[LET’S CHAT] Goodreads And Why I Don’t Use It

File_000 (90).png

Lots of people use Goodreads, but I don’t.

Which is funny, because I used to use Goodreads. Like, a lot. It was basically my life for a long while way before I even started blogging, and it was the first place I even entertained the idea of starting a book blog. But, sometime during October of last year, I realized that I really wasn’t enjoying myself, so I quit, promising that I’d come back in the form of a book blog, and lo and behold, I have, and it’s been a much better experience for me.

So, I thought it’d be interesting to make a post about why I don’t use Goodreads because maybe you guys are curious (probably not, but that hasn’t stopped me before).

arrow

File_002 (32)

The more I was on Goodreads, the more I realized that I hated looking at my newsfeed. I’d constantly mute my friends on my feed, I’d ignore it for hours on end, and I’d wish there was some sort of way to just turn it off. Nothing drives me up a wall then being bombarded with 208402 different opinions on a just recently released book that all manage to contradict each other. Sometimes, I just want to read a damn book without being influenced by anyone’s decisions, and cutting Goodreads out of my life definitely changed me for the better. I can finally go into a book blind and without influence so my opinions are my own and I can spend my time reading books that I want to.

I know there are books I gave second chances to – such as The Winner’s Curse – that I just should have left alone because Goodreads loved them SO MUCH, that I was obviously missing something. Soon, after reading the two books again and hating them ten times more than I had the first time I read them, I realized that sometimes the Goodreads community and I just don’t gel. There are only so many times I can see people trashing the books I love while reading the books Goodreads obsesses over and being disappointed before I was just done with it.

And let’s not mention people who bump their reviews 24080284 times a day just so they can get more likes. Excuse me while I try to refrain from throwing my phone against the wall as I see one of my friend’s reviews of a book I don’t care about for the tenth time that day. I WILL NOT LIKE IT, DAMN IT.

File_003 (20)

I will say, this both helps and hurts me. I actually did pretty damn well on the reading challenges the past couple of years, and ended up always exceeding my goal pretty quickly. But, the pressure can definitely drive me crazy. I loved the feeling of finishing a book and being able to add it to my “Read” shelf, but all the pressure of it was definitely way too much for me. And I know I could just ignore the reading challenge or put down one book as my goal so I can finish it off within a few days of the new year and just focus on reading, but I’d just rather not even bother with it all.

(Not to mention that if you don’t enter a number, Goodreads will badger you throughout the entire year to join in anyway. I DON’T WANT TO, GOODREADS.)

Also, this year has been terrible for me in terms of reading, so I think it’s on point that I’ve just stopped even knowing how many books I’ve read this year. IT’S FINE, I’M FINE.

File_004 (10)

Though Goodreads was a huge part of my life that I used to enjoy, the main reason I quit in October was because it was just too much work to keep up with. The first few months of school last year were super stressful and I was reading pretty fast, so it was hard for me to keep up with all the reviews I had to write and publish, especially as someone who doesn’t like reviewing that much. So, in the end, I quit because I was too busy with school and it was making reading a chore, not to mention that my sort of “popularity” was waning and spending time writing reviews only to get about three likes on them was pretty annoying and not worth it.

I tried again to get back on Goodreads because so many other bloggers talk about how cross-posting is a good way for publishers to pay attention to you to get ARCs, but after a week or so on being back on it, it stressed me out once again. Having to immediately log on to Goodreads and post my review and then take an extra few minutes linking back to my blog only to get little to no hits from it was a huge waste of time. And I wasn’t even going to bother trying to gain a following again on Goodreads because it was too much work. So, I quit – for the second time because of the same reason. And I still get ARCs, so I guess it doesn’t really matter, in the end!

Since I honestly don’t care too much about the whole process enough to put work into it, I realized, “Why waste so much time?”

arrow

Dear Martin ARC.jpeg

And, hopefully, that gave you more insight into why I don’t use Goodreads!

