[LET’S CHAT] Do You Measure a Blog Post’s Success?

File_003 (18).png

Welcome to probably the weirdest Let’s Chat on my blog!

Today, I’m going to be talking about measuring a blog post’s success. I feel like I’ve seen several discussions that talk about measuring how successful your blog is, but not really any that talk mainly just about a blog post’s success, so I thought I’d tackle the unknown! Mainly because I do this often, and I want to know I’m not alone.

(Hopefully.)

arrow

File_000 (83)

 I obsess over the title. Like, a lot. I’m pretty sure no other blogger feels this way, but I always think that if I don’t have a good enough title, no one will read my blog post. Which I’m pretty sure is ridiculous, but, who knows, maybe I’m on the right track. So, I’ll try as hard as I can to make the blog post as intriguing as possible, usually by having a question somewhere in there for my Let’s Chat or Discussion posts. For lists, I’ve realized that having the number in the title really draws people in (more people would click “16 Bookish Pet Peeves That Make Me Rage Inside” over “Some of My Bookish Pet Peeves,” which was my original title). And I’ve also tried making review titles as interesting as possible, but it seems like nothing really works no matter what I do.

I also usually go through a stage of predicting whether a post will be popular or not. I usually base it off the title and what the post is about – for instance, my first ever Let’s Chat was about DNF-ing books, and I knew it’d be popular because most discussion posts about them are. Sometimes, I can be off, but we’ll talk about that later.

I also try to make my blog graphics as attractive as possible. I started using emojis that sum up what the post is about, which I think look cute, but I don’t know if they help? I honestly don’t know if people even pay attention to my blog graphics or if those actually make you click a post, but I won’t stop doing it.

File_001 (38)

Usually, I post in the morning, and then I don’t check how my post does until around eight at night. I usually do this so all the notifications can come in and I can answer most of your comments all at once. When I check my stats, I just can’t help but garner whether a post was popular based off of my first impressions of it.

If we’re being honest with ourselves, I think we all have a certain number of likes and comments on a post where we consider it successful. I know I certainly do, and those numbers have obviously grown in my head as my blog has grown. I think the longer I’ve been blogging, I care less about those types of stats. Which doesn’t mean I DON’T care about them – because I totally do – it just means that if a post doesn’t do as well as I thought it would, I shrug and move on. I guess it’s mainly because I’m so blessed with what I’ve achieved in such a short amount of time that a “dud” post – which is more a dud to my standards then a bigger or smaller blog – that it doesn’t really matter, in the long run. And because everyone has “dud” posts.

I also factor in pageviews as well, though you could think of them as less concrete because someone could just click on a link and then leave five seconds later, but I’m not going to pretend that it isn’t nice getting a 100+ views per day. I remember one of my posts that was a sort of “dud” on the blog was a hit on Books Amino and pulled a lot of pageviews in, so there’s that! I don’t really favor any sort of stat above the other, to be honest!

File_002 (29)

I mentioned earlier that I go through a stage of predicting what post will be popular or not, and I do it all the time. Maybe to the point that it’s unhealthy? Who knows?

I’ve noticed that sometimes I’m right on the nose, and sometimes I’m not close at all. There have been a couple of discussion posts that I thought would do really well, but were sort of “duds,” and I also have some posts that do absurdly well, and I’m shocked that it even happened. It just goes to show that once your post is out in the world, you can’t really control how well it does or what happens with it (which is a terrifying thought, now that I think about it???).

Obviously, I guess that discussions will be popular, but there are definitely discussion posts that are more popular than others, for some strange reason. Lists are also pretty popular, and I guess that’s because there are a lot of memes that are lists, so it’s a sort of trend? Recommendations and tags seem to be “meh” areas for me – it really depends on what the topic is. And, obviously, reviews are usually the least popular in terms of everything (though I have had some pretty popular reviews, which I don’t even know how or why). I’m sure we all know what might work or not work, and as long as you’re happy with what you’re posting, I don’t think it matters if you only post what you might think is popular, what you think won’t be popular, or whatever you want. It’s all up to you!

arrow

File_008 (9).jpeg

And those are all my thoughts on measuring a blog post’s success!

