11 Tips For Growing Your Blog To The Point Where You Can’t Even

I think one thing all bloggers have in common is that we want our baby blog to grow.

I’m definitely NOT an expert on growing your blog and I’m definitely not even the most popular blogger on the block, but I wanted to provide some tips that worked for me regarding different situations, and, hopefully, this will help!

Less Tags and Reviews, More Lists and Discussions

In my first month of blogging, pretty much all I did were tags and reviews back to back. It was the type of content I posted on Books Amino and was often very successful, so I assumed that I’d just do the same thing on my book blog and get the same amount of success. Obviously, that wasn’t the case, and those posts weren’t as popular as I thought they’d be.
I will say that I got a surge in views and comments on two occurrences: when I posted lists and when I posted my first ever discussion. It was the beginning of the new year when I was posting, so I posted lists about my favorite and least favorite books of 2016 and books I was embarrassed I hadn’t read yet, and those were noticeably more popular than my first ever mini reviews post and the Book Quotes Tag. With that knowledge in mind, I changed the way I blogged from January to February; you can easily see the difference if you look back at my Archives! And, surprisingly, I gained more followers, more comments, more likes, and more attention in general!
I feel like most people are more likely to read discussion posts and lists over tags and reviews, and in general, are just more popular in terms of likes and comments, so you’ll definitely be able to gain an audience that way!

Share Around Social Media

This doesn’t have to mean that you just post links to new posts on your Twitter and Instagram bio! It can also mean leaving your link if people ask for book blogger links or actively advertising your blog in your bookstagram photos or signing up for as many social media accounts as you can to get exposure. Sometimes, being everywhere and constantly shoving your blog in people’s faces is what gets people to actually read your posts; I know that there are some blogs that I ended up checking out just because I see them EVERYWHERE, so it definitely works.

What Are You Trying To Accomplish?

This definitely pertains specifically to your posts. Depending on the type of post you’re promoting, you might want to advertise it differently. I’ve noticed that people are more likely to click on a list if numbers are incorporated somewhere in the title – such as this one. I’m more intrigued by a discussion post if it asks a question in the title and the title gets straight to the point of the subject of the post. For reviews, I’ve found mini reviews or compiling reasons in lists pulls people in more, especially if you add an interesting epithet in the title (such as “A Magical Mysterious Adventure / The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern”). If you’re doing memes, make sure to not just link your meme to the masterpost; go check out the lists and memes of other people! To get people to read your posts, advertising is always a good thing (which is probably why I panic about titles so much).

Commenting, Commenting, Commenting

I know for sure that one of the reasons people visited my blog was because I commented around on theirs! Keep in mind that just because you comment on someone’s blog post does not guarantee they’re going to comment back nor does it obligate that person to comment back, but if you can find some popular bloggers who enjoy commenting back on others’ posts that have a large group of friends, take a chance! I’ve seen bloggers that visited my blog because their friends did it, and I’ve seen people who often comment and visit my blog who seem to be best friends with each other, so it definitely works! And make sure not to ignore smaller bloggers as well! Having a nice buddy system with other smaller bloggers where you all support each other is always super helpful.

Stay On Top Of Blog-Hopping

Depending on how many blogs you decide to follow and comment on, this will either be easy or difficult! I personally follow less than thirty blogs, and that’s basically enough for me, but some people like to follow 100+, so more power to you! When you first start out blogging, I think it’s critical to be on top of visiting other people’s blogs and commenting. The more you do that, the more people notice, and the more likely someone will check you out if you seem like a dedicated follower! Also, I feel like most of the time, your blog is tied to your interaction. If you don’t interact as much, there’s a less likely chance that people will visit your blog (which I think is dumb because some people don’t have all the time in the world to read and comment on your posts and, sometimes, they’re not interested in every single thing you post), so keeping it up will definitely get those stats steady!