It’s definitely fine that there are people out there who LOVE Goodreads – I feel like I’m in the minority – but it just doesn’t work for me, and I hope this might help some other bloggers out there who are trying to figure out if Goodreads is for them or not!

Let's Chat

Do you use Goodreads? Why or why don’t you use it? What are your feelings about Goodreads?

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

 

63 thoughts on “[LET’S CHAT] Goodreads And Why I Don’t Use It

  1. Lovely post! I use Goodreads to keep track of which books I’ve read or not but I agree with a lot of what you mentioned here. I hate reading goals and I can’t exactly say I have a following on Goodreads either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely do use Goodreads and A LOT πŸ˜‚ I usually don’t look at the reviews that much because I don’t want to be influenced by someone else’s opinion as much as I would want to give a certain book a fair chance.
    I usually real the blurb, and it’s interesting enough to me, then it’s is added to my TBR list. Simple as that.
    I do find plenty of interesting books on there and that’s my main source, personally

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wouldn’t say that I love Goodreads but I do make use of it. The reviews can be tiresome, I admit. I always take extra care not to read the reviews of a book I’m currently reading because it kind of ruins my reading experience. I do love keeping a track of the books I read, it just gives me a sense of satisfaction although I might find a physical way to do it! Tbh my reviews don’t get any likes on Goodreads hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I definitely don’t want anything to be influenced while I’m reading a book – and I don’t want to be spoiled. πŸ˜‚ Haha, when I started out, I got no likes as well, and it took a while, but I got to 100+ friends and got a steady number of likes for a while because one of my reviews blew up unexpectedly! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I use Goodreads but after starting blog I open Goodreads to post my review, and I participate in a group challenges so for that. And of course to enter giveaways. I read reviews on Goodreads mostly after I finish books to see what others felt about it.

    Like you, I like to go blind so that my reviews won’t be influenced by other reviews, I totally agree with you on that.

    Also I check Blurb and ratings there when I get a new book request. For that I just scroll through and only have look on reviews by readers I know and the one who has given lowest ratings and why. It helps in deciding whether to go for it or not. If book is new then I check just Blurb, like go blind thing.

    Basically I use it but I don’t check much notifications because nowadays m busy checking blog’s reader section. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, sometimes I’ll read the reviews for a book after I’m finished with it if I hate it and need to find someone to bond with, but never really before! I think I usually just add books to my TBR because of the blurb, and unless a review says it’s not like the blurb says it it, then I’ll leave it there until I read it!

      Yeah, even when I got it back, I was not on it at all, which is funny, since I used to be on the site ALL THE TIME. At that point, I was like, “Why am I on the app again if I don’t care?” so I quit again. I’m way more involved with blogging for sure! πŸ˜„

      Like

  5. This was so interesting! I use Goodreads all the time and I love it, but I definitely agree with you on the first point: other people’s reviews influenced so much my reading experience. So as soon as I became aware of it, I started to really try to not let them get to me, and it’s been working out for me so far! But this was a very interesting idea for a post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, same! Like, I usually read the synopsis for a book probably once or twice and go into a book vaguely knowing what it’s about! I like being surprised. πŸ˜‚ But, yeah, I think I definitely enjoyed just reading a book with zero pressure on it. And at that point, most of the books I was reading were in the adult territory since I was getting into thrillers, and none of my friends read those types of books, so I went in with no bias. Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I basically just use Goodreads as a record-keeping tool for keeping track of books I’ve read and want to read. It’s also my go-to website whenever I want to look up a book to see what it’s about and read a quick synopsis and maybe a few reviews. I definitely use it less as a social media tool.
    Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, I think I’m less about the social aspect of it, but if I went back, I’d use it to organize and keep track of things! πŸ˜„ When I was first on Goodreads, it was for the social aspect, but the more I was on it, the less I was there for it and stopped enjoying it! Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Excuse my language here (you can delete this if you want but there’s no delicate way to say this) – people on Goodreads are all straight up assholes as a general rule!!! It’s awful! I use Goodreads to track my own process. I don’t check out other books reviews (they’re rarely helpful anyway and are full of trolls looking for their next post to go viral) and I never check out my news feed. Basically I just check books and want to read and read, update my pages, and shut the app off! I also use it as a tool to find publishers, page counts, and release dates, but that’s it!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lol, I don’t care. I watch and hear worse on TV and movies! πŸ˜‚ But, yeah, I think drama has gotten ten times worse on Goodreads after I left, so I’m glad for that! 😬 Yeah, some book reviews aren’t helpful at all! It seems like every time I go to a popular book with 1 million+ ratings, the first review is just a rant-y one star review of nothing. πŸ˜‚ I definitely use it to find release dates or to copy the synopsis for my reviews nowadays!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m a total Goodreads addict but have to admit all the features you mention are the ones I ignore. I almost never look at the newsfeed so couldn’t tell you if everyone is reading a certain book. I do put in a target number of books but largely ignore it (I’d rather read a few really good longer books than binge read novellas to hit some arbitrary target)

