[ARC REVIEW] Reasons Why I Fell In Love With FINAL GIRLS (And Why You Should, Too)

final Girls

Genre: Horror, Thriller, Suspense, Adult

Series: None

Rating: 5 STARS

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Description:

Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past.

That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.

arrow

Holy crap. Well, that was amazing. I don’t know if you guys know this about me, but this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. I heard about this book through bookstagram, and as soon as I read the description, I fell in love. Horrors and thrillers have quickly become my two favorite genres after I dived into them for the first time in the last half of the year, and this sounded like a brilliant combination of both. And after hearing good review after good review, I knew I just had to have it. So imagine how happy I was to see that the book was available for request on Netgalley, and how shocked I was when I was actually approved to read it. Whaaat?

This book was just as amazing as the synopsis hyped it up to be. Kudos to whoever wrote that description to draw me in. I’m one of those people that is usually drawn in from the title, and from there, the description. And, sometimes, you read a book and it ends up not delivering to your own expectations. But, wow, did this one completely deliver and blow me away. I couldn’t really tell what the true mystery would be just by reading the synopsis, which I’m thankful for, because it just made the book all the more addicting and leaves you with the feeling of constantly wanting to know what’s going to happen next.

The pacing for this one was perfect. Right off the bat, you’re pulled into the action, and then yanked out into the present. I would say that there’s not a single dull moment in this book. As soon as I started reading the book, I just. Couldn’t. Stop. I needed to know what was going on, what Quincy was going to get herself involved in, what the memories of Pine Cottage would reveal next. This book is basically the definition of “Just one more chapter!” (and I’m sure all my fellow bookworms will understand this). There are several plot twists, but unlike some thrillers I’ve read, they weren’t gimmicky and didn’t feel tacked on to make the book some unpredictable mess. All the twists had clues and a little bit of foreshadowing that when you find out something happens, you’ll be angry at yourself for not noticing it before.

I really enjoyed the cast of characters in this one. Quincy is a complicated character in and of herself, since she feels as if her past and present are colliding, and she just wants to be seen as a normal person. I quickly grew to liking her and cheering her on, even though she made some decisions that might make some frustrated, but I felt like it was realistic and true to her character, especially after what she’d suffered through. Sam is a complicated character, who I feel you’ll either totally love or totally hate, since she can definitely be a bit much, but I won’t dwell on her character too much because she’s more of a person you’ll want to figure out for yourself. We also have Coop, who I truly loved, and was such an interesting character, one who I brushed aside at first.

The ending was absolutely fantastic. I loved how everything tied together so well, and when everything is revealed, it’s truly shocking. I’m definitely not going to spoil anything, but I’m glad that I was knocked so hard off my feet at the revelations. It’s good to know that even though it sometimes feels like some genres are quickly becoming too formulaic, that horrors and thrillers can still manage to keep me on my toes.

Please add this to your reading list. You will definitely not regret it.

arrow

A huge thank you to Dutton for giving me an e-ARC of this novel via Netgalley! This was actually the first e-ARC I ever received on the site, and I’m still shocked because I literally only had about twenty or so followers at that time, so thank you so much for giving me a chance! 

Follow Me

Bloglovin’Twitter

12 thoughts on “[ARC REVIEW] Reasons Why I Fell In Love With FINAL GIRLS (And Why You Should, Too)

  1. OMG YAY IM SO GLAD YOU LIKED THIS BECAUSE I WAS FANGIRLING SO HARD AND I READ IT IN JANUARY AND STILL REMEMBER EVERYTHING OMG.
    Also Riley SAGER just revealed that they’re a guy, and said true name will be revealed soon!!
    All of the characters were so so good and well developed it was incredible. I was a huge fan of Sam through the entire book although I always enjoy the damaged types so that’s probably why.
    I agree that this tied together so well and was PERFECT

    Liked by 1 person

    • UGH I HAVE THE WORST BOOK MEMORY IN THE WORLD BUT THAT PLOT TWIST THREW ME FOR A LOOP I WAS JUST LIKE “NOOOO!”

      Ooh, I saw on his Goodreads profile that this is actually an alias, so I am curious as to what other books he’s written! I assumed the author was a girl! I think it’s because one of my friends is named Riley and she’s a girl! 😂

      I feel like I have a love-hate towards those toxic types! They are very interesting to read about, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I was so excited when I saw that this was the first post on your blog while I’m here blog-hopping, because I JUST chose this title for my Book of the Month box this month, ha. Like you, thrillers and horrors have been my main appeals ever since I read Gone Girl a couple years ago, though I can never find enough of them. This one sounded so darkly delicious, and I’m incredibly glad that it lives up to its synopsis. So excited to read this – and great review. You really sold it for me. 🙂

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m also signed up for BOTM and was really glad to see it for the month! I swear, this is the third time where an ARC I read ended up being a BOTM pick. 😂 Yes, Gone Girl really sparked my love for thrillers, and now I have an absurd amount of recs, and it’s become a top-notch obsession for me! And thank you so much; I hope you really love it! ❤

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag | The Well-Thumbed Reader

Leave a Reply