Design Is Key

Pretty much every single time someone talks about why they follow a blog, one of the main reasons is because the blog is attractive. Is it shallow that most people are more likely to look at prettier blogs with meh content over less attractive blogs with much better content? Yes. But, it’s definitely something to keep in mind when creating your blog! You don’t have to be the best at bookish photography or an expert at making graphics or a connossieur at web design to make a pretty looking blog – trust me, if I can make my entire blog with no help and minimal experience, you can, too.

Be Everywhere, All The Time

I touched upon this earlier, but shoving your blog in people’s face can work. I’m sure you can think of at least one blogger where no matter what post or blog you’re on, you ALWAYS recognize their profile picture in the comments section. With that type of visibility you’re making yourself more open to people clicking on your blog name or the latest post that’s linked or wondering what you have to offer! And don’t feel scared that you’re “being annoying” because commenting on people’s blogs and sharing the love is never an annoying thing to do.

Examine The Types Of Posts You’re Writing

Like in my very first tip, you have to look at the posts you’re writing. If you want more comments, but the only posts you’ve been posting so far on your blog are reviews, that type of communication isn’t going to happen. Even if you talk about a hyped or popular book, there’s no chance that anyone will find yours among the hundreds of reviews of the same book out there!
Discussions are usually the big money-makers to get comments – here’s a post about how to write one if you need some help – and I feel like a good list is also effective with getting comments. Interesting tags can warrant discussion, such as the Unpopular Opinions Tag, but some can fall flat on their face. Recommendation posts are also on the meh side for getting comments. I didn’t get many comments on my memes, but I think it definitely depends on personal experience, since I know other people who have so many comments on their meme posts.

Ask Questions At The End of The Post

I know that sometimes, I want to comment, but I just have so much to say that I don’t know where to start or just lose interest in commenting in the first place. So when a blogger has questions in place for me to answer that are related to what they talk about, it makes me more comfortable to comment when I at least have a launching point or if I’m just plain tired and have no energy to think up original thoughts at the moment. I do hope that asking questions makes people comment on my blog more, at least!

Observe Those Who Do Get Lots of Comments

There’s probably at least one or two bloggers that you look up to as “model bloggers” or who are super popular or you just plain admire. If there’s a blogger out there that gets a lot of comments, just look at what they do! Don’t copy EXACTLY what they do – I’m actually going to have a post about plagiarism versus inspiration coming out later this month! –  but it’s totally fine to be influenced by them and see what’s working for them! Is it their blogging voice? The blog design? What are the posts that get the most comments? How are they writing those posts? How long have they been blogging to get those stats? I know I got inspiration from my favorite bloggers when I first wanted to publish more interesting content, and it worked for me!

All About The Networking

Make friends! Talk to people! Get on social media! Comment on other people’s posts! Join link-ups and memes! Follow lots of blogs! Host a giveaway! Sometimes, you have just have to get out there and DO something instead of tapping your foot and hoping someone will find your brilliant posts along the way. Sometimes, a blog that’s great isn’t popular and a blog that isn’t that great is popular, and most of the time, those popular not-so-great blogs are just networking all over the place! Having good posts doesn’t guarantee people will comment; sometimes you have to get people to do it!

What are some tips you have for growing your blog, if you have any?

Bloglovin’Twitter

91 thoughts on “11 Tips For Growing Your Blog To The Point Where You Can’t Even

  1. Nice post. I don’t know what it is about me, but I just don’t read people’s questions at the ends of posts, although I post mine πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    What memes have you started? I’m curious πŸ™‚ I started my first meme last week, where people can link up. It’s about motivating you to clean out your ARC stack and I’ve called it State of the ARC (I know, I’m a dork :D). It’s getting a lot of comments, but not many linkups yet. I hope people will link up more as I release more issues. I feel like it’s a relevant meme and could help people out.
    I should do more lists though. I end up having to do more reviews because I owe them to the publishers, so to say. I don’t join the Tuesday meme because I almost always miss it xD I should, probably. The theme is the biggest issue though, it just keeps breaking… part of being self-hosted, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think it depends on the person! I know most of the time when I blog-hop, I usually don’t have that much time, so my brain might be on overload! 😝

      Oh, no, when I said “my memes” I meant the memes I participated in! I have not made any memes; I’m not that creative! πŸ˜‚ But I love that idea! I know I have too many ARCs in my TBR at times and it stresses me out!