    I do skim through ratings and reviews if I’m trying to decide whether or not to buy or request a book but only read in detail once I’ve finished it myself (too many reviewers post spoilers).

    I probably use it mostly for tracking my reads and chatting in the groups. I don’t always post detailed reviews but often just add a rating. Most of my time is spent on group challenges or a couple of discussion threads (there’s a great NetGalley support thread).

    What I am loving at the moment is that notes or highlights in my kindle books now show up on Goodreads. I’m a quote addict so I love how easy it is to find my faves.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha, yeah, I read a lot of short stories and novellas last year just because I really liked being one step ahead of my goal. πŸ˜‚ I usually don’t count those or comics in my full goal, but that’s a personal thing for sure.

      Yeah, I remember I was reading Champion, went to its main page, and someone asked a question that spoiled the ending. I was SO ANGRY. It drives me crazy sometimes. 😬

      Yeah, I think if I had it now, that’s what I’d use it for! I definitely found some answers to Netgalley via a Goodreads group because I was trying to find out when publishers would respond to my requests. πŸ˜‚

      I saw that! I have the Kindle app, but I don’t feel like sharing my quotes. And I rarely ever highlight anything, though I definitely used to when I was on Goodreads just to pull quotes for reviews!

      Like

  9. I mostly use Goodreads (a) to track what I’ve read, (b) to stalk Paper Fury, and (c) to read reviews on books I’m not sure about. I also like to look up reviews after the fact, and see if people in general agreed with me or not. It doesn’t usually bother me if they do or don’t. Sometimes I am a bit confused on how someone could like a book (aka if they thought The Circle was exciting or something), but everyone’s different, and I know I’m far from normal. So far it hasn’t managed to ruffle my feathers too much. I have never tried to become “popular” on Goodreads and I don’t review books much (just rate them)…and I hardly ever look at the newsfeed. It’s pretty annoying imo. (I also don’t look at my WordPress feed so…maybe I just don’t like feeds?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I sometimes will look at reviews after I read a book, but usually when I hate a book with a passion and I’m trying to find someone else who felt the same way. πŸ˜‚ Yeah, the feed definitely annoys me, and I muted so many people when I was on it lol. I feel you; I do look at my feed, but I hate having a large feed of people or following too many people. Literally every social media account I have I don’t follow they many people and don’t understand why someone would follow hundreds of people, but I’m weird. 😝

      Like

  10. I actually only use goodreads to keep up with what I’ve read, what I want to read and for giveaways πŸ˜‚ I find it’s the easiest way to keep up with authors and/or their new releases or find out info on sequels to books I’ve enjoyed and things like that… the review and ‘friend’ aspect of it I actually very much stay away from…simply because it does nothing for me… I go into books without any influence all the time if I can help it no matter the book… at the end of the day if the blurb catches my attention then it’ll automatically put it on my radar whether it has good reviews or not… I basically just a causal user of goodreads and no more πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh, giveaways! I swear, some people have all the luck when it comes to those; I won none of the ones I entered. πŸ˜‚ I never was focused on new releases when I was on Goodreads; I’ve become more involved in that ever since blogging! πŸ˜„