Hopefully, I’m not too alone in my obsessive routine for this, and there will be other bloggers out there that relate with me!

(Please do.)

Let's Chat

Do you measure a blog post’s success? Do you ever predict a blog post’s success? What do you consider a successful blog post? 

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

46 thoughts on “[LET’S CHAT] Do You Measure a Blog Post’s Success?

  1. I never really know if a post of mine is going to be popular or successful before hitting publish – I just hope for the best! But your posts really have been on point lately – that’s for sure! Even if I don’t comment on them all, I definitely read them! πŸ˜€

    I have been wondering if the time I post my posts has played into how often they are being viewed as the majority of our readers is from the US and I usually post around 10AM (for the east coast of the US) – I might have to play around with that a bit and see how things change! Do you find that people read your posts often in the early hours of the day? Or rather later in the day?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, same, I just cross my fingers and hope they’re good! πŸ˜‚ And thank you so much; that’s so sweet! ❀

      Hm, I post around eight in the mornings now (I wake up earlier during the school year, so that changes), and according to WordPress, 8 in the morning is my most popular time. I don’t know if I trust that though. πŸ˜‚ I know I personally prefer to publish my posts in the morning just because I feel like that gives everyone a fair chance to read it, since I have both US and U.K./Australia readers who have commented on the post by the time I check my notifications. I used to post in the afternoons, and it wasn’t as good, but I was also way less popular than I am now, so it might have had nothing to do with the time! πŸ˜‚

      Like

      • Yeah, according to WordPress the time I usually publish my posts is also the most popular time but I don’t exactly trust it either most of the time. And we have a HUGE readership in the US so I’ve been trying to figure out if I should change up my posting schedule a bit and see if and how that affects traffic and stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually just hit the publish button and hope for the best. But, it’s kinda easy to gauge which kind of post would get the maximum engagement. For me, it’s my discussion posts and lists. The latter gets simple “haha” comments–I try to keep them as funny as possible–whereas the former launches detailed discussions in the comments section. My book reviews get a little lesser views than the other posts, but that never stopped me from reviewing books.

    There was a time when I was obsessed with page views and Google Analytics, but now I just write. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I agree! I write a lot of discussions, so it’s weird to see which ones get more comments and likes over others! And lists are also pretty popular as well! My reviews are definitely least popular, but I feel like they do pretty well now than they did when I first started blogging, so that’s interesting! πŸ˜„

      Ooh, I love Google Analytics! I’m not obsessed with it though; I mainly use it to see what people are searching for my blog to pop up since WordPress doesn’t have those stats!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I once wrote this discussion post about why just book reviews aren’t enough to make a book blog. A lot of people left supportive comments about how they still read book reviews and I shouldn’t be disheartened. I don’t know if that was the reason, but my reviews have been doing better ever since. Haha. I think with time, we learn what kind of reviews the general audience likes and sticking to that format makes the reviews do better than they did when we first started blogging. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. :(( Why is this such a good post. :(( πŸ˜‚ Anyways, I LOVE THIS POST!!! I am totally with you on the post popularity prediction thing. I’m always guessing which posts will be popular and which will be so-so. And YESSS. I’ll have those dud posts, but now I just “shrug and move on”, as you said, because really, what can you do about it? And yeah, I use my page views as a count on whether it’s popular or not, since there can be chats started in the comments and likes don’t mean that they’ve read the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I mean, there’s really nothing you can do! I mean, I’m sure there are people out there who comment on lots of blogs and share their posts on social media, and still get only one or two people to read their stuff! It’s weird how blogging popularity really relies on other people, no matter what you do.

