little comment on them. Nowadays I only leave comments if I actually have something to say. Before I used to feel compelled to leave comments but it’s just not fun for me, so I stopped. I know a lot of people have this ‘comment for comment’ mentality and for me personally, it makes blogging feel a bit like a chore :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I do, too! I know I sometimes want to comment on ALL THE BLOGS, but so much info is being thrown at me, I end up shying away from commenting because it’s just too much sometimes? Yeah, I have never done commenting back, and I think my blog has survived! šŸ˜‚ I mainly hate the idea of someone commenting on my blog not because they’re intrigued by my post or want to say something but because they expect me to add a number to one of their comment sections. I don’t expect it from people who comment on my posts to comment because I commented on one of their posts, so I don’t expect the same! šŸ˜„

      Like

  27. Pingback: July Wrap Up 2017 | My Midnight Musing

Leave a Reply