      Yeah, same! I usually read the summary of a book once and don’t read it again or look at too many people’s reviews. I just really like to go into it as vague as possible, and I’ve enjoyed doing that so far! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know what… one day I will win one of those giveaways! But seriously I’ve seen people win like 1-2 a month and I’ve been on there over a year and won NONE! Zero… zilch… nothing… like seriously HOW?! What sorcery is this!? πŸ˜„

        Blogging and bookstagramming (jebus we really do need to think of a shorter term for it than that… I can barely type as it is on a good day…) are my main sources of info in terms of new books to be honest but looking on the ‘most read this week’ pages does help me come across a bunch of new books, popular books etc.

        And I’m glad I’m not the only one… I mean well I know I’m not but it’s nice to meet a similar species of reader either way! πŸ˜‚ I prefer going into books vague.. I can form my own opinions etc… I find reading reviews and listening to them just hasn’t done anything for me… if anything it spoils the experience for me… but hey ho… we is all different readers! πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, yeah, I found out about a lot of books from bookstagram! I know some people like to put it down because they think it’s no work (the time I was on there was no joke; it’s a lot of work to get popular!), but if I was intrigued by a pretty cover and photograph, I’d definitely look into it more, which means I’m shallow, I guess? πŸ˜‚

        You’re definitely not alone! I just prefer going into it with no influence, and I’ve been enjoying it for months now! πŸ˜„

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I use Goodreads more than Facebook. I mainly use it to see if a book is worth reading. If a book has less than a 3.75 rating on GR, I won’t even bother. I don’t look at the feed. It’s cumbersome. I use the new releases section a lot and use groups quite a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had never been on Facebook ever, not even at its height of popularity at my age. πŸ˜‚ I don’t mind the average rating in Goodreads since I’ve read terrible books that have 4+ average star ratings and fell in love with some below them. Yeah, the Feed is definitely too much for my taste. I think if I had it now, I would definitely been involved in some type of blogger group on there! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I use Goodreads a lot! I lately don’t pay much attention to my feed but I like to keep track of everything (that’s a big problem of mine maybe…πŸ˜…) and so I use it to basically know how many books I own, discover new releases or information about authors and of course, to keep track of the books I’ve read.
    There are plently of nice books I’ve discover because of Goodreads, and it doesn’t take me that much effort ’cause I have the app.
    But yeah, writing reviews is a tough job, haha! I try to be very active with my reviews because I love talking about things I loved or hated but I feel youπŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, yeah, if I had Goodreads now, I’d use it to keep track of the books I read! It’s one of the few things in organized about besides blogging. πŸ˜‚ It’s funny, I feel like I’ve found more new books now than when I was on Goodreads! I think it’s because of the blogosphere and ARCs!

      Yeah, it’s mainly a review writing app, and since I don’t like it that much, it definitely doesn’t work out for me! I think it’s probably one of the main reasons! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I LOVE Goodreads! I don’t really do it for the likes and attention but for my own organisation. I write my review just for me and my feed isn’t that cluttered. I do it for myself, to see how many books I’ve read or how many pages I’ve done that year. It’s great to see what books other people are reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I think that if I ever went back (which I probably won’t but eh), it’d be because of organization, but then I don’t feel like it needs to be super complex like adding shelves or whatever. I think with blogging I’m remembering more of the books I read than I did when I was on Goodreads since I usually talk about them more than once, so it’s a good mental tracker, at least. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Well, this has been pretty enlightening!
    I use Goodreads, but mostly just because they say it’s an important way for Indie authors to connect with readers. Would I use it otherwise? Hmm…. Maybe. I do enjoy updating my stuff. And I’m kind of odd, so I actually enjoy checking out other people’s reviews for books that I love, especially when they trash the book. I guess I feel like it helps me get perspective on books.
    I guess I also like using it to watch people’s progress when they’re reading something I’ve written.
    But if I didn’t feel like I was supposed to be using it, I honestly don’t think I would be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Goodreads from an author’s perspective is interesting to me! I can’t tell if they hate it or love it – I know some authors absolutely hate it and its reviewers. πŸ˜‚ I hate reading negative reviews of books I love, so I can’t relate!