      Ah, I used to want to do TTT, but too much work! And sometimes the topics are really uninteresting or I can’t think of anything, which is why I did WWW Wednesday before I gave it up so long ago!

      Like

      1. Same! I’ve definitely taken some TTT topics and written them down to make fully fleshed posts about them, and others I’m like, “I don’t know???” But then other people do the same topic and it’s so creative and I’m like, “Can I steal your brain?” πŸ˜‚

        Like

  2. Great post! I think you touched upon all the basics to get your blog “out there”.
    What’s interesting to me is how things how shifted between when I started and now. When I started tags and memes were the go to to get your blog to have some kind of interaction because they were the most popular posts, but now, unless it’s Something really interesting they flop. I understand that to be honest, because they tend to be very repetitive which ultimately gets boring.
    Commenting on other posts is a major one that worked wonders for me and that’s how I made my first ever bookish friends. Although I’mcurrently miserably failing at it because of how busy life is haha.
    Anyway, I’ll stop my rambles here. Loved reading your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve made the same experience as you! When I first started out I did quite a few memes and tags too, because everyone seemed to be doing them and it was a fun way to connect with a lot of different bloggers because there we link ups in place! But these days I almost dread the typical meme days because it’s all that I see in my Reader. However, some people take a meme prompt and make fantastic posts out of it and those I really love!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much!

      I think that’s so interesting! I’ve heard that discussions weren’t that popular as they are now before! I know that I can get bored with tags unless they’re REALLY interesting – most ask the same questions except adjusted a little to fit the theme of the tag – and I don’t read many memes, to be honest? I think it depends on how interesting the topic is and how many I’ve already read!

      Same! And I feel that; I’m back in school and I CANNOT. Four weeks and I can barely take it! πŸ˜…

      Thank you so much! ❀️

      Like

  3. I definitely think that posting some kind of blurb or description in the review post title really makes people be more likely to click on your review. Reviews are usually not that often read (at least not as often as many other posts) but I think that is because there’s not really a reason to do so, except if you give them one (for example by writing something like “a magical retelling with friendship and dragons” in your review title!)
    Questions at the end of your post really help too! Especially for long posts, it tends to get a little overwhelming and you don’t know what to comment!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great post! The part I struggle with the most is being active on social media and commenting on other blogs because there are so many blogs out there that I want to read! It’s difficult enough to find time to write and schedule blog posts, never mind read a bunch of others. But I’m working on it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is really helpful! I don’t follow many blogs, since commenting take me a lot of time and I really like to be really active on other people blog. It shows the appreciation I have for their work. Well, at least that’s my opinion. And I love to talk about books and stuffs like that too, for sure.
    I’d a really warm welcome on wordpress, especially with comments. Something that I didn’t expect. I’m bit hesitant about my design but I have two blogs (one in English and one in Italian) and I like to keep things clean and easy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post ☺️

    Would you mind helping me make my blog look better? Yours looks amazing and I’m sorry to bother you I’ve been asking everyone. I’m terrible at this hahaπŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      And, ah, no problem! I edit all my graphics via my phone! I download all my graphic templates from Freepik. I usually edit my graphics so there’s not as much white space, then put them in a free app called Pic Collage where I add the words! I make all my featured images via Canva, and take my pictures myself (I have tutorials for both of Rose things on my blog if you search for them)! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You’re definitely model bloggers when it comes to discussion post. I usually keep comments short and most of the time I don’t know what to say and leave saying great post/ nice review…. I’m so terrible when it comes to interacting through comments. But whenever I visit your blog, you tempt me to write actual interactive comment, I wonder how you are doing it!!