      Yeah, I feel like there’s a flaw in every sort of measure of success! Pageviews can mean someone clicked and left, having a large amount of comments can just be someone talking back and forth a hundred times in a thread, and likes can mean they haven’t read it at all, like you said. So I factor them all in since neither is really perfect! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can never tell if a post is going to be “successful” or not. Usually the ones I think are not going to be as popular are the most popular ones… I don’t know why.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great post!! I go through periods where I obsess over this kind of thing and other times where I just don’t care at all, haha. I tend to pay more attention to post titles and I’ve definitely noticed that putting a specific number in the title makes more people click on it. Other than that, I’m not really sure how to predict whether or not a post will be popular. I know certain types of posts are more popular and that some topics will get more clicks (I’ve noticed every time I do advice posts, for example, they’re really popular), but I have a hard time judging individual posts. That’s probably just because I don’t normally pay a lot of attention to it πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love analyzing my stats so I’m always obsessed with it! πŸ˜‚ Yeah, I don’t understand why, but when I first did it, the post was way more popular than my other lists that were very general in the titles. It’s very odd; I’m sure there’s a science behind it!

      Yeah, I think advice posts always tend to be more popular (I know mine have) and I always click on people’s tutorials because I want to learn new things no matter how long I’ve been blogging! I think if you’re more obsessed with it, you notice (I know I do). πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I always prejudge my posts before putting them up. I have posts that I think are better than others and ones that I think will be more popular. Of course, all posts should be quality, but let’s be real, there’s always a few posts I like more than others. Sometimes I’ll expect a post to do super well, but it’s actually much less popular than expected. But other times there’s that surprise when I post I didn’t think would be too popular, gets great feedback

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, same! I have posts that I LOVED and aren’t popular that much and some posts I loved that are super popular! It all really depends! And, yeah, I’m always blown away by posts that are much popular than expected. I remember I posted a post about what makes me follow a book blog a long time ago, and it was wildly popular and got me a lot of new followers. It really shocked me! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Interesting question! I don’t think I really write based on how popular I think a post will be, but I’ve been blogging long enough and casually looking at my stats each day that I think I do have a good sense of what the pageviews for a lot of posts will be. But, like you, there are definitely times I am surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the idea of creative blog post titles for review, but I honestly don’t have time to think of some up and I like to keep everything consistent. My most successful post ever is one I never thought would be successful, so it’s funny that I still get at least a couple views on it every day a year later. Interesting post! Did you think this discussion would be successful?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, my titles are far from creative. I just base it off the topic of the post and they’re usually basic and self-explanatory. πŸ˜‚ Oh, gosh, I don’t know what my most popular post is. I know I still get likes on a lot of my posts daily but rarely pay attention. Some are way more popular than they were when I first posted them, which I find funny.

      I don’t really know! I feel like my blogging discussions can be hit or miss; some have been popular and some haven’t. I guess this one could be defined as a “meh” post, which is ironic. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Nice discussion!

    I’ve definitely experienced hills and valleys when it comes to whether I care or not if a particular post does well tbh. That usually depends on how much thought and effort (writing effort and also graphic making effort) went into the post.

    But I end up, for the most part, not knowing what will end up being a hit. I have a top ten Tuesday post that got quite a lot of views and I’m still not 100% sure why. It’s likely to do with the fact that I was blog hopping a lot that day so the general traffic to my site increased that day – less to do with the quality of the post.

    Lol this was a super ramble-y comment and I’m going to awkwardly end it here πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I definitely have posts that I loved that did well and posts that I loved that didn’t do well. Yeah, I find it funny that my stats never line up for one post. I have posts that have a large amount of views from Books Amino or search engines, but a small number of likes; I have posts with lots of likes, but barely any pageviews or comments (that’s a normal amount to me); and I can get a lot of comments, but less likes and pageviews. I don’t even know what I would call a popular post. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I admit that I’d freak out after hitting the publish button. Sometimes, the posts that I expect would become a hit is not garnering a lot of response but the one that I didn’t put much expectation on it is doing great.

    LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haha I actually don’t think too much about the title??? Which is weird because it’s the longest part of my book-writing process (seriously it takes me FOREVER to figure out the right titles UGH). But for some reason I don’t have a hard time with blog post titles.

    ANYWAYSSS MOVING ON FROM TITLES haha. I usually measure my posts success on how much interaction/love it gets. Because even though it’s nice to see the stats bar rise up for how many people have seen the post, it’s kind of depressing if 300 people have seen it and only 5 have commented, than if 100 people have seen it and 20 have commented, you know? SO that’s how I measure the success! The whole point of a blog is to initiate interaction right??

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s mainly because I usually garner from a title of the post whether I should check it out and comment or not, so assume others do the same? Probably they don’t and I’m just weird. πŸ˜‚

      That’s definitely true! I think I’m usually more disappointed if I have a higher amount of views and likes and little comments than vice versa. I usually do factor all stats in, but I think comments can definitely be the most preferrred!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. My reviews don’t get as much views unless the book is popular. Still, I try to make the title of book reviews as attractive and quirky as I possibly can because I do enjoy writing out my thoughts about a book. I do find that Monday seems to be the slowest day for me, I’m not sure why & I’m still playing around with timing to see which fits best for my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I never know what to do for my reviews! I think with bite-sized reviews, it’s easier to come up with clever titles, but for just one book, I usually just have “5 Reasons to Read/Not Read (Book Title).” Yeah, I post reviews on Mondays, so they’re definitely not as high. My weekend posts seem to draw in more views!

      Like

  13. I think graphics are a huge part of what makes me want to read a blog. If I see a blog with bad/boring graphics, it instantly turns me off. Also, if people use ≀iβ‰₯ too many graphics, I’m out.

    I’ve noticed that lists/memes and discussions are my more popular posts. Though I love doing recommendations, tags, and reviews, they always just kind of fall flat I guess. But as a blog reader, I usually read more posts that are lists and discussions than not.

    I don’t really measure the success of my posts before I post them and I don’t really obsess over titles either, though I think that’s something I should starting paying more attention to.
    As always, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I know I’m definitely attracted to a blog that has some graphics or nice features images! πŸ˜„

      Yeah, for sure! I love doing monthly recs, but they’ve fallen flat pretty much every time except once. Tags are way more complicated. I’ve had some super popular tags but the last time I posted a tag, I only got a couple of views, so I have zero idea what people want from that. I definitely do read discussions and lists more!

      Thank you! πŸ˜„

      Like

  14. I don’t think I really do this. I mean, I notice if a blog post has fewer comments than others, but it won’t stop be from talking about that unpopular topic (like video games). I also never look at page views haha. The only way I even get “my top posts” in my monthly wrap ups is because I just quickly look at it on jetpack – but I don’t actually look at the numbers. I don’t know, maybe I’m weird. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with checking and wanting to know stats, I just don’t like to because it’s an added stress for me. If I start obsessing over it, I won’t have fun. So I try to just not care >.< Great discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think that’s weird! I know there are some people who don’t check out their stats at all! I really like doing it; it doesn’t stress me out at all and I’m way too intrigued by it all. It’s basically one click away on the app, so it’s easy to look even if I tried to stop. πŸ˜‚ Thank you! πŸ˜„

      Like

  15. Comments are a rate of success for me. Page views are nice but engagement means so much more.

    However, it does depend on the post too. Like, if I’m making a masterlist of something I want to get views but I’m okay with it not getting as many comments because those don’t foster engagement. When its a discussion post, I want it to get lots of comments but am okay with less views.

    I can usually predict how well a post will do, but sometimes you can’t predict human nature and posts will end up flopping instead πŸ˜‚.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s definitely a good point! I definitely would be more disappointed if I got little comments on a discussion post over a review, since I expect discussion but not so much if someone hasn’t read the book in reviewing! And that’s so true! πŸ˜‚ Some posts just flip and you just have to shrug and move on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