      Yeah, I wonder if I would feel differently if I started Goodreads around the same time I started my blog, but who knows?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, now that you mention it, the most negative review that I’ve received did come from a Goodreads reviewer. But I guess I don’t love it or hate it. I’m pretty indifferent, which is unfortunately the most boring way to be, but oh well. Great question though. I always enjoy your discussion posts.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ugh, I’d hate if that happened! I used to love writing when I was younger and imagined a utopia where everyone would love my book and no one would hate it. πŸ˜‚ Haha, I feel like I’m indifferent about a lot of things as well. Just meh. Aw, thank you; that means a lot to me! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was pretty awful, I will admit. But, they say that having a few bad reviews is important–that it validates the good reviews, and makes potential readers which side of the hate/love fence they’d be sitting on. I hope that it’s true, because I wouldn’t want that pain to be for nothing!

        And that sounds like the most far-fetched utopian idea I’ve ever heard of–a society were everyone loves the same book! The world will never see the day, even if pigs do start flying.
        But it’s really cool (as in really, really, really cool) when people do love what you wrote. I imagine you get quite a bit of that here on your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I was in elementary school, so it was definitely a silly dream! I’ve read over my stuff since then, and it’s pretty terrible. πŸ˜‚ I can’t believe I thought it was good!

        It definitely is! I’m still shocked knowing that the numbers and stats I see are ACTUAL PEOPLE who read my stuff. That blows me away every time! πŸ˜„

        Like

      • I’ve held on to some of the stuff that I wrote back in elementary school, and it is terrible indeed. (That was a lie. My mom held on to it.) But the fact that we were writing in elementary school is what matters, not so much the quality of what we wrote. I don’t know of anyone who was a talented writer in elementary school, awesome as that would be. But in a utopian dream that kind of thing can happen I suppose.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. I know exactly what you mean and even though I still use Goodreads I’m not there quite as much other than to find some info for certain books and for a couple of challenges…When it comes to reviews I hardly post them or link them there it’s too much work keeping up with the social media freenzy….I’m quite happy the way I am now…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I only go there now to copy the synopsis for reviews and find out when a book is being released, but that’s pretty much it nowadays! Yeah, it’s way too much work to keep going back and forth with posting! I get more attention now on my blog than when I was on Goodreads, so it’s better for me! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I started using Goodreads a few months ago and I LOVE it. I’ve met a lot of great people (community is a big thing for me) and my bookish life is SO much more organized. I can actually remember what books are on my TBR now. πŸ˜‚ BUT. I do agree that my opinion gets influenced by other reviews. I try to let only the average rating sway me in whether I’ll read it or not (a 4.5-star book? yes please. but a 3.4-star book? probably not). If I read reviews of the book, it’s only AFTER I’ve read the book, because I don’t want my view on the book to be “tainted” by others’ views. But I really do love Goodreads and won’t be quitting on it! I’m glad you realized that it wasn’t working for you, though. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve actually never cared about average ratings when it comes to Goodreads! I’ve seen REALLY GOOD books have a pretty meh rating, but books like Shatter Me and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Selection are 4+ average ratings, if I remember – and those were all pretty terrible books, in my opinion, so I feel like it means nothing to me. πŸ˜‚ But I definitely don’t like being influenced that much by other people. And I’m going into books pretty much blind now, and I love only vaguely knowing the premise to a book, personally! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  17. I use Goodreads but the site feels outdated and hard to use a lot… I think I’d like it more with an update to the site.
    Right now I use it to keep track of what I’ve read so I can go back and see what books I enjoyed and when I read them. I like seeing what people are reading but don’t usually look at reviews