    As for the what helped me grow my blog, I don”t know what exactly bloggers are thinking about my blog so I can’t say reviews/ tags and awards are helping me or not. But these things definitely worked- commenting (though they are very short but I try), social media (twitter and Instagram), I follow book blogs that I like and most of the time they follow back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much for the kind words! 😘 This made my day! And, also, the answer is witchcraft (lol, not really). πŸ˜‚

      Yeah, I think commenting is definitely a universal thing that helps all bloggers! Social media is definitely great! I know my stats increased within the first week of having Twitter, so it’s definitely helpful! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I follow, or at least try to, most of the tips you are giving on this list ( some work some not quite so much…) I have been paying attention on what generates comments and likes and visits within my blog and try to work around that without losing sight of what I wanted to accomplish with my blog… As always great advice Mikaela

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great list of tips, as always!! I am definitely using commenting, sharing on social media, and networking with other bloggers to grow my baby blog. And I try to end every post with a question to encourage reader participation.

    I try to blog hop a few times a week, but it gets hard when life gets in the way. I have also found Facebook groups and participating in challenges to be useful ways to grow my audience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜„

      I feel that! I’ve started commenting back for the first time this month, and it is SO MUCH HARDER than I thought it’d be. Visiting all these blogs and then trying to find a recent post to comment on is tough, but with it! Ooh, I’ve never joined a group, but I’ve heard good things about them! I think it’s a great way to share your posts with like-minded people, and you have an established group to base off of! πŸ˜„

      Like

  10. This was such a fantastic post, Mikaela! I’ve definitely been trying to get back into blogging properly and to grow the blog more as I do so, so this list is very helpful, thank you!

    I feel like I used to be much better at some of the things you mentioned above like blog hopping, commenting on other blogs and sharing my posts on social media but for some reason, all of it has fallen to the back quite a bit and I want to improve on those aspects of my blogging! Because I 100% agree with you that those are very helpful ways of growing your blog – people need to know that you DO HAVE a blog to be able to come by and follow it. And how are they going to know if you just stay in your own little corner (self, take some freaking notice please)!

    And yes, the design is definitely such an important aspect too! Who doesn’t enjoy looking at pretty things? And since I always visit a blog to read the newest post, I always see what a blog looks like and prefer it to be something pretty.

    Again, great post! I am definitely bookmarking it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, yeah, I’m so glad I could arrive at the right time! πŸ˜„ I’ve been trying to do more tips since people liked them back in June, and I have TOO MANY IDEAS gah.

      Haha, don’t worry, I feel like there are days where I’m on top of it, and then other days where I’m just like, “What even is blogging?” πŸ˜‚ I think my flaw is that the bigger I get, the more I adopt an attitude of “I don’t have to work as hard!” which is both true and false! But it’s true; I think sometimes we tell bloggers that good content will get them ALL THE POPULARITY, when, really, it’s good content, but you have to get out there to get that content known!

      SAME! I’m a shallow person and I like a pretty blog and a nice theme! There are some blogs that I just occasionally check out but don’t follow because their content isn’t my thing but THE DESIGN! I could stare at it all day! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’ve definitely been writing some really great posts filled with tips in the past and you should absolutely continue doing them, especially since you have so many ideas already!

        But I think it kind of makes sense that you would do a bit less work once you’ve gotten to a certain stage? Because people are probably already doing their part in sharing your content online and getting your blog out there, so there is a bit less promoting you need to do. But then I also see people who I wouldn’t necessarily expect to still be out there and commenting a lot around various other blogs so they are still getting themselves out there even though they are wildly popular and known already. I guess it comes down to each individual blogger!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I followed fewer bloggers when I first started, but now that I’ve been at it a few years, my following list is getting a big out of control! It is much easier to keep up with just a core group of blogs you really love, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yeah, I totally assume it’ll grow the longer I blog (or not???). I’m just a weird person that doesn’t like following a lot of people; literally every single one of my follower counts on any of my social medias is lower or around 50 or so people, to put it in perspective! πŸ˜‚ I think I’d stress out if I had too many people, which is probably why I just have a small list! πŸ˜„

      Like

  12. I’m fairly new at this so I find these posts incredibly helpful! I think everyone loves comments, so that’d be something I notice on my blog (and help me get noticed too!) and I ADORE THE AESTHETICS. I’m weak, but if a blog has pretty graphics I’m most likely gonna follow itπŸ˜….