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, really? I know the two years I was there, Goodreads changed its layout multiple times, and so many people hated it every time! πŸ˜‚

      Yeah, I definitely like keeping track of the books I read! All I do now is keep track of ratings and books on Notes on my phone, which isn’t as efficient as Goodreads, but it still works out. 😝

      Liked by 1 person

      • XD Maybe they’ve changed it and I just didn’t notice bc everything still looks so early 2000s

        Before I used Goodreads, I would keep track of books by writing them down so whatever works best for you! Goodreads is nice for books but when you want to mark a DNF as read (so it’s no longer on your TBR) and it counts it towards your yearly total… *eye roll* I love the site but it could use lots of improvements

        Liked by 1 person

  18. I use Goodreads very casually. I’ll post my reviews, mark books as read, and keep track of my TBR on there. If I want to know more about a book, I’ll probably look up the reviews on Goodreads. I didn’t even know there was a Goodreads “newsfeed” πŸ™‚ Goodreads isn’t something I think about a lot, so it doesn’t stress me out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yeah, it’s basically what you first see whenever you log in to the site; it’s where you see your Friends’ reviews and status updates and such! Yeah, I would probably use it casually if I ever used it again, but I’m too lazy to start recording things and trying to log in all the books I’ve read in the past! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  19. You do you! Don’t use something if it always stresses you out. I find Goodreads enjoyable and helpful, but I can definitely see how someone would feel differently. It’s okay!

    I somewhat agree about seeing others reviews. There are just so many opinions everywhere, and a lot of them are wayyy different than my own. I feel like everyone rates books higher than I do. I like to rate it for quality of plot, writing, themes, etc., whereas most people give 5 stars if they liked it. Most of it is entirely subjective. My main complaint is people not marking spoilers in their reviews, or telling me when something has a twist. I don’t want to know any plot details in a review!

    That said, I wouldn’t have read so many books that I love if it hadn’t been for Goodreads. It’s introduced me to so many things, and it lets me organize it all. And the Goodreads Challenge, while sometimes stressful, really helps me read more throughout the year. So it works for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know; it’s just so strange! I sometimes feel so disconcerted when I have one review saying, “Wow, this book is great; I loved the romance, it wasn’t insta-love at all!” and the next saying, “This book sucked; the romance was so insta-lovey.” Like, I trust both people, but who do I believe??? πŸ˜‚ Ooh, I didn’t friend people who had spoilers, so that was good! I have been spoiled just going through a book’s main page because someone asked a question that is literally a spoiler LIKE WHY?

      I have found some great books via Goodreads! Some of my favorite series have come from there, and I made a good friend from there, so it hasn’t then all bad for sure! πŸ˜„

      Like

  20. Like many of the other posters, I use Goodreads mainly to track what I’ve read. While I enjoy the Reading Challenges, I don’t let it dominate my life. If I’m behind on my current goal, that’s fine. I’ll try to catch up when I can.

    As far as the reviews go, Goodreads isn’t the only site that has problems. Yelp, Google, Facebook, and any other site that solicits public feedback is full of posts from a-holes and d-bags! For the most part, I only try to read reviews from people I know and respect. To the best of my ability, I try to tune out everyone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I think if I ever went back, it’d be to track stuff. I do it on my own in Notes on my phone, and it’s not too bad since I haven’t read too much this year as I did last year!

      I’m not on much social media at all when I think about it! For someone being in high school, I had no social media accounts until I started my blog! I quit Instagram, and I’m on Twitter, but I’m not obsessed with it at all, so there’s that. And other social medias, I haven’t even bothered to try lol. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  21. I use Goodreads a lot.. BUT I AGREE WITH YOu.