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you for this informative and high quality post! It is sometimes tricky starting off as a new blogger, but I applied some of these tips and they have worked wonders! I always love commenting on other blogs because bloggers deserve acknowledgement toward their wonderful posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much; I’m glad you enjoyed it! πŸ˜„ It’s so true; it is very tricky, and I just sort of stumbled around before really gaining a footing because I jumped into blogging without knowing anything. Terrible idea! πŸ˜„ It’s true; it’s always nice to comment on people’s posts, especially if they’re new and don’t have as many followers!

      Like

  14. Personally I think that sharing on too many social media sites doesn’t always work. Putting a lot of work into just 2 or 3 sites is often better than sharing on 10 that you can barely keep up with, at least in my opinion πŸ˜…
    You make a really good point about titles and changing the way you advertise based on the type of post! It’s definitely an important part of getting your content out there. Great list in general! πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I don’t share on too many either! πŸ˜‚ But I think there’s really only six that book bloggers utilize – Facebook, Instagram, Bloglovin’, Pinterest, Twitter and Goodreads, or at least that’s what I usually see when I look at people’s blogs! I know some have different audiences for all their social media accounts – when I had bookstagram, I had bloggers who followed me on there and never read my blog and on Twitter I have people who follow me and read my blog, but don’t follow me directly on WordPress! I think it definitely depends on what you’re trying to accomplish!

      Thank you! ❀️

      Like

  15. Oh my god, I CAN’T EVEN with this post. I love it. ❀

    It's definitely good advice to take into account. I've never personally posted a discussion post before– I know this may sound a bit ridiculous, but I'm a little scared to?? I hear all these nightmare scenarios about getting slammed for saying the "wrong" thing, and I've just been backing off of more controversial topics lately. But I definitely want to post one sometime!! Discussion posts are one of the most fun for me to read, after all, and they encourage a lot of interaction. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      It’s not ridiculous! My first discussion post I was terrified to post – and it wasn’t even controversial and I only had like 50 followers? πŸ˜‚ I posted a controversial discussion about reading diverse books as a diverse reader last week, and I survived, so I think people are generally nice and respectful! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  16. This is a really helpful list! I’ve been blogging for almost seven years but have always been a tiny blog so posts like these still help me out πŸ˜… The only thing about blogging that I’ve never been able to get the hang of is networking because I’m extremely shy. It actually took me a while to pluck up the courage to leave comments because I was worried that I’d just write a bunch of meaningless gibberish, but I’m much more used to it now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Woah, seven years; that’s amazing! 😱 People who blog for 4+ years are amazing to me!

      I feel that! I’m a shy person in real life, and I always worry I’m annoying people, even though I’m not, or I’m not commenting enough, etc. I’m hoping to do a post on networking next month, if I don’t change up my October schedule for the 1937832 time! πŸ˜‚

      Like

  17. I definitely agree with…UM BASICALLY THIS WHOLE POST. I feel like doing a list comment?

    1)YES for unique content! I unfollow blogs that just post blog tours and reviews BECAUSE BORING. I love discussions (though they are quite scary to post?) and they are very ‘commentable’
    2)Commenting long and thoughtful comments IS IMPORTANT. If someone comments a short comment like ‘Great post’ I won’t really check out their blog. So putting effort in is vital
    3)I am so behind on blog hopping. You can tell
    4)I am one of those people who follow 100+ blogs
    5) YES DESIGN IS VERY IMPORTANT. I think YOU would know, spending so much time on your blog design WHICH IS VERY PRETTY
    6)YES YES YES I always leave questions at the end of my posts to get comments!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1. I agree! I follow blogs that just do reviews, but they don’t entertain me as much as other blogs!

      2. That’s true! I know there are times where a non-book blogger just says, “Great post!” and I can’t tell if it’s spam or not? πŸ˜‚

      3. I can’t tell! 😱 School is tough; I feel you! πŸ˜…

      4. GO YOU! πŸŽ‰

      5. AW THANK YOU! I like to think this is my best one yet, tbh.

      6. Yes, I started doing it for my posts, and I think it worked out for me! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  18. These are some great tips! Most of the blogs I follow, I found by checking out the people in other bloggers’ comments sections!

    And while I think preferring attractive blogs is a little shallow, I think it’s also about how you present yourself. You want people to see right off the bat that you take pride in and put a lot of effort toward your blog, and a good-looking theme is usually a good way to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. These are great tips! I’ve found that commenting and networking and supporting smaller blogs is something that creates more traffic and a stronger community. πŸ™‚ Loved this post! Great advice. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Fantastic tips here, Mikaela πŸ™‚ Networking really is the best way to grow your blog – alongside with all of the other things you mentioned here, it is my favorite way of growing my blog, because I get to meet and chat with so many lovely people along the way πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  21. The biggest things I always tell people is to comment, a lot. That is just easy to do and also gives me so many ideas about things I want to write about on my blog. I don’t do as many discussions but I have turned my Sunday Posts into write-therapy sessions about my life so those are the posts that get the most action. I love reading and writing reviews so that will probably never change for me.
    Great tips, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true! I’ve gotten lots of good ideas from my own comments or someone’s post that really inspires me! Ah, that’s great! I know the stats for blogs is all over the place and different posts get different stats depending on your own blog! Thank you so much! ❀️

      Like

  22. From what I’ve seen from other bigger bloggers, you’ve really got to put the work in (making original content, commenting, networking, etc.) if you want a popular blog. It’s so much work!! I used to want a big blog when I started because talking to other people about books is so much fun, but overtime I became unhappy with blogging, not to mention that I was spending way too much of my time on it. I’ve changed it up now. My blog’s a small blog, I post kinda sporadically now too, but that doesn’t really matter to me anymore since I’m pretty content with it πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, IT’S SO MUCH WORK! And it takes years, sometimes! I remember when I was much smaller, and I was frustrated because it seemed like getting bigger would take years, since most big bloggers have been blogging for a considerable amount of time, but I feel like there are a lot of factors that go in, since there are people who blog for years and will only have ten followers. It’s a very weird system. 😝

      That’s awesome! I think being content with your blog comes first – whether it’s blogging for others or yourself or publishers or whatever, I think as long as you feel satisfied, it’s a good thing.

      Like

  23. These tips are SOOOO helpful!

    I just got back from an unexpected hiatus cause work has been hectic, but I’m back and MOTIVATED AS HECK to get some posts lined up.

    I’ve definitely noticed that simply commenting on people’s posts and making friends with other bloggers is one of the best ways to grow your blog. I mean, no one wants to follow a stingy asshole who is never going to talk to their followers! That’s no fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m so glad!

      And, yeah, glad to see you’re back! ❀️ A break is always super motivating for me! πŸ˜„

      That’s so true! I’ve seen lots of bloggers grow simply by commenting all over the place, so it’s definitely possible! That’s true! No one wants to talk to someone that seems closed off from others, so it’s good to talk to others!

      Liked by 1 person

  24. I SUCK AT GROWING MY BLOG OKAY. I GUESS MAYBE I JUST SHOVE MY BLOG EVERYWHERE *shrugs* but all of these tips are super helpful and SO TRUE. Commenting is definitely one of the key things to do so that your blog grows because then others know. Also— have your personality shine through your comment, I guess! Be FUNNY AND STUFF??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