    I have been avoiding my Goodreads messages… but that’s just me. I avoid everything XD just like I avoid all of my WordPress notifications. It’s not good.
    I feel like I’ve become so much more active on Twitter than on Goodreads, though! I guess that’s because there’s so much more going on and stuff.

    Goodreads is definitely useful, though.

    (Also I didn’t know that people bumped their reviews, lol? I guess sometimes I do that, but that’s when I update my review/actually write it because I constantly put “Review to come”)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, I actually liked talking via private messages! Unfortunately, I’ve dropped off with most people since then, but one of my closest friends I still text ALL THE TIME and I met her on Goodreads, so that was nice! πŸ˜„

      I am active on neither. πŸ˜‚ I feel like I’m most active regarding my blog, and I just hang around Twitter for a couple of minutes lol. And I’m on no other social media. I’ve spent a lot of time just watching TV and movies lately.

      Oh, yeah, I had one specific friend who wrote out her entire review, but every three hours would just bump it over and over without editing it. It drove me crazy. πŸ™ƒ

      Like

  22. I definitely still use GR, but I must say I definitely spend a lot less time in the site than I used to. I mainly keep to myself, posting reviews and updating my shelves. But, I have to say that if I ever quit GR it would have to be because of all the discourse, I pretty much always keep away from that stuff or just take a break from the site while it’s in full discourse mode but sometimes I just want to update my reading progess in peace. Also, I feel like unlike blogging GR can feel pretty disconected, you could follow someone or be friends with them and never communicate with them.

    In regards to the reading challenges, this year instead of making it 100 books like I did in 2016 I just made it 1, I find that the pressure to constantly be reading decreased A LOT after that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, there seems to be a lot more drama on the site than when I was on it, though I did experience some, and it annoyed me to no end, since I usually just want to read books and that’s it. In general, book drama is dumb to me! 😬 And GR can definitely be disconnected! I had someone friend me four times even though they never interacted with me. It made no sense! πŸ˜‚

      I’ve seen people do that, and it definitely looks like it does the job!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. I used GoodReads prior to blogging for tracking my books, giveaways, and finding new books. I really am not concerned with likes and all that, so maybe that is why I feel no pressure. I really only read reviews after I have read a book, unless I know it’s a blogger/friend, who does not include spoilers (I hate them!) or point out things they didn’t like (because then I will look for that thing, and it will ruin my reading experience). The one thing GR gives me, which I don’t get from most of the blogs, is a look at a broader range of books. Most of the blogs tend to feature all the same books – the hyped, popular books. I have discovered some real hidden gems through readers I follow on GR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I also don’t like reading about things that people specifically point out. Then I’ll be distracted by the entire thing trying to find what they pointed out, and that doesn’t equal a fun reading experience for me. Yeah, I definitely found more obscure books via Goodreads then I do anywhere else! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Great post. I basically just use Goodreads to track what I’ve read, and to put my ARC reviews up for the publisher. I generally don’t put my other reviews on there, and I basically ignore my newsfeed πŸ™‚ I was actually a Shelfari user before it merged with Goodreads, and then I was forced to use Goodreads.
    Just the other day I was messaged by a random person asking if I would be willing to send them my copy of a book that I had rated on Goodreads. That was a first for me! I quickly responded no to that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, I actually restarted a Goodreads account because I thought publishers would never accept my requests on Netgalley if I didn’t – they ended up not caring at all that I didn’t cross-post, so I was like, “No need for this again!” πŸ˜‚

      OMG, that’s so weird! I’m always amused by people asking how they can read books on Goodreads. I used to think the same thing when I was younger, and I don’t know what lead me to believe that! πŸ™ˆ

      Liked by 1 person

  25. I use GR to keep track of my TBR and books I’ve read, but I honestly don’t pay much attention to other people on there. I have “friends” and I’ll return likes, but GR is more for my benefit of keeping track of things. I didn’t know “bumping” reviews and trying to get likes was a thing on there, lol. I don’t see much traffic from GR to my blog, but I still link to it just in case.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

